MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 10-12-2013, 01:55 PM   #1
Absalom
Senior Member
 
Absalom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 405

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
07' Gsxr600
07' Zx6r (sold)








Im stuck.. 07 gsxr 600

About a week ago I was riding and my lights and gauge cluster started going dim. Had to push start it to try and get it home but it eventually died again and wouldnt start at all. When I turned the key I could hear the pump trying to prime just would not start. Eventually got it home and put a new battery in it. Started right up- then the exact same thing happened again. So I pulled the stator which was bad and replaced it, also replaced the rectifier with it. Now when I go to turn the bike on the only thing that comes on is my cluster, nothing primes at all. I just get my lights and cluster. All my fuses look fine and everything is connected. Anyone have any ideas where to go from here?
Absalom is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
07 GSXR 600 DShaw1914 General Discussion (Moto Related) 19 12-07-2012 07:58 AM
'06 GSXR 1000 Rear Seat on '07 GSXR 600? Triple T General Discussion (Moto Related) 2 12-18-2011 03:07 PM
Help with an 07 GSXR 600 sacer625 How To's and Q & A's 8 10-01-2009 05:05 PM
im stuck pester General Discussion (Moto Related) 5 09-20-2009 01:38 PM
07 gsxr 600 yoshi fastcoonass Performance and Modifications 19 12-03-2007 10:19 AM
Advertisement
Old 10-12-2013, 02:20 PM   #2
messiah
Senior Member
 
messiah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: pasadena
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 904

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
02 954rr









Chel your wiring or the main fuse 30 amp.
messiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 03:26 PM   #3
Absalom
Senior Member
 
Absalom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 405

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
07' Gsxr600
07' Zx6r (sold)








The main fuse looks fine, so does all the wiring in the bike.. I just dont think much could of happened to the wiring its pretty simple stuff
Absalom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 03:28 PM   #4
Japawhat02
02 Tona
 
Japawhat02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: P-land
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 6,941

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
2002 Daytona









yeah double check all connections, and use contact cleaner and di electric grease
__________________
2002 Brittish Rocket
Japawhat02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 03:28 PM   #5
Japawhat02
02 Tona
 
Japawhat02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: P-land
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 6,941

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
2002 Daytona









maybe a ground came loose when you were moving the harness around?
__________________
2002 Brittish Rocket
Japawhat02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 03:31 PM   #6
Absalom
Senior Member
 
Absalom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 405

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
07' Gsxr600
07' Zx6r (sold)








Quote:
Originally Posted by Japawhat02 View Post
maybe a ground came loose when you were moving the harness around?
Could you explain this for me?
Absalom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 03:38 PM   #7
Japawhat02
02 Tona
 
Japawhat02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: P-land
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 6,941

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
2002 Daytona









There are ground wires that are grounded to the frame in several places. One could have shaken loose will you were unplugging and plugging everything. Sounds to me like a bad connection, but maybe a faulty stator or r/r.
__________________
2002 Brittish Rocket
Japawhat02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 03:50 PM   #8
Miloman
Senior Member
 
Miloman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 475


Bike(s):
Honda 50
Bugatti veyron ss (sold)
Dodge Tomahawk (sold)
Ducati desmosedici RR (sold)
MTT turbine bike (sold)






Did u buy a used craig list-ebay rec / reg?
Miloman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 04:09 PM   #9
myla296
Senior Member
 
myla296's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,162












It might have eaten a 750 for breakfast. Just kidding...

Have you checked the voltage and amps on the battery? They can charge to the correct voltage sometimes but not provide the amperage (but, then I think you would hear clicking noise and you sound like you can identify a bad battery since you deduced the stator.

Go around with the multimeter and check the voltage at certain points (before stator, after stator, before rectifier, after rectifier). It sounds electrical either way.
myla296 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy