MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > Performance and Modifications
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2015, 07:51 AM   #1
waynes-no-sqid
MACK-MAN
 
waynes-no-sqid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: CONROE/CLEVELAND
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 58

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2008 1000RR
07 GSXR 750 hit by dui driver/sold
05 600RR sold
05 GSXR 600 STOLEN(bought new)
1996 F3 Sold (93 frame)

Member Garage





2012 gauge cluster work with 2008 1000rr

Ive searched an havnt found a definitive answer...theres a couple youtube vids that say they have done it..also if someone has already posted this sry ...does anyone know for sure if it will work if so is it plug an play or is some modification required ??
waynes-no-sqid is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to borrow a 03-6 600rr gauge cluster Himynameis General Discussion (Moto Related) 0 04-27-2015 06:59 PM
Gauge cluster not working nwall1 General Discussion (Moto Related) 6 04-07-2014 04:24 PM
CBR600 Gauge Cluster went WHACKO!! Getoutofmyway How To's and Q & A's 0 06-19-2010 07:47 PM
CBR600 Gauge Cluster went WHACKO!! Getoutofmyway How To's and Q & A's 0 06-19-2010 07:19 PM
F4i gauge cluster on a CBR F3?.. Help That_Boy_J How To's and Q & A's 3 05-29-2009 03:21 PM
Advertisement
Old 05-12-2015, 03:10 PM   #2
waynes-no-sqid
MACK-MAN
 
waynes-no-sqid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: CONROE/CLEVELAND
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 58

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2008 1000RR
07 GSXR 750 hit by dui driver/sold
05 600RR sold
05 GSXR 600 STOLEN(bought new)
1996 F3 Sold (93 frame)

Member Garage





The question is will a 2012 1000rr gauge cluster work on a 2008 1000rr correctly which will give a stock gear indicator an whatever else the 2012 displays
waynes-no-sqid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2015, 04:35 PM   #3
ZX-Dominance
Senior Member
 
ZX-Dominance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: BCS
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,364

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2008 FZ1 (wifey)
2007 ZX-6R (track)
2008 Speed Triple White Knight (sold)
2008 CBR1000RR "Red Rocket"
2005 SV1000S (sold)






I would assume no.

The r6 clusters 06-15 work. Some zx6's swap around. But generally speaking, the cluster is just reading signals and displaying stuff: not actually calculating or measuring things.

So if the 08 lacked an output signal for gear indication, I doubt it would magically appear on the 2012 dash,unless the late model cluster is doing it's on calculations based on speed and rpm, but 99% of the time, the ECU is what's doing it, the cluster says shows what its told to
ZX-Dominance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 02:06 AM   #4
waynes-no-sqid
MACK-MAN
 
waynes-no-sqid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: CONROE/CLEVELAND
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 58

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2008 1000RR
07 GSXR 750 hit by dui driver/sold
05 600RR sold
05 GSXR 600 STOLEN(bought new)
1996 F3 Sold (93 frame)

Member Garage





Really
waynes-no-sqid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy