Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back > News & Media > Motorcycle News & Media > Racing News
Forgot info?

Welcome to! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

FREE MH Decals by MAIL!


Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2015, 06:00 AM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 135,192

Dakar 2015 Coma takes lead in Stage Eight

Barreda loses three hours with mechanical issues

Dakar 2015 Coma takes lead in Stage Eight
Marc Coma

SPANIARD Marc Coma took the lead from Joan Barreda in yesterday's Stage Eight of the 2015 Dakar Rally across Bolivian salt flats.

HRC's Barreda had been leading since Stage Two but ended yesterday's 485-mile route in 72nd place after losing over three hours.

The Spaniard had already lost an hour-and-a-half to Coma after 234 miles and had to be towed by Jeremias Israel after suffering mechanical issues. It left Coma with an overall lead of more than nine minutes over nearest rival Paulo Gonçalves.

KTM rider Pablo Quintanilla took his maiden Dakar stage victory in the eighth day of the 2015 rally, which saw several riders retire with altitude sickness and hypothermia in freezing conditions.

Stage Eight Classification:
1. Pablo Quintanilla (KTM), 2h 56’19”
2. Juan Pedrero Garcia (Yamaha), +00’11”
3. Stefan Svitko (KTM), +00’12”
4. Toby Price (KTM), +00’41”
5. Laia Sanz Pla-Giribert (Honda), +02’36”

Provisional Standings:
1. Marc Coma (KTM), 28h 51’12”
2. Paulo Gonçalves (Honda), +09’11”
3. Pablo Quintanilla (KTM), +11’11”
4. Toby Price (KTM), +15’56”
5. Stefan Svitko (KTM), +26’30”
  • Sign up for Visordown's weekly newsletter, Bugsplat, to get the best motorcycle news, road tests and features plus exclusive competitions and offers direct to your inbox. Register as a Visordown member here and tick the box for Bugsplat in your newsletter settings here.

Related Content

Dakar: week one
Michal Hernik dies at Dakar Rally
New: KTM 450 Rally Replica
Official 2015 Dakar rally teaser video released
Cyril Despres wins 2012 Dakar Rally

NewsBot is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM. is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy