MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 06-14-2013, 11:06 AM   #1
myla296
Senior Member
 
myla296's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,159












how to get mileage reading off of removed odometer?

I have the gauge cluster of a 2005 Katana that I was not able to get the mileage off of (battery was dead). I'm now in the process of selling parts off of this bike and am realizing how helpful it would be to know the mileage. Stubbs on 59 said it would take a Katana sitting around for them to plug into, and Houston Motorcycle Exchange said it seemed like something a deal could do, which then brought me full circle.

So, anybody else know of a way...or are interested in it? Selling for $100 to you guys, more if on eBay.
myla296 is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to tell mileage other than Odometer? Snow How To's and Q & A's 8 12-17-2009 09:12 PM
Odometer issue kswiss2301 General Discussion (Moto Related) 11 07-21-2009 12:31 PM
ford digital odometer intermittent display problem dlamr1 Off Topic 4 04-29-2009 11:58 AM
01 F4I Constant Odometer-Fuse Burn Out Htownz How To's and Q & A's 8 05-08-2008 12:09 PM
Can't stop reading.... Yokee Off Topic 45 08-31-2005 11:15 AM
Advertisement
Old 06-14-2013, 11:12 AM   #2
BYRDMAN
WX MAN
 
BYRDMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 9,316

Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2015 KTM Adventure 1190
2007 KTM 300 XC smoker
2007 KTM 300 XC smoker


Member Garage





Wiring diagram and a battery.....
__________________
If you can read this, thank a teacher, because its in English, thank a soldier"

AMERICAN MADE WITH MEXICAN PARTS
BYRDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 11:16 AM   #3
myla296
Senior Member
 
myla296's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,159












Quote:
Originally Posted by BYRDMAN View Post
Wiring diagram and a battery.....
I was thinking that but without the keyed ignition in place, I need to bypass that function. But I did figure that I have the plug and wires that go into the gauges panel, so I just need to use a charged battery.
myla296 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 11:18 AM   #4
Squoddybody
This is me.
 
Squoddybody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hillbilly
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 22,185

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
Custom 2003 SV650






I haven't had a working odometer since my bike hit about 32k miles. I just use a best guess that my bike now has between 65-70k miles based on how much I ride. Just give an honest guess; it should be enough.
__________________
THIS is me on my motorcycle. Any Questions?

follow me on IG - squoddybody
Squoddybody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 11:26 AM   #5
BYRDMAN
WX MAN
 
BYRDMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 9,316

Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2015 KTM Adventure 1190
2007 KTM 300 XC smoker
2007 KTM 300 XC smoker


Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by myla296 View Post
I was thinking that but without the keyed ignition in place, I need to bypass that function. But I did figure that I have the plug and wires that go into the gauges panel, so I just need to use a charged battery.
Well the ignition is the power source that turns on the gauges...u need to figure out what pins it is...if u have a plug that would def be easier...
__________________
If you can read this, thank a teacher, because its in English, thank a soldier"

AMERICAN MADE WITH MEXICAN PARTS
BYRDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 11:33 AM   #6
myla296
Senior Member
 
myla296's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,159












Quote:
Originally Posted by BYRDMAN View Post
Well the ignition is the power source that turns on the gauges...u need to figure out what pins it is...if u have a plug that would def be easier...
I do have all of the connections, thanks!
myla296 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy