MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > Performance and Modifications
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2014, 05:52 AM   #1
Nuh_Uh
Noooooob! :)
 
Nuh_Uh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 172

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
Honda CBR600RR Repsol (Stolen)
Honda CBR250R(sold)





Unhappy Electrical wiring help please!

..

Last edited by Nuh_Uh; 04-08-2014 at 05:56 AM. Reason: Attachments
Nuh_Uh is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring help corey_v General Discussion (Moto Related) 27 04-10-2015 03:26 AM
Wiring help please gsxr_firerider Off Topic 16 03-15-2014 05:17 PM
Electrical help? CraigRR How To's and Q & A's 12 08-25-2013 09:00 PM
wiring ivtecnician How To's and Q & A's 3 09-17-2006 01:00 PM
Advertisement
Old 04-08-2014, 05:53 AM   #2
BYRDMAN
WX MAN
 
BYRDMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 9,311

Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2015 KTM Adventure 1190
2007 KTM 300 XC smoker
2007 KTM 300 XC smoker


Member Garage





are the new signals LEDs?
__________________
If you can read this, thank a teacher, because its in English, thank a soldier"

AMERICAN MADE WITH MEXICAN PARTS
BYRDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 06:00 AM   #3
Nuh_Uh
Noooooob! :)
 
Nuh_Uh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 172

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
Honda CBR600RR Repsol (Stolen)
Honda CBR250R(sold)





Yes. They are by speed metal.
Nuh_Uh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 06:53 AM   #4
BYRDMAN
WX MAN
 
BYRDMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 9,311

Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2015 KTM Adventure 1190
2007 KTM 300 XC smoker
2007 KTM 300 XC smoker


Member Garage





At a minimum you are gonna have to have some load resistors in line with the LEDs. Since u have running accent lights I don't think those signals will work any way.
__________________
If you can read this, thank a teacher, because its in English, thank a soldier"

AMERICAN MADE WITH MEXICAN PARTS
BYRDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 04-08-2014, 07:48 AM   #5
Nuh_Uh
Noooooob! :)
 
Nuh_Uh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 172

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
Honda CBR600RR Repsol (Stolen)
Honda CBR250R(sold)





Well I stripped off the wires from the stock lights and are connecting them to the new LED lights. Wouldn't the stock wires have those on them already?
Nuh_Uh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 07:49 AM   #6
bdmpastx
The Cripple
 
bdmpastx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,763

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2009 Nissan GTR - sold
2015 Nissan GTR





Best bet is to wire a relay into the circuit. It will provide the load needed. Wire the hot wire to the coil and Common (C) contact on the relay and the negative to the coil and Normally Open (NO) contact.
__________________
My wheelchair doesn't have chicken strips
sigpic
bdmpastx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 07:51 AM   #7
bumblebee
Yeah I'm flippin' YOU off
 
bumblebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 12,261


Bike(s):
'74 Suzuki GT380
'82 XS650 StreetTracker
'10 Ducati Streetfighter
'83 Yamaha Seca 900






You might want to contact the mfr. There are questions that need to be answered.
Do the signals have built in resistors?
If not what resistors need to be in the circuit?
Have you screwed them up somehow? J/K
__________________
Asphalt is for racing... dirt is for growing potatoes. - J. Diester
When seconds count... the police are only minutes away.
Grow up and be a productive member of society already.
Bevo- "I lack skillz"
bumblebee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 09:58 AM   #8
dinosaur
Retired in place
 
dinosaur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 2,312

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'05 Zx6-R (636)Sold









LEDs are also polarity sensitive, meaning they only work one way, diode stops current flow
__________________
CMRA #414
dinosaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 12:06 PM   #9
Nuh_Uh
Noooooob! :)
 
Nuh_Uh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 172

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
Honda CBR600RR Repsol (Stolen)
Honda CBR250R(sold)





So I cannot just strip the wires from the stock lights and the new lights... then use a connectors will not work???

Ugh! I just want to ride my bike!!! My BF will not be back until late Thursday but I'm getting impatient!
Nuh_Uh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 12:07 PM   #10
seanster
Senior Member
 
seanster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 239

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
'00 Ducati Monster 750
'01 Ducati 900SSie
In progress: Aircool SBK Streetfighter







What do you mean by "They are on but when I turn them to signal, the lights turn off"?

I think you may need some resistor...is the OEM turn lights are LED? if they are likely the factory relay can handle LEDs.

Options I've known when installing LED turn signals:
1. you can google on how people over the LED issue by installing new relay for the turn signals.

2. Spend $5 at the Shack on some resistor and make your own LED load resistors, you need one per Side of the bike.

I'm at work but i'll post more when I have time.
__________________
seanster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 12:13 PM   #11
iDazzle
dizzle dazzle
 
iDazzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SW. Alief, Westchase
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,110

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
2010 Trek Something
07 Ninja 250 (sold)
07 Kawasaki zzr600
2011 Kawasaki zx6r






Wow kathy. Im impressed. Ur officially the boy in the family. Hehe.
I dont understand a single thing u wrote on this thread. And i even once admired Lynda for being able to hook up the tv at yalls old house.
__________________
Everyone crashes. Some get back on. Some don't. Some can't. ~Author Unknown
iDazzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 12:15 PM   #12
iDazzle
dizzle dazzle
 
iDazzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SW. Alief, Westchase
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,110

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
2010 Trek Something
07 Ninja 250 (sold)
07 Kawasaki zzr600
2011 Kawasaki zx6r






If it makes u feel any better, its pretty windy. Getting knocked around. I had to readjust a lot.
__________________
Everyone crashes. Some get back on. Some don't. Some can't. ~Author Unknown
iDazzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 12:16 PM   #13
Nuh_Uh
Noooooob! :)
 
Nuh_Uh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 172

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
Honda CBR600RR Repsol (Stolen)
Honda CBR250R(sold)





Quote:
Originally Posted by seanster View Post
What do you mean by "They are on but when I turn them to signal, the lights turn off"?

I think you may need some resistor...is the OEM turn lights are LED? if they are likely the factory relay can handle LEDs.

Options I've known when installing LED turn signals:
1. you can google on how people over the LED issue by installing new relay for the turn signals.

2. Spend $5 at the Shack on some resistor and make your own LED load resistors, you need one per Side of the bike.

I'm at work but i'll post more when I have time.
The front lights are always on, but when i select to signal left... the left signal light turns off.

The brake lights are LEDs not the turn signals. Rear signals are 12V-21W... at least that is what the owners manual says.
Nuh_Uh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 12:19 PM   #14
650ninja
speed is lovely
 
650ninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: middle earth
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 716

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 4

Bike(s):
06 650r sold :(
02 daytona 955i is fat sold
06' Triumph Daytona 675 sold D:
2003 sv650 distroyer of fingers sold
2004 gsxr 600






Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuh_Uh View Post
So I cannot just strip the wires from the stock lights and the new lights... then use a connectors will not work???

Ugh! I just want to ride my bike!!! My BF will not be back until late Thursday but I'm getting impatient!
just ride with hand signals its fun
__________________
Drei zylinder ist nummer ein!!!
650ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 12:20 PM   #15
Nuh_Uh
Noooooob! :)
 
Nuh_Uh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 172

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
Honda CBR600RR Repsol (Stolen)
Honda CBR250R(sold)





Quote:
Originally Posted by iDazzle View Post
Wow kathy. Im impressed. Ur officially the boy in the family. Hehe.
I dont understand a single thing u wrote on this thread. And i even once admired Lynda for being able to hook up the tv at yalls old house.
Lol. Thanks. I'm usually good at tech stuff, but electric stuff is not my thing. I took a class in high school for this, but I was sleeping the whole time... . Should've stayed awake.
Nuh_Uh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 12:23 PM   #16
Nuh_Uh
Noooooob! :)
 
Nuh_Uh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 172

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
Honda CBR600RR Repsol (Stolen)
Honda CBR250R(sold)





Quote:
Originally Posted by 650ninja View Post
just ride with hand signals its fun
Ok... whats the hand signal for the horn? lol... cause mine isn't working too...
Nuh_Uh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 12:32 PM   #17
iDazzle
dizzle dazzle
 
iDazzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SW. Alief, Westchase
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,110

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
2010 Trek Something
07 Ninja 250 (sold)
07 Kawasaki zzr600
2011 Kawasaki zx6r






Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuh_Uh View Post
Ok... whats the hand signal for the horn? lol... cause mine isn't working too...
LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!-
I suppose itll be something like... fist to firecracker, fist to firecracker.
O wait, i think ive done that to show "ur blinkers are on".
Nevermind.
If i still had my ex bf, he would be able to help u. He was good at everything.


Im all taking sewing and home ec (cooking) and ur in electrical boyz only class. Thats cute.
__________________
Everyone crashes. Some get back on. Some don't. Some can't. ~Author Unknown
iDazzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 12:39 PM   #18
seanster
Senior Member
 
seanster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 239

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
'00 Ducati Monster 750
'01 Ducati 900SSie
In progress: Aircool SBK Streetfighter







yeah you need some resistors. First figure out which hole of the OEM plug is ground and positive. This help cus you will be figuring out which side of the plug you need to connect the resistor to.

You are just changing the rear to LED correct?

here is what I did:

Get two of these from the Shack (link)
Get some of these too while you at it maybe around 8-10 (link)

Connect/solder one end of the resistor to black (ground) and other end to red (positive). then plug that in between your oem harness and the actual light. See pdf attached circled. Build two of these and you're good to go.

sorry if i'm not explaining well...English is not my first language.
__________________
seanster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 12:46 PM   #19
SysKnight
Senior Member
 
SysKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 169

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
BMW S1000rr
Triumph 675r
Ninja 300







Questions?

a. Have you figured out which terminal is which? Left Signal, Horn, Right Signal, etc..
b. Do you have a multimeter?

Try to get to the stage of fast blinking your signal's. Once that happens, you know you can use a load resistor to fix the rest. But the first thing to do is identify each wire and figure out its purpose. This way you can distinguish where your core issue is.
SysKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 01:02 PM   #20
Nuh_Uh
Noooooob! :)
 
Nuh_Uh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 172

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
Honda CBR600RR Repsol (Stolen)
Honda CBR250R(sold)





I'm about to give this up... lol




Will this work on my bike? :P
Nuh_Uh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy