MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 05-29-2013, 11:41 PM   #1
eklikewhoa
Senior Member
 
eklikewhoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Spring/Humble
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 452

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
zx10r









Phone/GPS mounts?

wondering if anyone else has these mounts or has mounted their phone to their bike.

Would kill a few birds with one stone type deal since you could use the gps and what not.


http://www.rammount.com/Products/Cel...Default.aspx#/


wanted to hear some reviews, don'ts and all the above.
eklikewhoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is GPS signal independent of phone signal? Helios Off Topic 35 04-27-2013 08:46 AM
Cell phone mounts! Fil General Discussion (Moto Related) 20 09-23-2011 09:19 AM
Bike GPS mounts Perf_White_GT General Discussion (Moto Related) 3 11-21-2010 12:03 PM
Gps Mounts Allan-750 Events, Meets and Rides 4 04-14-2009 07:37 PM
MOBIL PHONE GPS TRACKING FastLine Off Topic 4 03-16-2007 01:46 PM
Advertisement
Old 05-30-2013, 12:32 AM   #2
IrvGotti421
IrvGotti"MadMan"Maserati
 
IrvGotti421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SW Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 253

Experience: 4-8 months

Bike(s):
Yamaha FZ6R total'd
2008 CBR 600rr Current bike
or
2016 CBR 600rr (lol)






i have a few buddies that have it any the live by them.. im looking into getting one down the road... you must remember that they sell the mounts specifically for the type of device u have so unless ur phone and gps are the same size your gunna have to get two different mounts
__________________

Burn rubber, not your soul
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Quema goma, no tu alma
IrvGotti421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 03:10 AM   #3
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 28,891

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 YZF600R (Street)
2009 Iron 883



Member Garage


I use the cheap 6 dollar ones one ebay. Love em.
__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 05:10 AM   #4
Squid Killer
Senior Member
 
Squid Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: League City
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 267

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
FZ1, Ducati Monster, R6, Gold Wing, Seca 2, TTR230, EX 250 and Metropolitan









I have been using RAM mounts for over a decade. I have the base mount on most of my 8 bikes at home and use them for touring and daily riding. I used to buy them from Aeorostich but now you can find most of the entire line of parts in stock at Bass Pro Shops.

I do work for different TV shows and did some stuff for the Travel Chanel years ago where they used RAM mounts to attach video cameras all over my FZ1 to get riding footage from every angle. They let me keep some of the mounts too.

I have at least one of every part they make. Great stuff.
__________________
Riding Instructor


Squid Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 06:08 AM   #5
Truckin_Thumper
Senior Member
 
Truckin_Thumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dallas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,054

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
El Tigre 1050
WR426 Blue Hooligan Motard ---once back together








Ram Mount for the win.

I have mounts on the FZ1 for my GPS/iPod/camera.

great products!

Also, look into Touratech if you want something a bit nicer. BUT, they are specific on what mounts they make. Apple, Garmin and a couple of others is all they do.
Truckin_Thumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 12:39 PM   #6
Volfy
Fava Beans & a Chianti
 
Volfy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SW Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,504

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
'15 300RR
'15 250XCF-W
'14 Trophy SE
'10 VFR1200F
'05 GSXR600 (track)

Member Garage





RAM mounts are the .

Was thinking about getting a motorcycle GPS. I really don't need waterproof, since car-based ones I have have so far worked just fine for me. Only problem is they are not really sunlight readable. Found out my tablet is actually bright enough to see in direct sunlight, and it is a lot more versatile than a dedicated GPS device. You can do the same with smartphones, especially the big slabs.

attachmentphp?attachmentid68871&ampd1369935238

attachmentphp?attachmentid68872&ampd1369935238
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	VFR01.jpg
Views:	195
Size:	97.2 KB
ID:	68871   Click image for larger version

Name:	VFR02.jpg
Views:	195
Size:	50.8 KB
ID:	68872  
Volfy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 08:18 PM   #7
BLiP
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Spring/Woodlands
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 538

Experience: 9 years











I had ordered a ram mount for my FZ6 then it spun a bearing I made the mount work on my 2013 ZX6R I like it offset verses the center mount ram specified for the ZX6R holds my phone great does not vibrate its the only mount I would buy!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20130530_201223.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	97.1 KB
ID:	68893  
BLiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 09:34 PM   #8
eklikewhoa
Senior Member
 
eklikewhoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Spring/Humble
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 452

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
zx10r









Quote:
Originally Posted by BLiP View Post
I had ordered a ram mount for my FZ6 then it spun a bearing I made the mount work on my 2013 ZX6R I like it offset verses the center mount ram specified for the ZX6R holds my phone great does not vibrate its the only mount I would buy!
Is that the tube mount?

I have a generic handlebar mount from an old gps and looking on my zx10 there's not a single spot open for it.
eklikewhoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 09:36 PM   #9
r6racer
track
 
r6racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,582

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2008 Yamaha R6 Race/track
2012 Yamaha WGP R6
2004 Kawasaki KLx250 2-stroke
2008 Yamaha R6 Street *Sold*
2005 Yamaha R6 Track *Sold*

Member Garage





holy mother of is that one of those samsung ipads on his bike
__________________
r6racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 10:10 PM   #10
BLiP
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Spring/Woodlands
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 538

Experience: 9 years











Quote:
Originally Posted by eklikewhoa View Post
Is that the tube mount?

I have a generic handlebar mount from an old gps and looking on my zx10 there's not a single spot open for it.
Yep it took me a few minutes to figure it out how I was gonna mount it! We could meet up sometime and take a look and see if we could make it work on yours I can get some more pics if you like! I basicly wedged it between the clipons and the triple and tightened it down its not going anywheres!!!! I can still access my key and stuff.
BLiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 10:50 PM   #11
eklikewhoa
Senior Member
 
eklikewhoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Spring/Humble
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 452

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
zx10r









Quote:
Originally Posted by BLiP View Post
Yep it took me a few minutes to figure it out how I was gonna mount it! We could meet up sometime and take a look and see if we could make it work on yours I can get some more pics if you like! I basicly wedged it between the clipons and the triple and tightened it down its not going anywheres!!!! I can still access my key and stuff.
Hmm... I just looked everywhere and still don't see how you found a spot so I will probably take you up on the offer to see this in person.

Also have a problem with my Ohlins steering dampener being in the way of the stem mount if I wanted to go that route too.
eklikewhoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 11:13 PM   #12
BLiP
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Spring/Woodlands
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 538

Experience: 9 years











Quote:
Originally Posted by eklikewhoa View Post
Hmm... I just looked everywhere and still don't see how you found a spot so I will probably take you up on the offer to see this in person.

Also have a problem with my Ohlins steering dampener being in the way of the stem mount if I wanted to go that route too.
Just pm me I can take a look im sure I can figure out something.
BLiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 11:45 PM   #13
ecclissiass
Senior Member
 
ecclissiass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 503

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2009 Yamaha YZF-R1 (stolen)
2005 Honda CBR600RR (traded)
1993 Honda CBR900RR (wrecked)
2012 Kawasaki ZX-14R
Ducati Diavel (dream bike #2)

Member Garage





I've used both Ram mounts and Techmounts. Both are of excellent build quality. in fact. am using the Techmount stem with the Ram mount cradle on my zx14. I love it!
__________________
Hitting more corners than drunk drivers with more lean than DJ Screw (RIP).
ecclissiass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 10:39 AM   #14
D-Man
Senior Member
 
D-Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Galveston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 238

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 8

Bike(s):
2012 Multistrada 1200S
2012 Vespa GTS 300
2004 Husky 450 smr (track)







I use a finger grip RAM mount like this one for my iPhone. It could also be adjusted (with a screwdriver) to fit just about anything you need to mount. Had it a couple of months now and it's worked great so far. When I need GPS, I use Google Maps on my phone, try to program it ahead of time, and follow it through headphones. That's just one way to do things, though.

http://www.rammount.com/NewProducts/...nt/tabid/1872/
D-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 01:11 PM   #15
BLiP
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Spring/Woodlands
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 538

Experience: 9 years











Here more pics of how I rednecked my mount on my bike
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20130531_124351.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	105.2 KB
ID:	68912   Click image for larger version

Name:	20130531_124332.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	101.1 KB
ID:	68913   Click image for larger version

Name:	20130531_124318.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	113.8 KB
ID:	68914  

BLiP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy