MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2013, 05:33 PM   #1
luckyxdevil1
Senior Member
 
luckyxdevil1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,764

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
GSXR-750 '02
69' Yamaha 650 back in the day








Send a message via Yahoo to luckyxdevil1
What can this be. Please help.

Well how goes it my mh friends? Posted this question a little over a month ago and got some good feed back and even Hop offered to look at it. and Pat at Motorcycles Unlimited offered some thoughts on the problem. Been going through some family changes and cash got tight. So I really haven't been able to bring my bike to a shop like I'd like to find out the problem.

Haven't been riding in a little over a month and want to figure this out and hope maybe some of you can offer advice.

The first pic is a to view of my battery. To the front on the left is the tip sensor.
To the right is this plug like thing. It has 4 wires going into it connected to 4 female spades and the box had 4 male spades.

Now what my bike is doing. That box on the right not sure what it is our does but sometimes I could shake it or position it a certain way and my bike Will crank but when I give it gas it dies like something vibrates loose. Sometimes I can rev it for a few secs. The next pictures are different angles.

Any help is appreciated.

Keith

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1379110638401.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	57.8 KB
ID:	72456   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1379111272403.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	80.0 KB
ID:	72457   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1379111427074.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	58.2 KB
ID:	72458  

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1379111487931.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	53.7 KB
ID:	72459  
__________________
luckyxdevil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 09-13-2013, 07:21 PM   #2
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,368

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Looks like the fuel cut off relay.
P/n 38740-24X50
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 07:31 PM   #3
luckyxdevil1
Senior Member
 
luckyxdevil1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,764

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
GSXR-750 '02
69' Yamaha 650 back in the day








Send a message via Yahoo to luckyxdevil1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick View Post
Looks like the fuel cut off relay.
P/n 38740-24X50
How much for one?
And could this make my fuel injection pump foul out?
Like sometimes I don't hear it cycle. But if I shake the box it will cycle and start briefly then shut off.
__________________
luckyxdevil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 07:39 PM   #4
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,368

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






I may have a good used one.
Pull it off and I can check.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 07:59 PM   #5
luckyxdevil1
Senior Member
 
luckyxdevil1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,764

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
GSXR-750 '02
69' Yamaha 650 back in the day








Send a message via Yahoo to luckyxdevil1
Will do. I hope that's all it is. That will be good.

Thx Patrick
__________________
luckyxdevil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 08:37 PM   #6
Mace
Wisdom
 
Mace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Belton
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 232

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Honda ST1300 Iron # 44260
honda silverwing. drag scooter
Honda DNO1 700, wife's bike
07 SV650 Track
12 R6 (Son's track bike






The size of the wire to the relay indicates current, so it is running a load. man that is a up looking connection. If you put in a new relay clean those male prongs good. Good Luck.
Mace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 08:57 PM   #7
luckyxdevil1
Senior Member
 
luckyxdevil1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,764

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
GSXR-750 '02
69' Yamaha 650 back in the day








Send a message via Yahoo to luckyxdevil1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mace View Post
The size of the wire to the relay indicates current, so it is running a load. man that is a up looking connection. If you put in a new relay clean those male prongs good. Good Luck.
Thx.
__________________
luckyxdevil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 10:38 PM   #8
buddha429
Reformed Track Addict
 
buddha429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 2,884

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
at the junkyard









yea, definitely clean all that corrosion off of the plug before putting the new relay on. if patrick can't get you fixed up, we should have a used one at the shop also.
buddha429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 11:27 PM   #9
luckyxdevil1
Senior Member
 
luckyxdevil1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,764

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
GSXR-750 '02
69' Yamaha 650 back in the day








Send a message via Yahoo to luckyxdevil1
Thx. As well
__________________
luckyxdevil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 07:37 PM   #10
luckyxdevil1
Senior Member
 
luckyxdevil1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,764

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
GSXR-750 '02
69' Yamaha 650 back in the day








Send a message via Yahoo to luckyxdevil1
Just wanted to say thanks to Patrick over at Motorcycle's Unlimited for just giving me a past just to figure out a problem. Thanks man your always a great help.
Keith
__________________
luckyxdevil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy