MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2007, 07:17 AM   #1
Hoguer
Hoguer
 
Hoguer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Friendswood
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 155

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
Honda VTX 1300C
Honda VTX 1300C








Fuse is blowing need help!!!

The ignition fuse on my VTX 1300 c is blowing when I try to starte my bike. I charged the battery at first because I thought they might have somthing to do with it. The battery looks fine when I replaced the ignition fuse allthe lights work at top performance. Does any one have an idea that might help me in my trouble shooting?
:BangHead: :BangHead: :BangHead: :BangHead:
__________________
Hoguer is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HVAC Help Zone Not Blowing BuckNut DIY Projects and Help 4 06-22-2015 07:34 AM
Something is blowing up in La Porte bluewave18 Off Topic 11 02-14-2013 04:12 PM
hi beam blowing fuses plummer General Discussion (Moto Related) 4 01-31-2011 12:36 AM
i keep blowing fuses agg2001 How To's and Q & A's 6 08-14-2009 12:17 PM
fuse keeps blowing Vandals How To's and Q & A's 23 08-01-2007 12:01 PM
Advertisement
Old 07-14-2007, 07:29 AM   #2
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,368

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Is the bike all stock? Any add on mods like light bar, neons, etc?
If so I'd check the wiring to those to see if they are causing you an issue.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 07:39 AM   #3
Racer X 05
Senior Member
 
Racer X 05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kingwood
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 629

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
2005 R1









Patrick, it's all stock. is 10amp the right fuse for the ignition fuse? this just came out of no where! I'm looking at the fuse right now it does not look like it's burnt out at all. When he turns the key all lights and everything comes on like normal, but as soon as he hit's the start button pow" everything goes out like the fuse blew.
__________________
Racer X 05
Racer X 05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 07:52 AM   #4
holla4304
Member
 
holla4304's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 51












Send a message via AIM to holla4304 Send a message via Yahoo to holla4304
GET a OHM Meter and Measur the resistance to ground on all the wires on your ingnition. If u read 1-5 ohms u have a short on that wire.
__________________
http://www.myspace.com/fontj
holla4304 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 07:58 AM   #5
Racer X 05
Senior Member
 
Racer X 05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kingwood
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 629

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
2005 R1









When he pulls the fuse out and put's another one in it lights back up and all but when start button is pressed everything goes out like the fuse blew but it doesn't look blown at all. and all wires are tight
__________________
Racer X 05
Racer X 05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 09:05 AM   #6
Hoguer
Hoguer
 
Hoguer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Friendswood
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 155

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
Honda VTX 1300C
Honda VTX 1300C








I think that I will put a new fuse in and when all the lights come on I will push start the bike and get to the shop. If that is a bad idea please let me know.
__________________
Hoguer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 09:36 AM   #7
level5
moving chicane
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,825












It is your Start Switch!!!!!!!
I had the same problem with mine 05 vtx1300R one time. I had to disassemble the switch clean and put it back. Try that. If not, jump the wire between the two to get it start.
level5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy