MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2007, 11:17 PM   #1
pimp2303
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Near Pearland
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 849

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
78 Yamaha yz400, 07 Honda cr-f230,




Member Garage





can you use any throttle body on any bike

can you use any throttle body on any bike... like the part where the throttle cable hook into... or is has to be the one for that bike... cause mines broke and i think they discontinued the part for my bike. please let me know
pimp2303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cleaning throttle body green600 Car Forum 12 04-14-2015 02:13 PM
Throttle body sync adapters jp129 General Discussion (Moto Related) 3 07-13-2014 04:44 PM
custom made throttle body butterfly sullivan Performance and Modifications 5 09-24-2012 03:29 PM
How much should I expect to pay for a throttle body syncing? jmccalip General Discussion (Moto Related) 13 05-14-2012 10:51 AM
2002 gsxr 750 throttle body on a 600?? snoopy281 How To's and Q & A's 0 03-11-2011 03:40 PM
Advertisement
Old 03-01-2007, 08:53 AM   #2
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






What bike do you have?
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 10:43 AM   #3
pimp2303
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Near Pearland
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 849

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
78 Yamaha yz400, 07 Honda cr-f230,




Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick
What bike do you have?

a yz400 dirt bike... 1978 model
pimp2303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 02:24 PM   #4
josh302
Senior Member
 
josh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: fiddy house
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 1,727


Bike(s):
shotgun
rifle
4wd







I think you might be confused. Are you speakin of a carb, not a throttle body? Howd it break?
__________________
SCREW PAYPAL.COM
josh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 03:26 PM   #5
pimp2303
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Near Pearland
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 849

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
78 Yamaha yz400, 07 Honda cr-f230,




Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by josh302
I think you might be confused. Are you speakin of a carb, not a throttle body? Howd it break?

http://www.pashnit.com/pics/products...ottle1-475.jpg

this peice on my dirtbike broke it like that but that is one off of an street bike. it might not be called a throttle body, that was just what i saw it as... sorry if i confused you
pimp2303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 04:24 PM   #6
Metzzen1
Crazy Member
 
Metzzen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: pearland/friendswood
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 564

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
srad gix 6









Send a message via AIM to Metzzen1
do you mean the actual throttle? on the handlebar? in which case as long as it has the correct ends on it (for your throttle cables) it should work....wait on some of the gurus to answer before you buy anything
Metzzen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 04:26 PM   #7
Metzzen1
Crazy Member
 
Metzzen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: pearland/friendswood
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 564

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
srad gix 6









Send a message via AIM to Metzzen1
oh and pic doesnt work, says forbidden
Metzzen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 06:49 PM   #8
pimp2303
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Near Pearland
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 849

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
78 Yamaha yz400, 07 Honda cr-f230,




Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by Metzzen1
do you mean the actual throttle? on the handlebar? in which case as long as it has the correct ends on it (for your throttle cables) it should work....wait on some of the gurus to answer before you buy anything

yeh the actual throttle on the handle bars it what i meant... and the pic, it still works for me... i will find another one in the
pimp2303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 07:05 PM   #9
ownage
Banned
 
ownage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 7,547












User is banned

.
ownage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 09:54 PM   #10
pimp2303
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Near Pearland
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 849

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
78 Yamaha yz400, 07 Honda cr-f230,




Member Garage





2lo3e4w


this is the peice i need for my dirt bike... just the throttle not all the extra buttons
pimp2303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 09:56 PM   #11
ownage
Banned
 
ownage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 7,547












User is banned

.
ownage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 10:05 PM   #12
zero_cool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





if you can't fix your broken tube, i would retire the whole bike. dirtbikes are cheap enough so you can doo dat.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 10:29 PM   #13
pimp2303
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Near Pearland
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 849

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
78 Yamaha yz400, 07 Honda cr-f230,




Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by zero_cool
if you can't fix your broken tube, i would retire the whole bike. dirtbikes are cheap enough so you can doo dat.

i can't do that... i like the bike 2 much... won't find another one with so much power lol
pimp2303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 10:31 PM   #14
ownage
Banned
 
ownage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 7,547












User is banned

.
ownage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 11:31 PM   #15
Metzzen1
Crazy Member
 
Metzzen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: pearland/friendswood
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 564

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
srad gix 6









Send a message via AIM to Metzzen1
i have a throttle tube from a 2000gsxr 600, look it up and see if it will fit and if it does ill sell it to you cheap and ill even throw in the throttle cables
Metzzen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 12:29 AM   #16
A303
Senior Member
 
A303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Stafford, Texas
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,197

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
00 929rr(sold)/01 929rr









Send a message via AIM to A303
new clip on?
__________________
686069c4c860b9a550e843a7a3c102b279336
R.I.P.
Roger "Koskesh"
July 25, 1977 - April 22, 2007
You will be missed.
A303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 01:00 AM   #17
pimp2303
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Near Pearland
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 849

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
78 Yamaha yz400, 07 Honda cr-f230,




Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by Metzzen1
i have a throttle tube from a 2000gsxr 600, look it up and see if it will fit and if it does ill sell it to you cheap and ill even throw in the throttle cables

i would buy it but its for my dirt bike... i need the whole housing for it...
pimp2303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy