MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2007, 10:54 PM   #1
BLK03BUSA
Member
 
BLK03BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 44


Bike(s):
2003 Blk and Silver Hayabusa









Installed Power Commander Today can I still put NOS on or not

I installed a USBIII Commander on my Hayabusa but i already had plans to put NOS on my bike now to the best of my knowledge a power commander only effects fuel not the timing but will i have to change the map ??? does anyone have any experience in this ???

i had a mitsu eclipse with a turbo and MSD and when i put nos on it i even had to reatard my timing so i dont know if this will effect anything on my bike someone please help me aaaaaaa
BLK03BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got a new tire installed today! Z7_MATT Super Motards 13 10-04-2012 08:54 AM
power commander imma_stocker Performance and Modifications 32 02-02-2012 07:24 PM
My new Power Commander V. with turbo and power shifter Gixxer Geezer Health and Fitness 24 08-11-2011 01:52 PM
Installed a NOS bottle in the Speed Triple!! Zapata General Discussion (Moto Related) 16 07-06-2009 06:32 PM
Power Commander Or Not is Good Performance and Modifications 26 09-16-2007 08:41 PM
Advertisement
Old 05-25-2007, 10:55 PM   #2
NO MORE F4I
my hand hurts
 
NO MORE F4I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: downtown h-town
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 9,755

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
bikeless now
my bmx p.o.s.








do you still ride it on the street?
__________________
It Drive On
NO MORE F4I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 10:56 PM   #3
BLK03BUSA
Member
 
BLK03BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 44


Bike(s):
2003 Blk and Silver Hayabusa









It is an almost every day use

Yes i do all the time its not WOT nos its only push button
BLK03BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 10:57 PM   #4
NO MORE F4I
my hand hurts
 
NO MORE F4I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: downtown h-town
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 9,755

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
bikeless now
my bmx p.o.s.








still, do you really need nitrous on the streets?
__________________
It Drive On
NO MORE F4I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 10:57 PM   #5
jimmy"zx6
Banned
 
jimmy"zx6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Katy, Texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,796


Bike(s):
2005 kawasaki 636,2004 zx10r









User is banned

.
jimmy"zx6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 10:57 PM   #6
NO MORE F4I
my hand hurts
 
NO MORE F4I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: downtown h-town
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 9,755

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
bikeless now
my bmx p.o.s.








i mean if you go down it could blow up
__________________
It Drive On
NO MORE F4I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 11:01 PM   #7
BLK03BUSA
Member
 
BLK03BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 44


Bike(s):
2003 Blk and Silver Hayabusa









NOS is not Flammable

Also nos is used religiously by me i have it on all my vehicles its is not Flammable Huge myth very Big Myth anyways i use nos on the track 1/4 Mile anyways I need to know about the timing can i change a map to adjust for nos does anyone here have a power commander and no how to use them

please no postwhoring about how NOS is unneccesary
BLK03BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 11:02 PM   #8
Tango1300
Banned
 
Tango1300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sugar Land, Texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 721


Bike(s):
2005'ish HayaBOOsah









User is banned

.
Tango1300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 11:07 PM   #9
BLK03BUSA
Member
 
BLK03BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 44


Bike(s):
2003 Blk and Silver Hayabusa









Sounds Good

Also what do you Know about Sending a map i sent one with the notes attached Aftermarket Air Filter and Duplex Yoshi Exhaust which is what i have
check this out that Fu!@ER is running so badass louder way better throttle response its out of this world but i am putting nos on it next week is there a map for nos since its not WOT i will only need that certain map while i am at the track which can be changed in 5 seconds with a laptop at the track my ? is do they have nos maps
BLK03BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 12:06 AM   #10
Chris24
Thread Savior
 
Chris24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,635

Experience: 8 years

Bike(s):
1979 Yamaha XS1100 Special









Send a message via AIM to Chris24 Send a message via MSN to Chris24 Send a message via Yahoo to Chris24
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLK03BUSA
i will only need that certain map while i am at the track which can be changed in 5 seconds with a laptop at the track
well since your apparantly a baller...

...you can get a LCD display from dynojet that integrates with the powercommander. the display also has a memory/flash card hookup so you can store maps on it, and change the map via the display.

yup. out of control!

lcd display
__________________
Brought to you by Carls Jr.!
Chris24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 12:54 AM   #11
Cody_Rules
this.
 
Cody_Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: S.E. side
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 3,850

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
650r nekkid




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to Cody_Rules
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLK03BUSA
Also nos is used religiously by me i have it on all my vehicles its is not Flammable Huge myth very Big Myth anyways i use nos on the track 1/4 Mile anyways I need to know about the timing can i change a map to adjust for nos does anyone here have a power commander and no how to use them

please no postwhoring about how NOS is unneccesary
wtf... have you not seen the original Fast and the furious?
Cody_Rules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 01:13 AM   #12
Tango1300
Banned
 
Tango1300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sugar Land, Texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 721


Bike(s):
2005'ish HayaBOOsah









User is banned

.
Tango1300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 01:27 AM   #13
TxBritt08R1
Saved By Grace
 
TxBritt08R1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pasadena, Texas
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,181

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2008 R1 - Sold!
2004 R6 - Sold!
2004 FZ6 - Sold!







Send a message via MSN to TxBritt08R1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cody_Rules
wtf... have you not seen the original Fast and the furious?

NOS for the win! I hooked up a cheater shot to my weed eater and cut down a tree.

Its not that nos is flammable, its an oxidizer. And its Nitrous Not "NOS" the fast and the furious has got you all screwed in the head..



sorry for the wh*ring...
__________________
For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord. Romans 6:23
Originally Posted by Sifu-TZ
...I'm glad it's such a boring sport, what would it be like if they watched something a little more interesting, like football? they'd just spontaneously combust on the spot...
TxBritt08R1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 03:19 AM   #14
josh302
Senior Member
 
josh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: fiddy house
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 1,727


Bike(s):
shotgun
rifle
4wd







Quote:
Originally Posted by BLK03BUSA
I installed a USBIII Commander on my Hayabusa but i already had plans to put NOS on my bike now to the best of my knowledge a power commander only effects fuel not the timing but will i have to change the map ??? does anyone have any experience in this ???

i had a mitsu eclipse with a turbo and MSD and when i put nos on it i even had to reatard my timing so i dont know if this will effect anything on my bike someone please help me aaaaaaa
there are many ways to do it, get a map that is tested and tru, install it and spray, the only problem is, you will have to run on that map all the time, or carry your laptop with you or usb hand held device to change the map. There are some othe much sneakier and safer and cheaper ways to spray other that a power commander. IMO, you should get your bike tuned on a dyno with the pc installed(all motor map) install an instant rich box, and tune the nitrous to it on the dyno, so you get the best of both worlds(motor hp, and spray). I know the power commander people should just install a dual map software on their product with a trigger wire to change maps instantly, but they are dumb-, concerned only with profit in mind, so I'm sure they will have an "add-on module" in the next 25 years. Until then instant rich box is the way to go. If you need info on it, let me know.
__________________
SCREW PAYPAL.COM
josh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 03:27 AM   #15
josh302
Senior Member
 
josh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: fiddy house
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 1,727


Bike(s):
shotgun
rifle
4wd







Quote:
Originally Posted by BLK03BUSA
Also what do you Know about Sending a map i sent one with the notes attached Aftermarket Air Filter and Duplex Yoshi Exhaust which is what i have
check this out that Fu!@ER is running so badass louder way better throttle response its out of this world but i am putting nos on it next week is there a map for nos since its not WOT i will only need that certain map while i am at the track which can be changed in 5 seconds with a laptop at the track my ? is do they have nos maps
if you are only going to use it at the track, take your bike to a dyno and get them to custom build you a safe nitrous map for YOUR bike, and a motor map. changing at the track is no big deal. Keep in mind all bikes are different (busa is a busa, is not true) if you use one of those "it worked on my homeys busa" map, you may have to deal with some burnt pistons or valves or both.
__________________
SCREW PAYPAL.COM
josh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 09:00 AM   #16
Tango1300
Banned
 
Tango1300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sugar Land, Texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 721


Bike(s):
2005'ish HayaBOOsah









User is banned

.
Tango1300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 12:55 PM   #17
josh302
Senior Member
 
josh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: fiddy house
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 1,727


Bike(s):
shotgun
rifle
4wd







Quote:
Originally Posted by Tango1300
Wow.... lots of miss-information here guys. Be careful. Engines are expensive.

Dynojet does make a multiple switching map controller and the best one is listed above, the LCD-100. It will allow output triggering and immediate powermap changes on the fly with the ability to read exactly how the bike's processor is reacting to the conditions of it environment on the fly.

Another advantage is fine tuning with a dyno. Unfortunately, a dyno cannot simulate ram effect while running at high speeds which with nitrous can cause a lean spot if not properly offset. Every Hayabusa is different... I retuned a stock Hayabusa a few weeks back and picked up 6rwhp just by leaning it out, no mods at all!

If you are going to use nitrous as a power adder, you must investigate all possible information avenues related and this one truly isn't it. I know several bikes that use nitrous and have tuned ONE. It was a long lengthy process of jetting, programming and re-jetting. The bike has to be in PERFECT running condition PRIOR to any testing! This means high dollar oil, lower temp thermostat, colder plugs, properly cleaned injectors and a competent tuner.

Then just add $$$!
almost true, there is a dyno, in houston, that simulates ram air, with rear wheel speed. I have tuned on it, works great, but often the tune is only as good as the tuner.
__________________
SCREW PAYPAL.COM
josh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 01:06 PM   #18
josh302
Senior Member
 
josh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: fiddy house
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 1,727


Bike(s):
shotgun
rifle
4wd







Quote:
Originally Posted by Tango1300
Wow.... lots of miss-information here guys. Be careful. Engines are expensive.

Dynojet does make a multiple switching map controller and the best one is listed above, the LCD-100. It will allow output triggering and immediate powermap changes on the fly with the ability to read exactly how the bike's processor is reacting to the conditions of it environment on the fly.

Another advantage is fine tuning with a dyno. Unfortunately, a dyno cannot simulate ram effect while running at high speeds which with nitrous can cause a lean spot if not properly offset. Every Hayabusa is different... I retuned a stock Hayabusa a few weeks back and picked up 6rwhp just by leaning it out, no mods at all!

If you are going to use nitrous as a power adder, you must investigate all possible information avenues related and this one truly isn't it. I know several bikes that use nitrous and have tuned ONE. It was a long lengthy process of jetting, programming and re-jetting. The bike has to be in PERFECT running condition PRIOR to any testing! This means high dollar oil, lower temp thermostat, colder plugs, properly cleaned injectors and a competent tuner.

Then just add $$$!
so this lc-100 has an O2 sensor? Does it also have a trigger map change function?(nitrous kicks in and it changes map instantly?) lean may pick up HP but is it safe?(a/f ratio). Waht type of bike processor are ou referring to, when you said monitoring conditions on the fly?
__________________
SCREW PAYPAL.COM
josh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 01:06 PM   #19
Paradox
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 76


Bike(s):
VT750, CRF450R (For Sale)









Who cares if it's flammable or not. Do you really want a canister of highly compressed gas bursting near you leg or in the event you put the bike down on the street?
Paradox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 01:07 PM   #20
NO MORE F4I
my hand hurts
 
NO MORE F4I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: downtown h-town
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 9,755

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
bikeless now
my bmx p.o.s.








Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradox
Who cares if it's flammable or not. Do you really want a canister of highly compressed gas bursting near you leg or in the event you put the bike down on the street?
+10000
__________________
It Drive On
NO MORE F4I is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy