MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2007, 07:56 PM   #1
Alstare_Gixxer
Crash Meister
 
Alstare_Gixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 203












'03 GSXR600 Secondary Throttle Porblem, help!!!

OK, I'm at the wit end of the problem I'm trying to solve. I have a '03 600 that has problem with the Secondary Throttle. The code is C28 and C29. Here's what I've done so far:

1. Tried 3 different Throttle Bodies, same codes.
2. Tried 2 different ECU (PN. 32920-39FD0), one gives me a -C28, -C29, the other one gives me a _C28, _C29 on the same throttle bodies.
3. Unplugged the STV actuator and checked for voltage coming from the ECU on start-up, got 0V (supposed to be 5.6VDC)
4. Checked for open or short on the wires...all good.
5. Did some research, and on some bikes, there is a STC module (PN. 32910-39F00) that is plugged into the connector by the diagnostic port. I have that too, and it doesn't do anything while it's on or off the bike.
6. Applied some voltage to the STV actuator on all 3 throttle bodies I have and they moved, so they shouldn't be bad.

Currently the bike runs, just won't go past 9500 RPM. So, can the 2 ECUs I have be bad? I don't want to bring the bike to stealership and get charged $650 for a new ECU. I need a known good ECU to verify that it's the problem. What's your suggestion or pointer on something I might have missed? Or anyone living in Rowlett-Garland, TX area that can stop by and let me borrow and plug it in to see if the throttle bodies come to life? Thanks
Alstare_Gixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
00' GSXR Secondary Throttle Actuator JP171 General Discussion (Moto Related) 0 04-08-2013 08:24 PM
secondary throttle on a gsxr woodyonagsxr General Discussion (Moto Related) 3 09-06-2012 11:11 AM
stunters i got parts whatever you need for a 01-03 gsxr600 actech/stunta Stunters Lounge 1 11-24-2010 12:52 AM
03 cbr 600 rr secondary injector question Liqued600RR How To's and Q & A's 3 05-01-2008 07:29 PM
03 Suzuki GSXR600 Alstare Edition stolen in Garland TX Alstare_Gixxer General Discussion (Moto Related) 10 10-19-2006 10:28 AM
Advertisement
Old 06-06-2007, 09:35 PM   #2
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Did you check the secondary TPS?
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 09:37 PM   #3
FastLine
Motorcycle School
 
FastLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MSRH GSS TWS (Texas World Speedway)
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 13,881

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Instructing
Trackdays
Like
A
Boss






More importantly, did you check the flux level in your flux capacitor?
FastLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 09:55 PM   #4
Scorpio
Twist the Grip, Let'r Rip
 
Scorpio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shmearth
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 12,292

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+


450x sumo (sold)
RC51 (sold)
Honda Grom 125(sold)

Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to Scorpio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godsuki
More importantly, did you check the flux level in your flux capacitor?
I believe the '03+ have maintainance free capacitors.
Scorpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 10:09 PM   #5
level5
moving chicane
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,825












Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick
Did you check the secondary TPS?
Isn't the secondary tps is incorporate into the secondary throttle actuator?
level5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 10:14 PM   #6
level5
moving chicane
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,825












3 different throttle bodies
2 ecu and still getting the same code?

There must be a wire mixed up if you changed out the harness from certain years. Manufacturers are tricky when it comes to little knick knacks like that. It looks the same but they switch the wires around so they could sell you a different harness. Unplug the harness and check the wires for voltage again but using different plugs to see if you have any volts.
level5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 10:19 PM   #7
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Quote:
Originally Posted by level5
Isn't the secondary tps is incorporate into the secondary throttle actuator?
It's an individual replaceable part, one that gives the symptoms he is having when it is faulty.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 10:20 PM   #8
Alstare_Gixxer
Crash Meister
 
Alstare_Gixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 203












Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick
Did you check the secondary TPS?

Forgot to mention that...I checked it too by manually moving the ST butterflies and measured the resistance...within spec.
Alstare_Gixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 10:23 PM   #9
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Give me a call in the A.M. and I'll walk you through a few things.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 10:24 PM   #10
Alstare_Gixxer
Crash Meister
 
Alstare_Gixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 203












Quote:
Originally Posted by level5
3 different throttle bodies
2 ecu and still getting the same code?

There must be a wire mixed up if you changed out the harness from certain years. Manufacturers are tricky when it comes to little knick knacks like that. It looks the same but they switch the wires around so they could sell you a different harness. Unplug the harness and check the wires for voltage again but using different plugs to see if you have any volts.

There are 2 wire harness revisions...1 is for an '01 600, the other is for '02-03 600. There is a tag with part number for my model year....verified with Suzuki microfiche diagram. All the couplers on the harness matched up with their color-coded ends of the parts.
Alstare_Gixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 10:25 PM   #11
level5
moving chicane
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,825












Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick
It's an individual replaceable part, one that gives the symptoms he is having when it is faulty.
Is the throttle body, tps, computer parts on 01-03 interchangeable? Cause on the 05 and 06 GSXR1000 it has a slight mods to the body works and I think that they change small things around too.
level5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 10:27 PM   #12
Alstare_Gixxer
Crash Meister
 
Alstare_Gixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 203












Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick
Give me a call in the A.M. and I'll walk you through a few things.
Thanks Patrick, but I'll have to wait till next Wednesday (my day off) to work on the bike.
Alstare_Gixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 10:28 PM   #13
level5
moving chicane
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,825












Quote:
Originally Posted by Alstare_Gixxer
There are 2 wire harness revisions...1 is for an '01 600, the other is for '02-03 600. There is a tag with part number for my model year....verified with Suzuki microfiche diagram. All the couplers on the harness matched up with their color-coded ends of the parts.
Connectors sometimes are the same but they switched the wires around. Make sure if you use a 01 wiring harness with 01 ecu or 02-03 wiring harness with 02-03 ecu.
level5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 10:29 PM   #14
level5
moving chicane
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,825












If it is different, unplug it from the pigtail and put it in correspond with the sensor or actuator.
level5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 10:32 PM   #15
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Quote:
Originally Posted by Alstare_Gixxer
Thanks Patrick, but I'll have to wait till next Wednesday (my day off) to work on the bike.
No problem, call me at your convenience.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 10:34 PM   #16
Alstare_Gixxer
Crash Meister
 
Alstare_Gixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 203












The STV actuator has 2 wires for + and - VDC. The STPS has 3 wires to sense resistance hence determine the position of the ST butterflies.
Alstare_Gixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 09:33 PM   #17
Alstare_Gixxer
Crash Meister
 
Alstare_Gixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 203












OK, today I changed out the wiring harness...same problem. Maybe the ECU next. Sorry couldn't call Patrick since I got to it kinda late and don't want to cut into his business hour, but if you can give me some pointers on things I might have miss, tips on where to look to get this thing going, please go ahead and post here, since I can access internet thru my cell phone. Thanks in advance.
Alstare_Gixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 11:03 PM   #18
Alstare_Gixxer
Crash Meister
 
Alstare_Gixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 203












Bump
Alstare_Gixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 01:50 AM   #19
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Give me a shout at the shop Tuesday.
I don't have the manual here at the house and it can be difficult enough to diagnose over the phone, let alone via the net.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 09:24 AM   #20
Alstare_Gixxer
Crash Meister
 
Alstare_Gixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 203












Well, after thoroughly checking all the wirings, sensors, controller, and ordering 3 ECUs, turned out thr problem was the ECU. Out of the 3 ECU I bought and 2 other ones I had, 2 gave me C-28,29 errors, 2 gave me C-30 error and a good one. Didn't want to rev my bike pass 10K PRM to of my neighbors, but I think it's fixed. Hope I don't get blown away in the straight when I take her to coming track days.

Thanks to Patrick for offering free diagnostic over the phone ON HIS BUSINESS HOUR even I didn't take it since I know his time is very valuable. I try to work on my bike as much as I can as I will learn lots of things.

Now, I have another question for you. My bike (03 GSXR600) has an 05 750 front-end, and Ohlins from a 01 750. I don't know the model number but it has triple clickers with a .85 spring which suits my weight. The last time I went to TWS (Texas World Speedway), I tried to have it set up and Eric(?) (Austin Motorsports) told me the front is fine but the rear only has 20mm of sag, is it normal? When I was out on the track, the rear does seem a wee bit stiff, and the the steering is quick which caused me to run over the curb on T4 3 times, when I tried to aim for the apex.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_DSC3765[1].jpg.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	85.8 KB
ID:	5891  
Alstare_Gixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy