MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > Cruisers Lounge
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 04-21-2013, 09:45 PM   #1
Jefe
Senior Member
 
Jefe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 1,422

Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
'12 Haro Flightline 29er
'09 R6 (sold)
'07 V-Star 1100 Custom (sold)
'01 F4i (sold)






Changing bars on a HD fatbob

Has anyone changed their bars on their HD? Is it an easy mod one can do, or should it go to a shop. My buddy has some apes he wants to install on his fatbob. Does he need new/longer cables?

New bars measurements:

Rise: 12-1/2"
Pull Back: 9"
Width Tip To Tip: 35-1/4"
Handlebar Diameter: 1-1/4"
Grip Diameter(mounting clamp area): 1"
Center Width: 5-1/4"


Input appreciated. Thanks.
__________________
YourTexasRealtor
Jefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thar Engineering Multi-Position Bars (Beta-Testing Prototype Bars) FlipSideUp General Discussion (Moto Related) 20 09-17-2009 02:18 PM
BBR bars or 50stunt bars? STREETBIKEMIKE Dirtbikes, Mini's, ATV's..... 7 04-11-2009 12:48 PM
Changing brakes??? Spanish Fly How To's and Q & A's 11 04-11-2007 04:16 PM
Changing the oil. WickedKitten General Discussion (Moto Related) 28 08-15-2006 04:10 AM
will anyone be changing CarbonJames General Discussion (Moto Related) 17 05-04-2005 01:58 PM
Advertisement
Old 04-21-2013, 11:04 PM   #2
LCLF Brain
Mamaaaa! Yeah, mama!
 
LCLF Brain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Santa Fe, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,055

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2014 stage 4 Street Glide
2011 Heritage Softail (sold)








Not hard, but he WILL want to go and buy a service manual for his model bike. It will give him all the proper torque settings, things like that. Also he probably should hit Youtube and review videos on changing cables.

And yes, he will need new cables. The original bars on a Fatbob are slammer bars. You can get away with risers to probably 3", but anything beyond that and it won't stretch.
__________________
Peace through superior firepower... or something...

7ef578b4e668724485ba633629c5f960
LCLF Brain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 11:24 PM   #3
Jefe
Senior Member
 
Jefe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 1,422

Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
'12 Haro Flightline 29er
'09 R6 (sold)
'07 V-Star 1100 Custom (sold)
'01 F4i (sold)






Thanks for the info.
__________________
YourTexasRealtor
Jefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 09:14 AM   #4
LCLF Brain
Mamaaaa! Yeah, mama!
 
LCLF Brain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Santa Fe, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,055

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2014 stage 4 Street Glide
2011 Heritage Softail (sold)








Sure thing. Have him check out Burly cable kits on a site like JP Cycles, for the best fitment/instructions/price.
__________________
Peace through superior firepower... or something...

7ef578b4e668724485ba633629c5f960
LCLF Brain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 03:35 PM   #5
Joecango
Yes, its fast!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Friendswood
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 177

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
'02 GSXR 1k
'97 HD Lowrider








If you go with internal wiring then there is a little more to it but external is pretty easy. You can sometimes find a wiring harness extension and not have to re wire the controls so thats something to look into.
__________________
Arguing on the Internet is like the Special Olympics. Even if you win you're still retarded!
Joecango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 05:07 PM   #6
Jefe
Senior Member
 
Jefe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 1,422

Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
'12 Haro Flightline 29er
'09 R6 (sold)
'07 V-Star 1100 Custom (sold)
'01 F4i (sold)






Quote:
Originally Posted by Joecango View Post
If you go with internal wiring then there is a little more to it but external is pretty easy. You can sometimes find a wiring harness extension and not have to re wire the controls so thats something to look into.
I'll suggest that. Thanks.
__________________
YourTexasRealtor
Jefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy