MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Off Topic (everything else) > Off Topic
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 07-25-2007, 10:41 AM   #1
SPYDER BITE
Can-Am has arrived
 
SPYDER BITE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: I LIVE IN CLEVELAND, TEXAS
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 7,724

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
2009 Can-Am Spyder 990









Question:

Can anyone tell me how wireless internet works? I know you have to get a wireless modum but do you have to find a provider and pay a monthly bill or what.
__________________
My Can_Am 990 is the Shiznit!
SPYDER BITE is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question. Killerjoe123 General Discussion (Moto Related) 15 08-18-2011 04:46 PM
question fiddyrider Dirtbikes, Mini's, ATV's..... 9 06-16-2009 12:48 PM
question Harveyjl2 Dirtbikes, Mini's, ATV's..... 17 10-25-2008 10:50 PM
Question? koskesh Off Topic 23 04-17-2006 09:01 PM
got a question need your help on GSXR question Racer X 05 General Discussion (Moto Related) 8 08-05-2005 01:11 PM
Advertisement
Old 07-25-2007, 10:47 AM   #2
Azylum
The Chosen One
 
Azylum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ellington
Feedback Rating: (23)
Posts: 39,629

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 2











no. you just need a router and a card for yoiur pc to reciever the signal. most new laptops already have those built in. you just plug your internet into the router and it sends it wirelessly.
__________________
motohoustonlogo
Bringing back the old school.
Azylum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 10:47 AM   #3
Mrs. ~T~
formerly known as C 1/2
 
Mrs. ~T~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 290 @ huffmeister
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 12,989


Bike(s):
2006 GSXR 600









Send a message via AIM to Mrs. ~T~
call henry he knows.
Mrs. ~T~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 10:49 AM   #4
SPYDER BITE
Can-Am has arrived
 
SPYDER BITE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: I LIVE IN CLEVELAND, TEXAS
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 7,724

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
2009 Can-Am Spyder 990









Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonR 1/2 View Post
call henry he knows.
what is henry's last name so i can look him up in computer
__________________
My Can_Am 990 is the Shiznit!
SPYDER BITE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 10:57 AM   #5
SPYDER BITE
Can-Am has arrived
 
SPYDER BITE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: I LIVE IN CLEVELAND, TEXAS
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 7,724

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
2009 Can-Am Spyder 990









Quote:
Originally Posted by ninja nana View Post
what is henry's last name so i can look him up in computer
never mind i got it thanks T
__________________
My Can_Am 990 is the Shiznit!
SPYDER BITE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 10:58 AM   #6
SPYDER BITE
Can-Am has arrived
 
SPYDER BITE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: I LIVE IN CLEVELAND, TEXAS
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 7,724

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
2009 Can-Am Spyder 990









Quote:
Originally Posted by Azylum View Post
no. you just need a router and a card for yoiur pc to reciever the signal. most new laptops already have those built in. you just plug your internet into the router and it sends it wirelessly.
not a laptop, we do not have home phone trying to get internet for big computer and Tim's new laptop
__________________
My Can_Am 990 is the Shiznit!
SPYDER BITE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 11:04 AM   #7
mekrew
naaaaaw i sayin
 
mekrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 9,778

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to mekrew
wireless simple way

internet coming in to modem - modem connects to wireless router -wireless router connects to any close computers with cat5 - all other wireless computer connect wirelessly as long as they have a wireless card
mekrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 11:11 AM   #8
SPYDER BITE
Can-Am has arrived
 
SPYDER BITE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: I LIVE IN CLEVELAND, TEXAS
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 7,724

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
2009 Can-Am Spyder 990









thanks guys I am not very computer literate and just trying to get my ducks in a row so i can chat with yall at night when i go home we live in the sticks and dish network says there is no dsl in area but at&t said there was signal out there. Our cell phones come in out there and we have dish network dvr out there so i think maybe dish network maybe has no clue.
__________________
My Can_Am 990 is the Shiznit!
SPYDER BITE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 11:13 AM   #9
alrova
- LSTD - From 0 to Snail
 
alrova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NW-Houston
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 3,861

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
09 ZX-6R









Send a message via MSN to alrova Send a message via Yahoo to alrova
you don't need a cable/dsl provider. Just buy a wireless card and get the signal from your neighbors, not everyone encrypts their router. Free internet. lol
__________________
--Alberto--
New weapon - "Green Hornet Kato Style powered by Stoner's blood drop stolen by Melandri injected by Lascorz"
alrova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 11:14 AM   #10
rob78
. . . . . . . . .
 
rob78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Katy/Cypress
Feedback Rating: (10)
Posts: 6,268

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
Late Model Never-Was









someone was just telling me about a little device that you can plug into your computer and it uses your negibors(sp) wireless internet..:dontknow:
__________________
TMGP #78
Team I Just Wanna Ride #104

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nastynesto85 View Post
go ahead and cry so I can use the tears as lubrication to stick it in you
rob78 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 11:15 AM   #11
rob78
. . . . . . . . .
 
rob78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Katy/Cypress
Feedback Rating: (10)
Posts: 6,268

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
Late Model Never-Was









Quote:
Originally Posted by alrova View Post
you don't need a cable/dsl provider. Just buy a wireless card and get the signal from your neighbors, not everyone encrypts their router. Free internet. lol
:laughing6 we were thinking the same thing
__________________
TMGP #78
Team I Just Wanna Ride #104

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nastynesto85 View Post
go ahead and cry so I can use the tears as lubrication to stick it in you
rob78 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 11:23 AM   #12
SPYDER BITE
Can-Am has arrived
 
SPYDER BITE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: I LIVE IN CLEVELAND, TEXAS
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 7,724

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
2009 Can-Am Spyder 990









Quote:
Originally Posted by alrova View Post
you don't need a cable/dsl provider. Just buy a wireless card and get the signal from your neighbors, not everyone encrypts their router. Free internet. lol
the only thing about that is all of our nieghbors are broke 's and wont have the net and they are acres away.
__________________
My Can_Am 990 is the Shiznit!
SPYDER BITE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 12:03 PM   #13
Cherub
FTP
 
Cherub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 11,832


Bike(s):
06 Raven R6




Member Garage





Send a message via MSN to Cherub Send a message via Yahoo to Cherub
Quote:
Originally Posted by JETG View Post
I think that sprint offers a wireless card of some sort.

J
Yea thats nice you can access the net anywhere not just where they have wifi
__________________

~Dream as if you live forever. Live as if you die today~ James Dean

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sifu-TZ View Post
It makes me cry, but real tears not the ones out of my like usual.
Cherub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 12:10 PM   #14
Candy
The Most Intolerable bish
 
Candy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: H-Town
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,209

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 7

Bike(s):
'06 GSXR 1000
'02 GSXR 750



Member Garage





Send a message via Yahoo to Candy
Just got my computer, so I've finally figured all of this out. U can either buy a wireless card thru verizon, sprint, tmobile and this will allow u to connect to the net ANYWHERE there is coverage, just like ur cell phone coverage areas.

U can also get a router thru your home cable or telephone service. Now with that most laptops come equipped with a Wireless LAN, which is basically an antenna that will seek out and connect to ANY connection it detects within a reasonable distance. So if u have the service thru ur home, u can pick that signal up (secure) and connect it that way OORRRR u can be ghetto like me and just steal a wireless connection that is unsecured.

Right now I'm using the "unsecured" connection at the waffle house here in galveston.
__________________
Bringing Color To A Face Near You
Candy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 12:14 PM   #15
Mrs. ~T~
formerly known as C 1/2
 
Mrs. ~T~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 290 @ huffmeister
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 12,989


Bike(s):
2006 GSXR 600









Send a message via AIM to Mrs. ~T~
henry does our tech support at our office and hes trying to get ur to switch, im just like you lisa, i dont know much about it either, but he said it is better, and i belive him...
Mrs. ~T~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 12:44 PM   #16
SPHINX
Ominous Misanthropia
 
SPHINX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: HOUSTON, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 992


Bike(s):
2006 ZX6R
2005 749S








Send a message via AIM to SPHINX
IF YOU DONT HAVE A PHONE LINE AND DONT WANT TO SIGN UP FOR AN EXPENSIVE WIRELESS INTERNET PLAN FROM THE BIG PROVIDERS, THEN YOU MIGHT WANT TO TRY USING YOUR CELL PHONE'S BLUETOOTH CONNECTION AND INTERNET ACCESS AND CREATE A BRIDGE WITH YOUR LAPTOP[GIVEN IS BLUE TOOTH ENABLED]. IT'S A LITTLE TRICKY BUT IT WORKS FOR ME SINCE I DONT HAVE A MOBILE INTERNET PLAN. YOU MIGHT ALSO NEED TO SIGN UP FOR A DATA PLAN BUT IS STILL CHEAPER THAN MOBILE INTERNET.
THE WAY YOU DO THIS IS AS FOLLOW: IN YOUR LAPTOP[BLUE TOOTH ENABLED] YOU GO TO CONECTIVITY OPTIONS AND SELECT BLUE TOOTH, ONCE YOU DO THIS THERE SHOULD BE WINDOW ASKING YOU IF YOU WANT TO ENABLE IT. YOU CLICK YES AND YOUR LAPTOP WILL START TO SCAN FOR THE CLOSEST BLUE TOOTH DEVISE[YOUR PHONE]. ONCE YOU HAVE ESTABLISHED THE CONECTION YOU GO TO [CONECT TO] AND SELECT BLUE TOOTH WIRELESS DEVISE. ONCE YOU'VE DONE THIS IT WILL ASK YOU IF YOU WANT TO USE YOUR PHONE'S INTERNET ACCESS TO PLUNCK YOUR COMPUTER INTO THE INTERNET, THEN YOU CLICK YES AND DONE. STREAMING SPEED WILL BE SLOW BUT IT'S STILL GOOD ENOUGH TO BROWSE SOME PAGES.
NOTE; IF YOU DONT HAVE AN UNLIMITED DATA PLAN IN YOUR PHONE THEN YOUR PHONE PROVIDER WILL CHARGE YOU FOR THE AMOUNT OF DATA USED[REMEMBER YOU ARE ACCESING THE INTERNET THROUGH YOUR CELL PHONE, THEREFORE THE SAME FEES APPLY]
SPHINX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 01:35 PM   #17
train460
speed junky
 
train460's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cypress Tx (cypress N Houston & jones)
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 2,379

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
88 v-max
05 Honda Goldwing
85 V-max (wifes)
05 Vtx 1300 (wifes)






was gonna say there are lots of places offering free wifi. coffee shops, barns and nobels etc. lots. Think they are making all of galveston and maybe houston a wifi meca before too long.
Also the broadband card from cell phone places. bud has it for like $60 a month or so. pulls over on the side of the road to work from his laptop sometimes. pretty cool
Mcihael
__________________
A man opens the door for u not because he is polite. It's so he can check out your .
Michael Hansen
Cypress Tx
88 v-max
train460 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 01:36 PM   #18
train460
speed junky
 
train460's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cypress Tx (cypress N Houston & jones)
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 2,379

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
88 v-max
05 Honda Goldwing
85 V-max (wifes)
05 Vtx 1300 (wifes)






Quote:
Originally Posted by SPHINX View Post
IF YOU DONT HAVE A PHONE LINE AND DONT WANT TO SIGN UP FOR AN EXPENSIVE WIRELESS INTERNET PLAN FROM THE BIG PROVIDERS, THEN YOU MIGHT WANT TO TRY USING YOUR CELL PHONE'S BLUETOOTH CONNECTION AND INTERNET ACCESS AND CREATE A BRIDGE WITH YOUR LAPTOP[GIVEN IS BLUE TOOTH ENABLED]. IT'S A LITTLE TRICKY BUT IT WORKS FOR ME SINCE I DONT HAVE A MOBILE INTERNET PLAN. YOU MIGHT ALSO NEED TO SIGN UP FOR A DATA PLAN BUT IS STILL CHEAPER THAN MOBILE INTERNET.
THE WAY YOU DO THIS IS AS FOLLOW: IN YOUR LAPTOP[BLUE TOOTH ENABLED] YOU GO TO CONECTIVITY OPTIONS AND SELECT BLUE TOOTH, ONCE YOU DO THIS THERE SHOULD BE WINDOW ASKING YOU IF YOU WANT TO ENABLE IT. YOU CLICK YES AND YOUR LAPTOP WILL START TO SCAN FOR THE CLOSEST BLUE TOOTH DEVISE[YOUR PHONE]. ONCE YOU HAVE ESTABLISHED THE CONECTION YOU GO TO [CONECT TO] AND SELECT BLUE TOOTH WIRELESS DEVISE. ONCE YOU'VE DONE THIS IT WILL ASK YOU IF YOU WANT TO USE YOUR PHONE'S INTERNET ACCESS TO PLUNCK YOUR COMPUTER INTO THE INTERNET, THEN YOU CLICK YES AND DONE. STREAMING SPEED WILL BE SLOW BUT IT'S STILL GOOD ENOUGH TO BROWSE SOME PAGES.
NOTE; IF YOU DONT HAVE AN UNLIMITED DATA PLAN IN YOUR PHONE THEN YOUR PHONE PROVIDER WILL CHARGE YOU FOR THE AMOUNT OF DATA USED[REMEMBER YOU ARE ACCESING THE INTERNET THROUGH YOUR CELL PHONE, THEREFORE THE SAME FEES APPLY]
using this way, how fast would it be?
say get unlimited data and drop broadband service, etc?
__________________
A man opens the door for u not because he is polite. It's so he can check out your .
Michael Hansen
Cypress Tx
88 v-max
train460 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy