Welcome back to us :/ Our hosts data center was down for the entire day.
MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 02-19-2007, 08:47 AM   #1
robertmayton
Member
 
robertmayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 82












clutch studder?

I just rebuilt the clutch in my yzf600r and it does not slip but it studders...

when you try to "launch" or when you overrev in 1st or 2nd (like when a light changes from red to green and you havent completely stopped yet) it studders and grabs, not like a smooth engagement but its like it grabs then releases over and over again. if i let it fully engage its fine but when i try to slip it a little it just acts stupid...has this happened to anyone else?

ps. i used barnette steels, a new oem hub, and ebc kevlar fibers and springs. the only pcs that were reused were the basket and the pressure plate.

any help would be appreciated, thank you
robertmayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for help with clutch melo_erik Car Forum 5 06-10-2011 10:12 PM
clutch H2447INTX Performance and Modifications 9 06-13-2009 03:40 PM
Upshifting: To Clutch or Not To Clutch? cobra281 Taking it to the Track 35 11-27-2008 12:46 AM
When do you use your clutch? gtdrivr Off Topic 15 10-01-2008 01:01 PM
My clutch just went out... Rybo How To's and Q & A's 21 11-13-2007 11:25 AM
Advertisement
Old 02-19-2007, 08:49 AM   #2
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,368

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Take the springs out and reinstall the stock ones.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 08:51 AM   #3
robertmayton
Member
 
robertmayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 82












why???

are they too stiff?
robertmayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 08:52 AM   #4
dbuck
Stayin' Young
 
dbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NW Houston BW8/290
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 19,639

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
02 Honda Superhawk









Send a message via AIM to dbuck
the last plate (steel) went in with a slight rotation compared to the other plates. The "tabs" that hold the clutch place were all the same except for one plate (that was the last one on my bike). Also, did you torque the springs down on the pressure plate per the specs? That's the only thing I can think of at the moment.
dbuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 08:57 AM   #5
robertmayton
Member
 
robertmayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 82












yes i torqued em down to spec in a star pattern as to not warp anything....

all of my steels go in the same...
robertmayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 09:00 AM   #6
dbuck
Stayin' Young
 
dbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NW Houston BW8/290
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 19,639

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
02 Honda Superhawk









Send a message via AIM to dbuck
Back to what Patrick was saying, when I replaced my clutch plates I was told not to replace the basket or any of the springs. Not sure why this is. Perhaps Patrick will reply with an answer.
dbuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 09:05 AM   #7
robertmayton
Member
 
robertmayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 82












ok im freakin lost ...........

my clutch is still studdering or juttering or chattering or whatever you wanna call it, but now i find out it is still slippin'.

I rode for an hour or so last night and we traveled a buch of backroads through alvin and in 3rd or 4th over about 7500 rpm im slippin'......

i have replaced everthing except for the pressure plate and the basket ( both of which looked fine )

also ...I readjusted the lower and the upper adjustments on the cable, and i have cleaned and lubed the mechanism under the front sprocket cover...

what am i missing????

surely the springs arent making it slip too?
robertmayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 09:14 AM   #8
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,368

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Sounds like you may have a couple of issues.

You may have the pressure place not properly "indexed".

Also, typically the Barnett steels are a little thinner than stock, which can affect your "stack up", causing some of the problems you're encountering.

I typically stay with OEM plates and fibers when doing a clutch.
They're a little more expensive, but you won't have any issues, and they last longer.

We sell OEM stuff, and with your MH discount, it's not a whole lot more expensive.

As far as your problem right now, If you can bring the bike up, I'll take a look at your clutch adjustment, and can see what's going on at the same time.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 12:49 PM   #9
robertmayton
Member
 
robertmayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 82












I *think* I got it figured out....

i out the oem fibers back in - after soaking for a day or so and then I re-adjusted the lower adjustment....

i think the lower adjustment was too tight causing the slipage and as soon as i put the oem fibers back in the studder dissapeard.....

so.... basically all ive done is changed the steels and gone to a stiffer spring...

but, thanks for the help and next time ill just come see you first for my parts
robertmayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 12:52 PM   #10
Mr. Unassailable
1-20-2013-Change we need
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 19,792

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





my 06 yzf600r does that.. i got alittle over 5000 miles on it and the guys at yami said around 10k it should stop..

kinda shoulds like a loud "romp" when you launch it.. it does it everytime i clutch it up..
__________________
Retired
tracksig
Mr. Unassailable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 12:56 PM   #11
Mr. Unassailable
1-20-2013-Change we need
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 19,792

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





but mine doesnt slip.. it just makes that "romp" sound everytime i let the clutch out very fast or if i am over about 4k rpm when i let it out (which my idle is now at 5k so it does it everytime now.. but when i was on 1.2k idle it didnt do it on a slow take off.)
__________________
Retired
tracksig
Mr. Unassailable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 02:11 PM   #12
josh302
Senior Member
 
josh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: fiddy house
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 1,727


Bike(s):
shotgun
rifle
4wd







check your blinker fluid.
__________________
SCREW PAYPAL.COM
josh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 02:14 PM   #13
josh302
Senior Member
 
josh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: fiddy house
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 1,727


Bike(s):
shotgun
rifle
4wd







you should measure the stack height of the old setup, and the new setup, new should be slightly higher. Shudder is probably from you not soaking the fibers in oil prior to installation. you can measure stack height with a digital micrometer available at pep-girls for 29.95, or you can borrow mine.
__________________
SCREW PAYPAL.COM
josh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 02:16 PM   #14
Moody
Holy Smokes!
 
Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 14,685


Bike(s):
281









Did you soak the plates before installing them?
__________________

Open your eyes and reclaim the freedom you were born with. - Moody
Moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 02:19 PM   #15
ownage
Banned
 
ownage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 7,547












User is banned

.
ownage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 02:21 PM   #16
Moody
Holy Smokes!
 
Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 14,685


Bike(s):
281









Quote:
Originally Posted by ownage
:dontknow:
That was his OEM plates. Usually before you put new plates in you soak them overnight or atleast for a few hours. I don't think he mentioned if he did that or not with the Barnette plates. If he did not then they are probably trash now. :eh:
__________________

Open your eyes and reclaim the freedom you were born with. - Moody
Moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 07:35 PM   #17
robertmayton
Member
 
robertmayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 82












yes i soaked the kevlar ones too......but only for about an hour and 1/2

but now they are in a tupperware dish along with a quart of yamalube just incase i get the urge to try em again.... in a couple weeks
robertmayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 11:26 PM   #18
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,368

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






You really only need to soak them for 10 or 15 minutes. that's more than enough time for the oil to soak in.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy