Welcome back to us :/ Our hosts data center was down for the entire day.
MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Off Topic (everything else) > Off Topic
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 05-24-2007, 03:24 PM   #1
jus10
Loading...
 
jus10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,160

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
KX TooNifty









Javascript Version

Does anyone know what version of javascript works with IE 7? (if it does at all)

I haven't really researched it a whole lot, but at this point, I know that IE 7 is having problems with my drop down menus (which use Javascript) and I know that IE 7 is having javascript issues, but I'd hoped someone could elaborate for me.

annnnnnnnnnnd GO!
jus10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Caption this version 2.0 the_laydown The Circus 10 04-05-2013 11:20 AM
Fireworks...version 2 flip326 Off Topic 0 06-29-2012 09:46 AM
Veronica Version 3.0 awokenracer General Discussion (Moto Related) 13 10-31-2009 03:42 PM
javascript on IE Scatter Off Topic 8 08-10-2009 11:30 PM
Technical question about JavaScript/HTML Dementia Off Topic 33 09-23-2008 10:56 PM
Advertisement
Old 05-24-2007, 03:34 PM   #2
jus10
Loading...
 
jus10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,160

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
KX TooNifty









what the....

Teresa, maybe you should look into drinks with less/no caffiene???
jus10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 03:35 PM   #3
Mrs. ~T~
formerly known as C 1/2
 
Mrs. ~T~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 290 @ huffmeister
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 12,989


Bike(s):
2006 GSXR 600









Send a message via AIM to Mrs. ~T~
yes sir... sorry
Mrs. ~T~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 03:50 PM   #4
Moody
Holy Smokes!
 
Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 14,685


Bike(s):
281









Java sucks!
__________________

Open your eyes and reclaim the freedom you were born with. - Moody
Moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 03:55 PM   #5
jus10
Loading...
 
jus10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,160

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
KX TooNifty









Quote:
Originally Posted by Moody
Java sucks!
ummm thanks??


do you have a preferred method that works better?(particularly with IE 7)
jus10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 04:04 PM   #6
Moody
Holy Smokes!
 
Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 14,685


Bike(s):
281









Quote:
Originally Posted by jus10
ummm thanks??


do you have a preferred method that works better?(particularly with IE 7)
javascript is alright... compiled java applets disgust me. If you are having a specific issue I can research it on MSDN for you.
__________________

Open your eyes and reclaim the freedom you were born with. - Moody
Moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 04:19 PM   #7
jus10
Loading...
 
jus10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,160

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
KX TooNifty









yeah I'm just trying to figure out if there was an update released for IE 7 (regarding Java) or if there is a way around this glitch. The drop down menus are called using Javascript, but in IE 7 they stay open (not hidden)
jus10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 04:28 PM   #8
ArturoC
51% Geek, 49% SuperHero
 
ArturoC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Atascocita
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 23,248


Bike(s):
'99 GSXR600
'04 NSR 50
'09 Yamaha WR250X
'07 Triumph 675

Member Garage





Send a message via ICQ to ArturoC Send a message via AIM to ArturoC Send a message via Yahoo to ArturoC Send a message via Skype™ to ArturoC
Java and javascript are not related. hehe


I don't think it's the version of javascript that's the problem as it's pretty much just a specification.

Each browser has a javascript interpreter built in. If something is not working on certain browsers, you (or whoever wrote the script) may have to detect the browser and version and write specific code for that browser. :confused1


Having said that. May you burn in forever for using IE.
__________________
Blog | Pics | YouTube
CMRA [Prov Nov]ice #404
Sponsors: D&D - GoPro - Amsoil
ArturoC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 04:32 PM   #9
alrova
- LSTD - From 0 to Snail
 
alrova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NW-Houston
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 3,861

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
09 ZX-6R









Send a message via MSN to alrova Send a message via Yahoo to alrova
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArturoC
Java and javascript are not related. hehe


I don't think it's the version of javascript that's the problem as it's pretty much just a specification.

Each browser has a javascript interpreter built in. If something is not working on certain browsers, you (or whoever wrote the script) may have to detect the browser and version and write specific code for that browser. :confused1
+1
__________________
--Alberto--
New weapon - "Green Hornet Kato Style powered by Stoner's blood drop stolen by Melandri injected by Lascorz"
alrova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 04:33 PM   #10
Moody
Holy Smokes!
 
Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 14,685


Bike(s):
281









Quote:
Originally Posted by ArturoC
Java and javascript are not related. hehe


I don't think it's the version of javascript that's the problem as it's pretty much just a specification.

Each browser has a javascript interpreter built in. If something is not working on certain browsers, you (or whoever wrote the script) may have to detect the browser and version and write specific code for that browser. :confused1


Having said that. May you burn in forever for using IE.
Oh go back to your Firefox Linux world and never make any money.
__________________

Open your eyes and reclaim the freedom you were born with. - Moody
Moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 04:36 PM   #11
Moody
Holy Smokes!
 
Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 14,685


Bike(s):
281









Most likey you are running into security issues with IE7. I would open IE wide open security wise on your test machine and see if that lets it run properly. If so slowly harden it again till you find which rule is giving you the issue. Otherwise you may have to do some detection and debugging. Yuck!
__________________

Open your eyes and reclaim the freedom you were born with. - Moody
Moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 04:42 PM   #12
jus10
Loading...
 
jus10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,160

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
KX TooNifty









Quote:
Originally Posted by ArturoC
Java and javascript are not related. hehe


I don't think it's the version of javascript that's the problem as it's pretty much just a specification.

Each browser has a javascript interpreter built in. If something is not working on certain browsers, you (or whoever wrote the script) may have to detect the browser and version and write specific code for that browser. :confused1


Having said that. May you burn in forever for using IE.
let's clear some things up.... I may have...no wait I did refer to Javascript as java once, sheerly as an abbreviation of sorts. I am aware they different animals. Secondly, I have a client using IE 7 (most likely because that's all they know about) 'tis not I using that garbage

I digress....

Arturo, you say I need to write specifically for IE 7, but I am not sure what needs to be written differently for IE 7 than for IE 5 or 6.(hence the point of this thread) this same code works in IE 5/6, firefox (well, somewhat), and netscape. As I understand it, IE 7 received CSS updates but no Javascript updates and had been referred to by some as a "bug". Can you tell me what changes would need to be made to better suit IE 7 (if any)
jus10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 04:43 PM   #13
ArturoC
51% Geek, 49% SuperHero
 
ArturoC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Atascocita
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 23,248


Bike(s):
'99 GSXR600
'04 NSR 50
'09 Yamaha WR250X
'07 Triumph 675

Member Garage





Send a message via ICQ to ArturoC Send a message via AIM to ArturoC Send a message via Yahoo to ArturoC Send a message via Skype™ to ArturoC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moody
Oh go back to your Firefox Linux world and never make any money.

I'm actually running on OSX and Opera 9.21 at the moment
__________________
Blog | Pics | YouTube
CMRA [Prov Nov]ice #404
Sponsors: D&D - GoPro - Amsoil
ArturoC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 04:48 PM   #14
Moody
Holy Smokes!
 
Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 14,685


Bike(s):
281









Quote:
Originally Posted by ArturoC
I'm actually running on OSX and Opera 9.21 at the moment
__________________

Open your eyes and reclaim the freedom you were born with. - Moody
Moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 04:54 PM   #15
ArturoC
51% Geek, 49% SuperHero
 
ArturoC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Atascocita
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 23,248


Bike(s):
'99 GSXR600
'04 NSR 50
'09 Yamaha WR250X
'07 Triumph 675

Member Garage





Send a message via ICQ to ArturoC Send a message via AIM to ArturoC Send a message via Yahoo to ArturoC Send a message via Skype™ to ArturoC
Quote:
Originally Posted by jus10
Can you tell me what changes would need to be made to better suit IE 7 (if any)

Unfortunately I can't. I don't even have a windows box to test IE with. :laughing6

But if your stylesheet is not working with IE7, but works with the rest, then create a stylesheet that does work with IE7, then use javascript to detect the browser and then use the appropriate stylesheet.
__________________
Blog | Pics | YouTube
CMRA [Prov Nov]ice #404
Sponsors: D&D - GoPro - Amsoil
ArturoC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 04:55 PM   #16
jus10
Loading...
 
jus10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,160

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
KX TooNifty









Quote:
Originally Posted by ArturoC
I'm actually running on OSX and Safari at the moment
That's where it's at!!!
jus10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 04:56 PM   #17
ArturoC
51% Geek, 49% SuperHero
 
ArturoC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Atascocita
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 23,248


Bike(s):
'99 GSXR600
'04 NSR 50
'09 Yamaha WR250X
'07 Triumph 675

Member Garage





Send a message via ICQ to ArturoC Send a message via AIM to ArturoC Send a message via Yahoo to ArturoC Send a message via Skype™ to ArturoC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moody

OSX rawks! BSD Unix + Apple GUI = purty good. And I still have my Linux box :-p

I've been trying Opera off and on for the last couple of weeks. I like it, but the tab behaviour can be frustrating. :BangHead:
__________________
Blog | Pics | YouTube
CMRA [Prov Nov]ice #404
Sponsors: D&D - GoPro - Amsoil
ArturoC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 04:57 PM   #18
jus10
Loading...
 
jus10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,160

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
KX TooNifty









Quote:
Originally Posted by ArturoC
Unfortunately I can't. I don't even have a windows box to test IE with. :laughing6

But if your stylesheet is not working with IE7, but works with the rest, then create a stylesheet that does work with IE7, then use javascript to detect the browser and then use the appropriate stylesheet.
but what if the stylesheet works, but the Javascript doesn't [work completely]?
jus10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 04:59 PM   #19
ArturoC
51% Geek, 49% SuperHero
 
ArturoC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Atascocita
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 23,248


Bike(s):
'99 GSXR600
'04 NSR 50
'09 Yamaha WR250X
'07 Triumph 675

Member Garage





Send a message via ICQ to ArturoC Send a message via AIM to ArturoC Send a message via Yahoo to ArturoC Send a message via Skype™ to ArturoC
Quote:
Originally Posted by jus10
but what if the stylesheet works, but the Javascript doesn't [work completely]?

Just curious, what types of errors are you getting? (warning: I'm no javascript guru, I don't even like it) lol
__________________
Blog | Pics | YouTube
CMRA [Prov Nov]ice #404
Sponsors: D&D - GoPro - Amsoil
ArturoC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 05:05 PM   #20
jus10
Loading...
 
jus10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,160

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
KX TooNifty









I don't recall the error, but when I get home I'll test again. There are a few drop down menus that when not on a rollover state are what we'll call "hidden". On rollover, they drop down and menus are visible. Well IE 7 has taken the liberty of just dropping them down and they stay down regardless of mouseOver. All other functions of the site are fine.
jus10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy