MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2007, 01:13 AM   #1
Vandals
Scooter
 
Vandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: WACO
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,359

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2003 Yamaha r1
1981 Honda Trail 110 -"The Tank"








fuse keeps blowing

OK, i got an '06 r6 and the headlight fuse keeps blowing, it had an integrated tail light and there ar no hookups for the blinkers anywhere.. I went to install a license plate light and blinkers and the headlight fuse has blown 3 times. I've checked all wires for exposure, all connections, everything. This same problem happened when i got it when the bike had an alarm on it. i removed the alarm and its worked fine untill tonight. I'm thinking its the integrated tail light giving me the problem.... anyone got any other ideas on what it can be?
Vandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HVAC Help Zone Not Blowing BuckNut DIY Projects and Help 4 06-22-2015 07:34 AM
Something is blowing up in La Porte bluewave18 Off Topic 11 02-14-2013 04:12 PM
hi beam blowing fuses plummer General Discussion (Moto Related) 4 01-31-2011 12:36 AM
i keep blowing fuses agg2001 How To's and Q & A's 6 08-14-2009 12:17 PM
Fuse is blowing need help!!! Hoguer How To's and Q & A's 6 07-14-2007 09:36 AM
Advertisement
Old 08-01-2007, 01:19 AM   #2
socplay50
Senior Member
 
socplay50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: kingwood / college station
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 365

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
2004 Yamaha R6 SOLD :(









Send a message via AIM to socplay50
disconnect the battery when messing with the wires and stuff, but u maybe already are doing that. just something i thought might help
__________________
The only things in life you regret are the risks you dont take


zero gravity smoked screen, LeoVince slip on, Shogun sliders, fender eliminator, flush mount turn signals
socplay50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 01:25 AM   #3
Vandals
Scooter
 
Vandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: WACO
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,359

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2003 Yamaha r1
1981 Honda Trail 110 -"The Tank"








Quote:
Originally Posted by socplay50 View Post
disconnect the battery when messing with the wires and stuff, but u maybe already are doing that. just something i thought might help
yeah i did that..


I hooked up a stock r1 tail light to it and it worked fine.. does anyone hapen to have a stock 06/07 r6 tail light they can throw me?
Vandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 01:26 AM   #4
Vandals
Scooter
 
Vandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: WACO
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,359

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2003 Yamaha r1
1981 Honda Trail 110 -"The Tank"








Quote:
Originally Posted by socplay50 View Post
disconnect the battery when messing with the wires and stuff, but u maybe already are doing that. just something i thought might help
yeah i did that..


I hooked up a stock r1 tail light to it and it worked fine.. does anyone hapen to have a stock 06/07 r6 tail light they can throw me?
Vandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 01:30 AM   #5
stunt-r
Senior Citizen
 
stunt-r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SE Houston
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 1,641


Bike(s):
(2) KLX110 stock-mod class / KLX110 stocker / His & Her XR50s stock-mods









Send a message via AIM to stunt-r
theres something shorting out somewhere in there. no sense in keep wasting fuses. those get expensive...if you have traced everything, probe all of your connections and see if your getting the right voltage through each wire. but yeah, theres definetely something shorting out somewhere. i doubt its the light, but it possibly could be...
__________________
I love minis.
stunt-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 01:33 AM   #6
Gryphin
09 r1!
 
Gryphin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 4,214

Experience: 4 years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
09 Yamaha R1
06 Ninja ZX-6R (RIP)



Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to Gryphin
make sure that the pins inside the connections are not bent or anything and make sure the plug is seated all the way
__________________
Quote:
We as riders know the risks we take everytime we put that kickstand up and twist the throttle.
Gryphin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 01:34 AM   #7
gixxerjoe
Who needs 2 hands anyway?
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cypress, Tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 185


Bike(s):
07 YZF-R6









nah at yamaha we had lots of problems with the clear alternative integrated. i got lucky and havent had any with mine. check with clear alternatives and see if there is any FAQ's or whatnot
__________________
how do i go foreward.
gixxerjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 01:34 AM   #8
stunt-r
Senior Citizen
 
stunt-r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SE Houston
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 1,641


Bike(s):
(2) KLX110 stock-mod class / KLX110 stocker / His & Her XR50s stock-mods









Send a message via AIM to stunt-r
oh also, make sure you are running the right amp fuse...running the wrong size one will not allow the correct flow through it also...
__________________
I love minis.
stunt-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 01:46 AM   #9
Vandals
Scooter
 
Vandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: WACO
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,359

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2003 Yamaha r1
1981 Honda Trail 110 -"The Tank"








Quote:
Originally Posted by stunt-r View Post
oh also, make sure you are running the right amp fuse...running the wrong size one will not allow the correct flow through it also...
yeah its the right amp fuse, it takes a 10amp and im all out now :BangHead:
Vandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 01:47 AM   #10
Gryphin
09 r1!
 
Gryphin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 4,214

Experience: 4 years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
09 Yamaha R1
06 Ninja ZX-6R (RIP)



Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to Gryphin
try a 15...
__________________
Quote:
We as riders know the risks we take everytime we put that kickstand up and twist the throttle.
Gryphin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 01:52 AM   #11
Vandals
Scooter
 
Vandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: WACO
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,359

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2003 Yamaha r1
1981 Honda Trail 110 -"The Tank"








Quote:
Originally Posted by Gryphin View Post
try a 15...
I'll stick one in to get me to autozone in the morning, im done fcking with it tonight.. I still say its the integrated tail light since everything worked fine with the r1 tail light in it
Vandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 01:53 AM   #12
gixxerjoe
Who needs 2 hands anyway?
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cypress, Tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 185


Bike(s):
07 YZF-R6









proficient with a volt meter? hold the neg lead to a ground or -battery and go around checking for voltage with the +pos. if you randomly lose voltage then between that point and the last point you got voltage is your grounding fault. dont forget to check with turn signals and brake lights on and whatnot.

OHWAIT do you have those scotch-splices (the blue things that make one end of a wire splice into some other wire) ? i call those things "come-back connecters"...because when used the bike would always come back to the shop.
__________________
how do i go foreward.
gixxerjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 01:57 AM   #13
stunt-r
Senior Citizen
 
stunt-r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SE Houston
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 1,641


Bike(s):
(2) KLX110 stock-mod class / KLX110 stocker / His & Her XR50s stock-mods









Send a message via AIM to stunt-r
Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxerjoe View Post
proficient with a volt meter? hold the neg lead to a ground or -battery and go around checking for voltage with the +pos. if you randomly lose voltage then between that point and the last point you got voltage is your grounding fault. dont forget to check with turn signals and brake lights on and whatnot.

OHWAIT do you have those scotch-splices (the blue things that make one end of a wire splice into some other wire) ? i call those things "come-back connecters"...because when used the bike would always come back to the shop.
+3894293849234 haha

working with car audio, if you use like t-taps or those things your talking about. always come back. it might be maybe a year down the line, but at some point it rattles loose and bam, customers back.

if your using those connectors, strip everything back and solder them together and wrap in good electrical tape.
__________________
I love minis.
stunt-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 01:58 AM   #14
Vandals
Scooter
 
Vandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: WACO
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,359

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2003 Yamaha r1
1981 Honda Trail 110 -"The Tank"








Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxerjoe View Post
proficient with a volt meter? hold the neg lead to a ground or -battery and go around checking for voltage with the +pos. if you randomly lose voltage then between that point and the last point you got voltage is your grounding fault. dont forget to check with turn signals and brake lights on and whatnot.

OHWAIT do you have those scotch-splices (the blue things that make one end of a wire splice into some other wire) ? i call those things "come-back connecters"...because when used the bike would always come back to the shop.
no, all the connecters are stock, and yeah, i cant stand those crappy connectors. I did a volt meter test and the blinkers,plate light and everything worked fine.. excpet the blinkers arent even hooked up to the "integrated tail light"..:confused2

I dont even know what brand tail light it has, ive checked it all over and it doesnt have a name on it anywhere
Vandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 02:03 AM   #15
stunt-r
Senior Citizen
 
stunt-r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SE Houston
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 1,641


Bike(s):
(2) KLX110 stock-mod class / KLX110 stocker / His & Her XR50s stock-mods









Send a message via AIM to stunt-r
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vandals View Post
I dont even know what brand tail light it has, ive checked it all over and it doesnt have a name on it anywhere

that might be your problem :BangHead:

haha its probably defective
__________________
I love minis.
stunt-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 02:13 AM   #16
gixxerjoe
Who needs 2 hands anyway?
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cypress, Tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 185


Bike(s):
07 YZF-R6









try hooking the blinkers up, maybe they have a role as a ground as well.
__________________
how do i go foreward.
gixxerjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 02:13 AM   #17
gixxerjoe
Who needs 2 hands anyway?
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cypress, Tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 185


Bike(s):
07 YZF-R6









LOAD RESISTORS?!
__________________
how do i go foreward.
gixxerjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 02:22 AM   #18
Vandals
Scooter
 
Vandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: WACO
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,359

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2003 Yamaha r1
1981 Honda Trail 110 -"The Tank"








Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxerjoe View Post
try hooking the blinkers up, maybe they have a role as a ground as well.
theres nowhere in the tail light to hook them up.. thats the weird thing.

I have hooked up LED lights that i made into a make-shift blinker, and they worked fine.
Vandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 02:23 AM   #19
Vandals
Scooter
 
Vandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: WACO
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,359

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2003 Yamaha r1
1981 Honda Trail 110 -"The Tank"








Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxerjoe View Post
LOAD RESISTORS?!
could be, I'll take a better look at it tomorrow
Vandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 02:27 AM   #20
gixxerjoe
Who needs 2 hands anyway?
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cypress, Tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 185


Bike(s):
07 YZF-R6









PM me if youre having problems and ill take pics of my setup and see if we cant get this issue straightened out.

if you need a stock tailight i have one
__________________
how do i go foreward.
gixxerjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy