MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2012, 02:01 AM   #1
AYEELE
Yeah i can get it up
 
AYEELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 3,089

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
08 1000rr
silver 04 r6(stunt)
Black 03 600rr(sold)
White and pink 06 r6






Gopro hero 2 mount questions

just picked up the motorsports edition..and was wondering which mount you guys use for different views? i put the small curved mounts on my lid and the straight ones on my tank. where would you use the suction cup? im pretty happy the 3m adhesive is strong
__________________
AYEELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which gopro mount are you using? _Iceman_ General Discussion (Moto Related) 11 05-29-2014 09:13 AM
GoPro Hero 2 video help.... ZXALAN Off Topic 53 02-16-2012 12:45 AM
Where do I mount my GoPro??? quicksaveme General Discussion (Moto Related) 14 09-29-2010 02:30 PM
GoPro Hero HD TeXasGiXXer General Discussion (Moto Related) 17 06-15-2010 06:47 PM
GoPro HERO CAMERA Speedfreak General Discussion (Moto Related) 6 05-17-2008 09:39 AM
Advertisement
Old 08-08-2012, 02:26 AM   #2
AYEELE
Yeah i can get it up
 
AYEELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 3,089

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
08 1000rr
silver 04 r6(stunt)
Black 03 600rr(sold)
White and pink 06 r6






also what free software to edit videos on a macbook pro
__________________
AYEELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 12:37 PM   #3
AYEELE
Yeah i can get it up
 
AYEELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 3,089

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
08 1000rr
silver 04 r6(stunt)
Black 03 600rr(sold)
White and pink 06 r6






nobody with input?
__________________
AYEELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 12:49 PM   #4
flip326
No likey, no bikey
 
flip326's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: League City
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,509

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 9

Bike(s):
'07 GSXR-750 (sold)
'05 zx6r Monster (sold)
'03 600rr track (sold)
'04 600rr Eurobet (sold)
'05 gsxr 600 (sold)






I edit movies using movie 11. The suction cup mount is essentially useless as it shakes too much
__________________
flip326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 12:53 PM   #5
TheVirus
Original OG
 
TheVirus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: West Side
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,737

Experience: 9 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2001 SV650S
2009 *Secret*








I only use hard mounts. Purchase more if you want to mount different area's. The suction mount is only good for stationary recording due to its nature to wiggle and bounce on a bike.
__________________
The First 48
TheVirus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:20 PM   #6
chevy42083
Senior Member
 
chevy42083's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Katy
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,932

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
'09 XB12scg
'07 650r Stolen/recovered








Suction cup actually worked really well on my tank... mostly vertical (not extended out). No vibration and was high enough to see over the dash, out the screen.

It also works good for getting still pics. I mounted it to my tail sticking as far out as possible to shoot around my leg. Probably shook too much for vid (didn't try), but got some nice rolling shots on the 3sec interval pics.
__________________
-Duane
chevy42083 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:32 PM   #7
AYEELE
Yeah i can get it up
 
AYEELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 3,089

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
08 1000rr
silver 04 r6(stunt)
Black 03 600rr(sold)
White and pink 06 r6






thanks guys. anyone mounted the hard mounts on the windshield?
__________________
AYEELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:40 PM   #8
flip326
No likey, no bikey
 
flip326's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: League City
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,509

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 9

Bike(s):
'07 GSXR-750 (sold)
'05 zx6r Monster (sold)
'03 600rr track (sold)
'04 600rr Eurobet (sold)
'05 gsxr 600 (sold)






Quote:
Originally Posted by AYEELE View Post
thanks guys. anyone mounted the hard mounts on the windshield?
Stay away from the top of the windscreen as it shakes the most there.
__________________
flip326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:52 PM   #9
ormand
Deelish!
 
ormand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SE
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 8,835

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 9

Bike(s):
2009 Ninja 650r
Total Mileage: 42,000





SUCTION CUP is great for tank views

I would avoid as many hard mounts as you can unless you are 100% sure you are going to use them. Maybe consider testing it softly with a suction mount, where possible. I regret putting a hard mount on the front of the bike because everytime I wash the bike, I nearly slice my skin. And it just looks terrible.

Great starting points for hard mounts are the tail and the swingarm (be cautious with the swingarm). Fork mounts are also interesting if you don't have inverted forks.

The side chin/jawline area of a helmet is a good place for a hard mount.
__________________
ONET 1
ormand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:53 PM   #10
pester
Black olives matter
 
pester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montgomery cty
Feedback Rating: (12)
Posts: 15,275

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2007 yamaha fz6
1998 yamaha wr 400 motard



Member Garage





thread jack

i have the gopro 1 , my question is. can i use gopro 2 mounts on the gopro 1?

i am getting tired of the tape on top of the mount to avoid vibration
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by honorsdaddy View Post
Technology has insulated the stupid from the rightful consequences of their actions - and exposed the rest of us to the damage they can cause.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1sickGixxer View Post
nevermind ima bumbass and ill get my wife 2 do it 2nite.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyt915 View Post
I know enough Spanish to stick you with a knife cabron
pester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 02:09 PM   #11
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,121

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








I have used the suction cup on a boat running up to 100. It was great. The amount of vibration was very low. Lower than I expected for sure. You just dont want it scoped all the way out.
__________________
"Just curious,wife turns 40 soon. And I have a bucket list to accomplish. She can get frisky after a few drinks which I haven't used to my full advantage, YET!"
bluewave18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 03:41 PM   #12
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











you should get the cineform studio from gopro website too. it comes with some good codecs specifically for the gopro formats.

mounts...the sky is the limit when it comes to them. That's what makes the gopro one of my favorite gadgets. you can mount them however and wherever you want.

i use the suction cup all the time. the only issue i've had with it was weird looks from passengers on the same train in Europe. No, I'm not doing anything but getting footage. the only other issue is it came loose on the hood of my truck. it stayed mounted with the little suction left, but if I would have hit a bump, it would have been gone. I blame that on user error. The other hundreds of miles I've driven with it there were flawless.
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy