MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > Performance and Modifications
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2015, 10:34 AM   #1
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 28,865

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 YZF600R (Street)
2009 Iron 883



Member Garage


YZF600R odd issue. Please help!?!?! (PROBLEM SOLVED!!!)

Here is the story (of a lovely lady...)


2006 YZF600r
11k Miles

Ran like a top until one day I was riding around and noticed my tach drop to 0.
Engine reved fine, but the moment the tach "kicked back on" I felt a slight and I do mean VERY SLIGHT "ignition cut" (The best way I can describe it).

Sometimes the tach would point to 8k rpm and hold (indicating an error code) and some times 3k rpm (one other error code).

I did some research on the yzf600r forums and it seems several people have similar issues, yet different things fix the problem for different people.

I've replaced the CDI box with another used unit and no change.

I've replaced the TPS sensor with another used unit AND IT GOT WORSE (the ignition cut)

Here is a video of what it does. While I'm riding, its a constant tach drop, bounce back up, drop out etc. It seems its fine until I pull the throttle. Also, since its sat inside the garage for the past 3 months, the carbs need a cleaning, so excuse that...

__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd problem Valkorin How To's and Q & A's 19 06-01-2010 11:25 AM
odd plumbing problem Azylum Off Topic 22 05-07-2009 12:34 PM
Scotts Damper Problem solved Prodigy Stunters Lounge 11 01-07-2009 05:43 PM
DBuck's problem solved!!! w a pic dbuck General Discussion (Moto Related) 1 08-28-2008 08:06 AM
another odd problem. derrex How To's and Q & A's 32 03-25-2008 12:19 AM
Advertisement
Old 02-04-2015, 11:34 AM   #2
blensen
Oil Boiler
 
blensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NW Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 179

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
1997 Bandit 1200









Check your ignition pickup under the stator cover on the left side. If the CDI box isn't getting a reading from it you won't have a signal to the tach and the motor won't fire. Seems intermittent but it's worth looking at.

Edit: This little guy.

 57 zps9bee9161

Last edited by blensen; 02-04-2015 at 11:37 AM.
blensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 10:00 AM   #3
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 28,865

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 YZF600R (Street)
2009 Iron 883



Member Garage


Update : When I unplug the cluster, the problem magically goes away....
__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 10:59 AM   #4
RojerLockless
member of NO MA`AM
 
RojerLockless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: I"M FROM TEXAS, Clear Lake
Feedback Rating: (10)
Posts: 10,903

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
Honda CB919




Member Garage


Sounds like a motorcycle Unlimited problem to me Chris :P
__________________
I kissed a girl and I liked it!

RojerLockless@Motohouston.com
BRING BACK GIXXERBILL!!!
CRBsig 2
RojerLockless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 11:21 AM   #5
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 28,865

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 YZF600R (Street)
2009 Iron 883



Member Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by blensen View Post
Check your ignition pickup under the stator cover on the left side. If the CDI box isn't getting a reading from it you won't have a signal to the tach and the motor won't fire. Seems intermittent but it's worth looking at.

Edit: This little guy.

 57 zps9bee9161
After immediately dismissing this idea, I've now got some inclination that it may very well be the pick up coil!

I'll update once I've tested it. It's variance should be between 189-231 ohms.

If this is the case, I'm hooking you up with something....not sure on what just yet.
__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 02-13-2015, 11:48 AM   #6
tiatool
Pro Racer Mode Enabled
 
tiatool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gunspoint
Feedback Rating: (14)
Posts: 8,687

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
08 Raven
05 Vstar 1100





Yup. I had a similar issue on a r6 a while back. Most likely the stator
__________________
sbmsafesig
tiatool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 11:53 AM   #7
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 28,865

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 YZF600R (Street)
2009 Iron 883



Member Garage


UPDATE! PROBLEM SOLVED!

Ok, so last night I FINALLY found out the problem.

Remember my problem.... At IDLE the problem never happened, but when revved (some times different revs) the tach would go crazy. If the tach was unplugged, the problem would go away. Problem with the tach right? NOPE. I also replaced the CDI box, the TPS sensor. Problem still there.

I double (and triple and quadruple) checked for bad connections and shorts. I toned out every single wire that could be a problem. I had thought that maybe its was vibration related somehow, so I tried to isolate things that may have caused issues. First the tach.... problem still there.. CDI box, problem still there...

Last night I had a friend hold the TANK in mid-air. PROBLEM CEASED.

The only thing there would be the fuel level sending unit(which DOES make the CDI BOX send CODES to the TACH....)

I previously took this out of the tank to check for continuity, every thing check out. I once again tested it last night. Things check out.

THEN, BY CHANCE, I tugged on the wire. The solder has been known to come undone or break at the contact point. IN MY CASE..... the WIRE broke 3MM INSIDE the jacket.

c5a83ae4 f0f5 4bb9 9b00 4b565055377f zps0ghvu3pw

So, by looking at t, it looked fine. Do a resistance check on it (without vibration), it would test fine! WITH vibration, it would cause the wire to separate for a split second causing the CDI box to send an error code back to the TACH!

I stripped the jacket back just far enough to re-solder it back to the contact point on the unit, and VOILA! Problem solved.

I'm SO happy to have fixed this myself. At this point I don't even care that I wasted money replacing "good" parts. I'm just glad I can ride her again.
__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 03-03-2015, 12:04 PM   #8
tiatool
Pro Racer Mode Enabled
 
tiatool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gunspoint
Feedback Rating: (14)
Posts: 8,687

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
08 Raven
05 Vstar 1100





Holy !

That's awesome you fixed it yourself. I'm going to call you next time I have a problem.

(Not really. Ill take it to Motorcycles Unlimited)
__________________
sbmsafesig
tiatool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 12:05 PM   #9
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 28,865

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 YZF600R (Street)
2009 Iron 883



Member Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by tiatool View Post
Holy !

That's awesome you fixed it yourself. I'm going to call you next time I have a problem.

(Not really. Ill take it to Motorcycles Unlimited)

Good call. Might take me a few months and parts that it didn't need
__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 12:16 PM   #10
WbDDoT
Brazoria County Bikers
 
WbDDoT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Freeport, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 476

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
2008 Yamaha YZF-R1
2008 Kawasaki Ninja 250r
1996 Yamaha YZ 125
1995 Suzuki GS600 Katana (Sold)
2005 Kawasaki ZX-6R (Sold)






Nice fix! Im having a few electrical issues Im working through on the R1 guages.
WbDDoT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 12:21 PM   #11
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 28,865

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 YZF600R (Street)
2009 Iron 883



Member Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by WbDDoT View Post
Nice fix! Im having a few electrical issues Im working through on the R1 guages.
Post a thread, maybe MH can help!
__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 12:23 PM   #12
WbDDoT
Brazoria County Bikers
 
WbDDoT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Freeport, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 476

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
2008 Yamaha YZF-R1
2008 Kawasaki Ninja 250r
1996 Yamaha YZ 125
1995 Suzuki GS600 Katana (Sold)
2005 Kawasaki ZX-6R (Sold)






Quote:
Originally Posted by Solracer View Post
Post a thread, maybe MH can help!
Thanks but I tracked it down. It was actually the plug where the harness plugs into the back of the guage cluster! Loose wires and bad connection both! I sprayed some contact cleaner and it solved the problem for now....if the wires get any looser Im just going to order a new harness.
WbDDoT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 12:32 PM   #13
pinball
I got slow
 
pinball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SE
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,676

Experience: 4 years
Trackdays: 2


Big dirt bike (sold)
2003 Honda Sabre (sold)







Dude, that's awesome! Pure luck on that find!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bun1t View Post
Shelnutt thinks mechanics should work for free
pinball is online now   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 03-03-2015, 12:32 PM   #14
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 28,865

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 YZF600R (Street)
2009 Iron 883



Member Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by pinball View Post
Dude, that's awesome! Pure luck on that find!

BRB, going to buy a lotto ticket!
__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy