MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2012, 07:55 AM   #1
Chuckster
Senior Member
 
Chuckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 2,428


Bike(s):
2006 Yamaha R1









'06 R1 headlights and instrument light went out

So, I was riding home from work and my headlights and dash backlight just shut off. My turn signals, and other dash lights still work as well as my speedo, tach and other dash readouts. I checked the fuses and they are ok and checked other connections in and around the headlight area and behind the dash cluster found no obvious issues. It seemed to happen when I switched from low beam to high beam but that could have been just coincidence. When I switched, they went out and I stopped, turned off the bike and restarted it and they came back on so I continued to a friends house. When I left his house, the lights and dash never came back on. My corner markers never went off though. I have HIDs also. I did notice a burning smell though. Any ideas as to what this could be or where to check next? Did my instrument cluster fail causing the headlights to stop working? Can anyone steer me in the right place to start so I don't waste too much time or should I let a shop troubleshoot it?
Chuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
06 zx6 FI light is on gsxrcody General Discussion (Moto Related) 4 11-24-2010 02:35 AM
2004 R1 brake light HoustonRealtor How To's and Q & A's 4 06-09-2010 10:59 PM
2004 yamaha R1 check engine light on blueyama1000 General Discussion (Moto Related) 7 06-17-2008 10:14 AM
'07 (or '06) gixxer 6 or 7 help - rpm indicator light (rev light/shift light) issanni How To's and Q & A's 9 02-27-2007 03:28 PM
rev light on r1 ikp460. How To's and Q & A's 11 11-21-2006 01:59 PM
Advertisement
Old 07-29-2012, 10:24 AM   #2
trooper
Time to ride.
 
trooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tha hillz
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 2,657

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
07 Heritage Softail Classic









You got a short somewhere, its either a fuse or burnt connection. Id recheck fuses and if all is well then you will have to trace all wiring and find the bad connection. Probably popped the backlight bulb.
trooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 10:32 AM   #3
Chuckster
Senior Member
 
Chuckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 2,428


Bike(s):
2006 Yamaha R1









I'm thinking it might be somewhere in the hi/low switch. Everything seemed to happen when I flipped on my hi beams. It could have been coincidence though. If the dash hadn't gone out it would be easier to locate I'd imagine. The hi beam indicator on the dash is out as well.
Chuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 12:40 PM   #4
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






It could be the handlebar switch or the high beam relay depending on how the hid's are wired in.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 12:50 PM   #5
Chuckster
Senior Member
 
Chuckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 2,428


Bike(s):
2006 Yamaha R1









The HIDs are wired to the factory plugs. I went with the 35 watt ballast so I wouldn't need the relay. I was going to pull that switch apart when I get home from work.
Chuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 01:12 PM   #6
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






If you're wired to the stock wiring there is a factory high beam relay mounted in the upper just above the headlights.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 01:21 PM   #7
Chuckster
Senior Member
 
Chuckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 2,428


Bike(s):
2006 Yamaha R1









Could those have gone bad maybe causing the rest to shut off? The relays you're referring to are the plugs that sit on top of each headlight behind the nose cowl correct?
Chuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 01:26 PM   #8
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Yes, and yes.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 07:45 PM   #9
Chuckster
Senior Member
 
Chuckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 2,428


Bike(s):
2006 Yamaha R1









Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick View Post
If you're wired to the stock wiring there is a factory high beam relay mounted in the upper just above the headlights.

So I disconnected the hi beams and everything came back on (except the hi beams obviously) so it's the relays. The next question is, did they fail due to their age or due the the load the HID ballasts put on them? If I replace them with OEM units, will this happen again or should I rewire with aftermarket relays that could hold a larger current draw?


Thanks for the tip BTW!!!
Chuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 09:01 PM   #10
Chuckster
Senior Member
 
Chuckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 2,428


Bike(s):
2006 Yamaha R1









My lights kept going on and off so I dug a little deeper and found that the large plug in the wire loom below the right side ram air tube has a burn spot on it. It's the plug with the red wire/yellow stripe. When I pulled the plug apart and cleaned the connections, everything seemed to work again (for now). What is this wire for and if those relays went out, would it cause this?
Chuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 11:59 AM   #11
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Sounds like the circuit is drawing too much amperage.
I'd put an isolating relay in the circuit between the HID's and the factory plugs.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 01:08 PM   #12
Chuckster
Senior Member
 
Chuckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 2,428


Bike(s):
2006 Yamaha R1









So, to be safe, replace the factory relays and add isolating relay setup to the HIDs themselves.
Chuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 08:13 AM   #13
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






If repairing that wire solved your issue the stock relays are still good.
I would however add the isolating relay,
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 10:34 AM   #14
RACER X
what R you lookin' at?
 
RACER X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Richmond, Tx
Feedback Rating: (26)
Posts: 33,485

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 8

Bike(s):
'14 Honda GROM! 181cc of fury!!
'10 Aprilia Tuono Factory-SOLD
'08 Busa - sold
A few more bought
A few more sold






this is why HIDs should draw power straight from the battery vs OE wiring. yes even 35w HIDs
__________________
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
2014 GROM
181cc's BABY!
Trump/Zimmerman 2016
Make America Great Again!
RACER X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 12:42 PM   #15
Chuckster
Senior Member
 
Chuckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 2,428


Bike(s):
2006 Yamaha R1









Quote:
Originally Posted by RACER X View Post
this is why HIDs should draw power straight from the battery vs OE wiring. yes even 35w HIDs

This is what one of my car audio installers recommended. Eliminates all amperage issues. As a safety precaution, would adding an inline fuse to each ballast help in the event a ballast itself goes out?
Chuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy