Welcome back to us :/ Our hosts data center was down for the entire day.
MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 10-22-2012, 08:54 AM   #1
PlayTookies
PlayTookies
 
PlayTookies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stafford
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 111

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Kawasaki GPZ 500S (sold)
Yamaha FZR 600 (sold)
Yamaha R1 2007 (sold)
Suzuki M109R 2007 (sold)
- BMW S1000RR 2012 -






Send a message via Skype™ to PlayTookies
Question Alarm System/Hotwire/Ignition PROBLEM

Hello, I was working 10h on the installment of an alarm System on my R1 07 this weekend and well let me see how i should put it...i could not get it done... i was looking at the electrical drawings to see how i can solve the issue. The Alarm has a remote with a "remote" start funktion, and that is not working. I hoocked everything up like it should be the only thing that turns on is the main power and the ignition....but toi start the bike i have to put the key in otherwise it wont start. I read that the 07 has some kinda anti hotwire circut. I CANT FIND THAT NO WERE in the drawings...does anybody have an idea to fix that issue...any tip is helpful thanks guys!
PlayTookies is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HOME ALARM SYSTEM NEEDED BLAKE81 Off Topic 15 10-23-2012 10:54 PM
Ignition switch problem Schmidie Events, Meets and Rides 7 09-27-2011 07:13 AM
Scorpio i-500SW alarm system Eddy.T Gear Talk 9 02-03-2008 03:06 PM
Ignition Key Problem....Please Help Nightster Ridester General Discussion (Moto Related) 7 01-10-2007 09:01 AM
Scorpio Alarm System Swift E General Discussion (Moto Related) 5 03-28-2006 01:39 PM
Advertisement
Old 10-22-2012, 09:07 AM   #2
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,368

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






The key switch provides a low voltage impulse to the ECU to turn it on. The switch is triggered to send the voltage signal to the ECU by the key being in the ignition and switched to on.
Imo if you were to bypass it you could wind up with other issues that could cause interference when the bike is running. Besides I'm not a fan of remote start on a bike anyhow.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 09:35 AM   #3
civicious
Senior Member
 
civicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nawfside
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 1,811

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
TZR250






What Patrick said, exactly.

I'll also say, without intending to be an a-hole, that if you spent ten hours trying to install an alarm WITH wiring diagrams and weren't able to get it to work, that you probably don't possess the necessary skills and knowledge to be hacking into your bike's electrical system. There are SEVERAL local shops with highly skilled technicians that would be a better option than guesswork, and while they'll charge you for the work, it'll be a LOT cheaper to pay them to properly install it the first time than to pay them to un- all your guesswiring.

Heck, all the contact info you'd need is even included in the signature just above this post!
__________________
IDB RACING
10541 FM 1960 W #300 - (281) 477-3038
http://www.idbracing.com
civicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 09:56 AM   #4
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,126

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








asking for trouble with remote start IMO. You will soon have a thread up looking for parts
__________________
"Just curious,wife turns 40 soon. And I have a bucket list to accomplish. She can get frisky after a few drinks which I haven't used to my full advantage, YET!"
bluewave18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:05 AM   #5
PlayTookies
PlayTookies
 
PlayTookies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stafford
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 111

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Kawasaki GPZ 500S (sold)
Yamaha FZR 600 (sold)
Yamaha R1 2007 (sold)
Suzuki M109R 2007 (sold)
- BMW S1000RR 2012 -






Send a message via Skype™ to PlayTookies
Quote:
Originally Posted by civicious View Post
What Patrick said, exactly.

I'll also say, without intending to be an a-hole, that if you spent ten hours trying to install an alarm WITH wiring diagrams and weren't able to get it to work, that you probably don't possess the necessary skills and knowledge to be hacking into your bike's electrical system. There are SEVERAL local shops with highly skilled technicians that would be a better option than guesswork, and while they'll charge you for the work, it'll be a LOT cheaper to pay them to properly install it the first time than to pay them to un- all your guesswiring.

Heck, all the contact info you'd need is even included in the signature just above this post!
Yes you are prob. right that they have tech's that could do this in another 5hours or so...well im a tech aswell thats why i started working on it in the first place otherwise i would have not touched it...i just did not really want to open the alram case to see how the inside really works since the drawing and instructions were horrible...so i was just trying to find out if i missed something...thanks thoug for your help with advise...
PlayTookies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:07 AM   #6
PlayTookies
PlayTookies
 
PlayTookies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stafford
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 111

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Kawasaki GPZ 500S (sold)
Yamaha FZR 600 (sold)
Yamaha R1 2007 (sold)
Suzuki M109R 2007 (sold)
- BMW S1000RR 2012 -






Send a message via Skype™ to PlayTookies
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick View Post
The key switch provides a low voltage impulse to the ECU to turn it on. The switch is triggered to send the voltage signal to the ECU by the key being in the ignition and switched to on.
Imo if you were to bypass it you could wind up with other issues that could cause interference when the bike is running. Besides I'm not a fan of remote start on a bike anyhow.
Yes thats what i was thinking to, i dont like to bypass anything actually...if its not made that way you (in gerneral) should not bypass....and your saying thats the only way to do it?
PlayTookies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:08 AM   #7
PlayTookies
PlayTookies
 
PlayTookies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stafford
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 111

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Kawasaki GPZ 500S (sold)
Yamaha FZR 600 (sold)
Yamaha R1 2007 (sold)
Suzuki M109R 2007 (sold)
- BMW S1000RR 2012 -






Send a message via Skype™ to PlayTookies
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewave18 View Post
asking for trouble with remote start IMO. You will soon have a thread up looking for parts
why? have you had bad experience with remote start?
PlayTookies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:17 AM   #8
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,126

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








It happens all the time. You park you bike in gear right? I have not had problems myself, but many have.
__________________
"Just curious,wife turns 40 soon. And I have a bucket list to accomplish. She can get frisky after a few drinks which I haven't used to my full advantage, YET!"
bluewave18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:28 AM   #9
PlayTookies
PlayTookies
 
PlayTookies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stafford
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 111

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Kawasaki GPZ 500S (sold)
Yamaha FZR 600 (sold)
Yamaha R1 2007 (sold)
Suzuki M109R 2007 (sold)
- BMW S1000RR 2012 -






Send a message via Skype™ to PlayTookies
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewave18 View Post
It happens all the time. You park you bike in gear right? I have not had problems myself, but many have.
no i usually dont...just cuz i get to my bike and start it while standing next to it so than i can let it warm up for a min...without haveing to sit on it right away...so in other words you are saying that people have bypassed the switch and did not think about it when starting the bike that the bike was still in gear?
PlayTookies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:31 AM   #10
RACER X
what R you lookin' at?
 
RACER X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Richmond, Tx
Feedback Rating: (26)
Posts: 33,505

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 8

Bike(s):
'14 Honda GROM! 181cc of fury!!
'10 Aprilia Tuono Factory-SOLD
'08 Busa - sold
A few more bought
A few more sold






so if you are standing next to your bike, why do you need remote start?

you'll have it in 1st and start it, bike bumps forward, falls over, you cry.
__________________
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
2014 GROM
181cc's BABY!
Trump/Zimmerman 2016
Make America Great Again!
RACER X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:42 AM   #11
PlayTookies
PlayTookies
 
PlayTookies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stafford
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 111

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Kawasaki GPZ 500S (sold)
Yamaha FZR 600 (sold)
Yamaha R1 2007 (sold)
Suzuki M109R 2007 (sold)
- BMW S1000RR 2012 -






Send a message via Skype™ to PlayTookies
Quote:
Originally Posted by RACER X View Post
so if you are standing next to your bike, why do you need remote start?

you'll have it in 1st and start it, bike bumps forward, falls over, you cry.
well its just a feature that came with the alarm...so i would like to use it...well i could start the bike when im still away and i would not have to wait for warming up when i get there... well first of all i dont park my bike in gear... but second have i thought about that i can connect a relay to the neutral light that controls the start up circut...so that wont happen...and i would like to see if anybody got deeper in that problem before i start anything...gathering info thats it...
PlayTookies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy