MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 02-24-2015, 03:24 PM   #1
TMAX
Forever MODERATE
 
TMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cy-Fair
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,976

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 4

Bike(s):
TMAX (Retired in California)
Xciting 500
XT 225
Duke 2
C14 & FZ6






Differences Between a 520 & 525 Chain

Could i use a 525 chain if my bike calls for a 520 chain???
__________________
BORC wannabe
TMAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
520 chain JRokka How To's and Q & A's 2 10-07-2014 09:47 AM
520 chain JRokka How To's and Q & A's 0 10-06-2014 07:03 PM
520 chain conversions... NitroHonda Performance and Modifications 7 02-17-2011 03:23 PM
520 chain conversion bdubb Performance and Modifications 10 04-01-2008 08:10 PM
525 to 520 conv? sixerSLYGUY Gear Talk 7 04-12-2007 11:42 AM
Advertisement
Old 02-24-2015, 03:26 PM   #2
pinball
I got slow
 
pinball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SE
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,677

Experience: 4 years
Trackdays: 2


Big dirt bike (sold)
2003 Honda Sabre (sold)







Only if you change the sprockets to 525.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bun1t View Post
Shelnutt thinks mechanics should work for free
pinball is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 03:30 PM   #3
Ek
Senior Member
 
Ek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 1,173

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
SV 650
KTM 125sx
Harley Street Bob
Husky 610 Tard
Vino 125






Noob.
Ek is online now   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 02-24-2015, 03:31 PM   #4
Bevo
Hook 'em!
 
Bevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston-The South Loop
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 24,295

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
'12 CBR1000RR Red/Black
'14 CB1000R Matte Gray
'10 CBR1000RR (destroyed)
'09 CBR1000RR C-ABS (sold)
'09 CBR600RR C-ABS (sold)

Member Garage





You're going to have to apply more rear brake with a heavier chain
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bumblebee View Post
"I lack skillz"
Bevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 02-24-2015, 03:33 PM   #5
ArkansasDave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Beaumont
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,978

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2010 CRF450R
2014 Honda Grom
2015 KTM 250xc







Scooters have chains? I thought they were powered by little trolls on a hamster wheel.
ArkansasDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 02-24-2015, 03:37 PM   #6
bumblebee
Yeah I'm flippin' YOU off
 
bumblebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 12,264


Bike(s):
'74 Suzuki GT380
'82 XS650 StreetTracker
'10 Ducati Streetfighter
'83 Yamaha Seca 900






Quote:
Originally Posted by ArkansasDave View Post
Scooters have chains? I thought they were powered by little trolls on a hamster wheel.
Only the ones that are like sportbikes
__________________
Asphalt is for racing... dirt is for growing potatoes. - J. Diester
When seconds count... the police are only minutes away.
Grow up and be a productive member of society already.
Bevo- "I lack skillz"
bumblebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 02-24-2015, 03:40 PM   #7
TMAX
Forever MODERATE
 
TMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cy-Fair
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,976

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 4

Bike(s):
TMAX (Retired in California)
Xciting 500
XT 225
Duke 2
C14 & FZ6






Quote:
Originally Posted by pinball View Post
Only if you change the sprockets to 525.
thanks!
__________________
BORC wannabe
TMAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 04:09 PM   #8
bumblebee
Yeah I'm flippin' YOU off
 
bumblebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 12,264


Bike(s):
'74 Suzuki GT380
'82 XS650 StreetTracker
'10 Ducati Streetfighter
'83 Yamaha Seca 900






More info:
Quote:
1 You will need an inside/outside measurement micrometer to determine pitch.

Measure the distance from center of roller to center of roller on the chain. The chain size is based on eighths. The first number of the chain size is the distance between roller centers, in eighths of an inch. A 420 chain will be 4/8 or 1/2 inch from roller center to roller center.

2 Measure roller width, giving you the second number in the chain size. Chain roller width is the last two numbers in chain size separated by a decimal. the 420 chain has a roller width of 2.0/8, or 1/4 inch.

3 Put the two numbers together to give you the overall chain size. If your first measurement between roller centers was 5/8, and your second measurement was 3/8, you have a 530 chain. If you have a Suzuki chain, it may measure slightly more than 3/8 in width. This is an odd chain size known as a 532. However, it will run well on a 525 or 530 sprocket of any make
__________________
Asphalt is for racing... dirt is for growing potatoes. - J. Diester
When seconds count... the police are only minutes away.
Grow up and be a productive member of society already.
Bevo- "I lack skillz"
bumblebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 04:56 PM   #9
Repth
Keyboard Warrior
 
Repth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Austin
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,601

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
'14 Street Triple R









Only if you never use the rear brake.
__________________
"I learned long ago never to wrestle with a pig. You end up getting dirty, and besides, the pig likes it."
- George Bernard Shaw
Repth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 05:03 PM   #10
ZX-Dominance
Senior Member
 
ZX-Dominance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: BCS
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,364

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2008 FZ1 (wifey)
2007 ZX-6R (track)
2008 Speed Triple White Knight (sold)
2008 CBR1000RR "Red Rocket"
2005 SV1000S (sold)






I ran a 530 chain on a 520 rear sprocket for 5-6 trackdays.

yea yea blast away guys, but nothing bad happened. Thicker chain thinner sprockets, no big issues. Will def not work the other way around
ZX-Dominance is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 02-24-2015, 05:09 PM   #11
TMAX
Forever MODERATE
 
TMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cy-Fair
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,976

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 4

Bike(s):
TMAX (Retired in California)
Xciting 500
XT 225
Duke 2
C14 & FZ6






Quote:
Originally Posted by ZX-Dominance View Post
I ran a 530 chain on a 520 rear sprocket for 5-6 trackdays.

yea yea blast away guys, but nothing bad happened. Thicker chain thinner sprockets, no big issues. Will def not work the other way around
So i take it that it just ate away at your sprocket? Thanks for the info.

Wanna just use this chain and some extra sporckets i got for the occasional trackday.

And yes, I converted the Scooter to chain and sprocket final drive. HA!
__________________
BORC wannabe
TMAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 05:13 PM   #12
Bevo
Hook 'em!
 
Bevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston-The South Loop
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 24,295

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
'12 CBR1000RR Red/Black
'14 CB1000R Matte Gray
'10 CBR1000RR (destroyed)
'09 CBR1000RR C-ABS (sold)
'09 CBR600RR C-ABS (sold)

Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by ZX-Dominance View Post
I ran a 530 chain on a 520 rear sprocket for 5-6 trackdays.

yea yea blast away guys, but nothing bad happened.
water boy mom meme generator you is the devil cc0bba
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bumblebee View Post
"I lack skillz"
Bevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 05:23 PM   #13
Chubby Racer
The Confusion
 
Chubby Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: between a chair and a screen
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 19,399

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'07 R6
'02 KLX110(tarded)








Send a message via ICQ to Chubby Racer Send a message via AIM to Chubby Racer Send a message via MSN to Chubby Racer Send a message via Yahoo to Chubby Racer
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZX-Dominance View Post
I ran a 530 chain on a 520 rear sprocket for 5-6 trackdays.

yea yea blast away guys, but nothing bad happened. Thicker chain thinner sprockets, no big issues. Will def not work the other way around

Apparently chewing away drastically at the teeth was "no big issues." Will it kinda/sorta fit? Yes. But it will eat sprockets at a vastly accelerated rate.
__________________
A motorcycle is a joy machine. It's a machine of wonders, a metal bird, a motorized prosthetic. It's light and dark and shiny and dirty and warm and cold lapping over each other; it's a conduit of grace, it's a catalyst for bonding the gritty and the holy.

CMRA #302
Chubby Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 06:08 PM   #14
ZX-Dominance
Senior Member
 
ZX-Dominance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: BCS
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,364

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2008 FZ1 (wifey)
2007 ZX-6R (track)
2008 Speed Triple White Knight (sold)
2008 CBR1000RR "Red Rocket"
2005 SV1000S (sold)






Quote:
Originally Posted by Chubby Racer View Post
Apparently chewing away drastically at the teeth was "no big issues." Will it kinda/sorta fit? Yes. But it will eat sprockets at a vastly accelerated rate.
hahaha sorry guys. It was on an r6 (no torque)... but I had negligible sprocket wear- even with the Aluminum rear.

If I am correct, the distance from tooth to tooth is the same 520,525,530. A 530 chain is simply wider than a 520- so the only play to be found is in lateral motion, which is likely minimized when under load. Yes there are tension rates and like that to rate chains by, but bottom line... will it roll smoothly? Yes. Will it roll smoothly fast? Yes. Is it the ideal setup? No way. And Ive never done it again, but as I said, no issues running a 530 chain on 520 rear sprocket for multiple int/adv trackdays.

Guys at tech didnt say a word : P
ZX-Dominance is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 02-24-2015, 06:25 PM   #15
bumblebee
Yeah I'm flippin' YOU off
 
bumblebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 12,264


Bike(s):
'74 Suzuki GT380
'82 XS650 StreetTracker
'10 Ducati Streetfighter
'83 Yamaha Seca 900






There is possibly a difference in roller diameter too.
__________________
Asphalt is for racing... dirt is for growing potatoes. - J. Diester
When seconds count... the police are only minutes away.
Grow up and be a productive member of society already.
Bevo- "I lack skillz"
bumblebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 06:32 PM   #16
False
Senior Member
 
False's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 351












Quote:
Originally Posted by ZX-Dominance View Post
hahaha sorry guys. It was on an r6 (no torque)... but I had negligible sprocket wear- even with the Aluminum rear.

If I am correct, the distance from tooth to tooth is the same 520,525,530. A 530 chain is simply wider than a 520- so the only play to be found is in lateral motion, which is likely minimized when under load. Yes there are tension rates and like that to rate chains by, but bottom line... will it roll smoothly? Yes. Will it roll smoothly fast? Yes. Is it the ideal setup? No way. And Ive never done it again, but as I said, no issues running a 530 chain on 520 rear sprocket for multiple int/adv trackdays.

Guys at tech didnt say a word : P
So you did a 520 conversion then wanted to run a larger rear at the track so you needed the stock chain? There are very few scenarios where I could see any motivation to do this.
False is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 07:21 PM   #17
Tojo92
AKA Mongo
 
Tojo92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 5,142

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
1994 Ducati 900 SS/SP
2003 Honda CRF450R motard
2002 Husqvarna NOX
2001 KTM Duke II






Quote:
Originally Posted by False View Post
There are very few scenarios where I could see any motivation to do this.
Broke college student not wanting to spend money and using what he had...and questionable decision making skills.
__________________
CMRA#665 (neighbor of the beast)
The Problem - Endurance
Tojo92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 12:04 AM   #18
TMAX
Forever MODERATE
 
TMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cy-Fair
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,976

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 4

Bike(s):
TMAX (Retired in California)
Xciting 500
XT 225
Duke 2
C14 & FZ6






Id do it. If i get talk to the man. Id run it trackdays. I got an extra set.

No torque on the scooter?
__________________
BORC wannabe
TMAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 12:20 AM   #19
ZX-Dominance
Senior Member
 
ZX-Dominance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: BCS
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,364

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2008 FZ1 (wifey)
2007 ZX-6R (track)
2008 Speed Triple White Knight (sold)
2008 CBR1000RR "Red Rocket"
2005 SV1000S (sold)






Quote:
Originally Posted by Tojo92 View Post
Broke college student not wanting to spend money and using what he had...and questionable decision making skills.
This. Bought new sprockets and for some reason the PO had a 530 on anew r6. I said it cuz I already signed up. It worked well enough until I had enough scratch to replace.

**i have since moved up in the world. Only slightly broke college student, but with more bikes!
ZX-Dominance is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 02-25-2015, 12:29 AM   #20
False
Senior Member
 
False's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 351












Quote:
Originally Posted by ZX-Dominance View Post
This. Bought new sprockets and for some reason the PO had a 530 on anew r6. I said it cuz I already signed up. It worked well enough until I had enough scratch to replace.

**i have since moved up in the world. Only slightly broke college student, but with more bikes!
530 is the OEM size on 600's. Buying the wrong parts and not having the time or inclination to swap them is one of the scenarios I was talking about. Don't try to explain why you wanted to get value for money. I always try to get value for money.
False is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy