Welcome back to us :/ Our hosts data center was down for the entire day.
MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2014, 03:34 PM   #1
Jae
Kilted Basterd
 
Jae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Richmond
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 5,076

Experience: 9 years

Bike(s):
Naked Sprint
Russian POS
Angry Max/Tub
Pile o' Hyosungs

Member Garage


Triumph Diagnostic Tool

Just wondering if anyone (preferably on the SW side of town) happens to own a scanner that can pull codes on a modern Triumph. I found a device called "DealerTool" that would do everything I need, but if I can get by with just a quick code lookup I'd prefer to save the $115 for now.

My '07 Sprint has developed a of a stumble at very low throttle openings (all gears), and appears to have a CEL on.
__________________
Keeping the "F-U" in "fun"
Jae is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone in Houston have the diagnostic software for Husqvarna brandontx How To's and Q & A's 6 06-25-2012 07:31 AM
2004 Jag X-Type diagnostic help Spiderman Car Forum 15 11-18-2011 09:08 PM
Auto diagnostic tool MrT713 General Discussion (Moto Related) 23 08-30-2010 05:50 PM
how do I run a diagnostic on my 2005 R6?? myaddictionR6 General Discussion (Moto Related) 5 07-28-2008 02:24 AM
Advertisement
Old 11-13-2014, 04:10 PM   #2
urbanXJ
erect engorged member
 
urbanXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 16,523

Experience: 9 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2008 Versys









does it use regular OBD system like a car?
urbanXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 04:24 PM   #3
Neon Samurai
3090 MotoGP Champion
 
Neon Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kings Landing
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,221

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2010 Ducati Streetfighter (sold)
2012 Triumph Speed Triple R
2008 Triumph Sprint ST (Sold)
2014 BMW s1000R
2012 Aprilia Tuono (sold)






I forgot, does TUneECU do that?
__________________
ASSASSINO
Neon Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 04:48 PM   #4
PushingLuck831
Senior Member
 
PushingLuck831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 768

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2009 Kawi klx351sf (sold)
2015 wr450f
2000 Suzuki SV 650 (sold)
themagicman's garage :)
2013 street triple (unicycle)






the TuneECU to my knowledge does pull and can clear codes. I was reading up on my options when I bought my street triple.

in 2007 the bike should be on some type of OBD2 system although there is no emissions testing for bikes (here at least)
PushingLuck831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 05:13 PM   #5
Jae
Kilted Basterd
 
Jae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Richmond
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 5,076

Experience: 9 years

Bike(s):
Naked Sprint
Russian POS
Angry Max/Tub
Pile o' Hyosungs

Member Garage


that's interesting, I may throw my Actron scanner on there and just see what happens.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neon Samurai View Post
I forgot, does TUneECU do that?
Not sure, I haven't looked into that one yet. I'm tempted to pick up the one I referenced in the original post though, if only to make tb sync easier. Pretty sure I've got something going on though, as I'm getting under 30 mpg right now.
__________________
Keeping the "F-U" in "fun"
Jae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 05:56 PM   #6
PushingLuck831
Senior Member
 
PushingLuck831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 768

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2009 Kawi klx351sf (sold)
2015 wr450f
2000 Suzuki SV 650 (sold)
themagicman's garage :)
2013 street triple (unicycle)






have you taken it apart and looked at anything yet? whats it doing, specifically?
PushingLuck831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 06:17 PM   #7
Truckin_Thumper
Senior Member
 
Truckin_Thumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dallas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,054

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
El Tigre 1050
WR426 Blue Hooligan Motard ---once back together








I have the cable and TuneECU. I aint taking it to you though,

You are more than welcome to use my stuff at mi casa , just let me know.

(2005 ST)

ETA: I am in Cypress and work near Bltwy 8 and Tanner/Clay.

I could stay late for work if that is better for you
Truckin_Thumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 07:59 PM   #8
ZX-Dominance
Senior Member
 
ZX-Dominance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: BCS
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,364

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2008 FZ1 (wifey)
2007 ZX-6R (track)
2008 Speed Triple White Knight (sold)
2008 CBR1000RR "Red Rocket"
2005 SV1000S (sold)






^ this.

my 08 used tuneECU and ODB2 with a particular driver. Me no good with computers though.
ZX-Dominance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 10:25 PM   #9
Hail
Middle Aged Crazy Member
 
Hail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 3,352

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2013 Triumph Speed Triple R
2012 DR-Z 400S








Quote:
Originally Posted by Jae View Post
Just wondering if anyone (preferably on the SW side of town) happens to own a scanner that can pull codes on a modern Triumph. I found a device called "DealerTool" that would do everything I need, but if I can get by with just a quick code lookup I'd prefer to save the $115 for now.

My '07 Sprint has developed a of a stumble at very low throttle openings (all gears), and appears to have a CEL on.
Does yours have an electronic stepper motor to control idle?

Can you post a link to where you found the Dealer Tool for $115?
Hail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 08:40 AM   #10
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,368

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Tune ECU can clear codes on some models, I'm pretty sure it can on your older Sprint, but check out the website to be sure..
The software is free, just make sure to buy the data cable from an approved vendor as they've changed the driver and some of the counterfeit FTDI chips no longer will work with the system.
It can sometimes take awhile for the Triumph ECU to update, especially if you're adjusting mapping, so pull the headlight fuse and hook up a small battery charger while it's connected.

Brad,
A lot of the diagnostic tools out there are not compatible with the later model Triumph ECU's like what's in the Tiger. I've been told they're working on them, but it'll be awhile.
Is your stepper motor giving you issues again?
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 09:46 AM   #11
Neon Samurai
3090 MotoGP Champion
 
Neon Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kings Landing
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,221

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2010 Ducati Streetfighter (sold)
2012 Triumph Speed Triple R
2008 Triumph Sprint ST (Sold)
2014 BMW s1000R
2012 Aprilia Tuono (sold)






I have the TuneECU and Cable...im in Midtown
__________________
ASSASSINO
Neon Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 11:12 AM   #12
Hail
Middle Aged Crazy Member
 
Hail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 3,352

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2013 Triumph Speed Triple R
2012 DR-Z 400S








Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick View Post
Is your stepper motor giving you issues again?
No, I am good! I am still paranoid about enjoying some really dirt roads. I need to get over that because I can still get home when the problem pops up. A Tiger at the RTB rally three weeks ago had the same problem. Felt bad for him.
Hail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 11:53 AM   #13
SysKnight
Senior Member
 
SysKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 169

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
BMW S1000rr
Triumph 675r
Ninja 300







I have dealertool, its locked down to the VIN of the bike though. You have to purchase for your bike specifically.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jae View Post
Just wondering if anyone (preferably on the SW side of town) happens to own a scanner that can pull codes on a modern Triumph. I found a device called "DealerTool" that would do everything I need, but if I can get by with just a quick code lookup I'd prefer to save the $115 for now.

My '07 Sprint has developed a of a stumble at very low throttle openings (all gears), and appears to have a CEL on.
__________________
SDRCknight Safety Dedicated RC
https://www.facebook.com/groups/727135877317387/
Cypress Area Riders
SysKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 02:59 PM   #14
Jae
Kilted Basterd
 
Jae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Richmond
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 5,076

Experience: 9 years

Bike(s):
Naked Sprint
Russian POS
Angry Max/Tub
Pile o' Hyosungs

Member Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hail View Post
Does yours have an electronic stepper motor to control idle?

Can you post a link to where you found the Dealer Tool for $115?
http://dealertoolcouk.ipage.com/interest2.htm
__________________
Keeping the "F-U" in "fun"
Jae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 03:10 PM   #15
Jae
Kilted Basterd
 
Jae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Richmond
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 5,076

Experience: 9 years

Bike(s):
Naked Sprint
Russian POS
Angry Max/Tub
Pile o' Hyosungs

Member Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by PushingLuck831 View Post
have you taken it apart and looked at anything yet? whats it doing, specifically?
Haven't looked at anything just yet, it's only been back together about a week or so since I got the relay issue fixed. I need to double check the rubber boots both above and below the throttle bodies to make sure they're all seated properly and probably double check to make sure all the electrical connectors are tight, as I just replaced the harness.

As for what it's doing, it idles fine when cold, but once warmed up it sounds like it's only running on two cylinders. It doesn't like to leave from a stop unless revved up a bit, and seems to want more than 1/8 turn on the throttle before it overcomes that miss (or what feels like one). Only other thing is that it seems like it should be getting better mileage than 30mpg, as it seems like my first couple of tanks on this bike were closer to 40.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Truckin_Thumper View Post
I have the cable and TuneECU. I aint taking it to you though,

You are more than welcome to use my stuff at mi casa , just let me know.

(2005 ST)

ETA: I am in Cypress and work near Bltwy 8 and Tanner/Clay.

I could stay late for work if that is better for you
I might take you up on that if I can make it up there with the bike. I don't know if you'll be around much next week, but we're spending a few days around Thanksgiving with my in-laws in the Woodlands, and I might need an excuse to run away for a while on Friday or Saturday (if you'd be available).
__________________
Keeping the "F-U" in "fun"
Jae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy