MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2007, 06:32 PM   #21
level5
moving chicane
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,825












Quote:
Originally Posted by andre3k
radar works off radio waves not light. I don't think windscreen color makes a difference.
exactly. a windshield it about a 1/4 thick and it is layer with silicon. However laser is required to have light detection, but if you ever been laser on the vehicle, it's too late. Just pull over and you have a better chance of getting off then going to jail. On mine it does pick up laser as well too, go figure.
level5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radar Detectors??? Flying Scot General Discussion (Moto Related) 11 01-04-2010 07:15 PM
Good Radar Detectors morvegil General Discussion (Moto Related) 13 06-08-2009 11:52 PM
Radar detectors DVLDGSXR6 General Discussion (Moto Related) 22 08-10-2008 11:25 AM
Best Radar detectors lilmckee General Discussion (Moto Related) 55 07-17-2007 06:03 PM
Radar Detectors wlgorman General Discussion (Moto Related) 5 05-21-2007 10:31 AM
Advertisement
Old 01-18-2007, 06:38 PM   #22
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,368

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






I use an Escort 8500 mounted on a Tech mount, and I use a wireless H.A.R.D. set up in my helmet.
The whole affair cost me almost $500.00, but it has saved me WELL over that amount in tickets.
We're a dealer for all of the above products and they do work extremely well.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 06:39 PM   #23
level5
moving chicane
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,825












Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick
I use an Escort 8500 mounted on a Tech mount, and I use a wireless H.A.R.D. set up in my helmet.
The whole affair cost me almost $500.00, but it has saved me WELL over that amount in tickets.
We're a dealer for all of the above products and they do work extremely well.
I have the escort already how much for the other set up, Patrick?
level5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 06:51 PM   #24
bdmpastx
The Cripple
 
bdmpastx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pearland
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,774

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2009 Nissan GTR - sold
2015 Nissan GTR





I was selling a HARD system dirt cheap ($75) but no one wanted it. I finally sold it on TWT though. It worked great. The www.stemstand.com aka techmounts now work great. All of these items have saved me thousands of dollars and are well worth it if you are commuting or riding the backroads.
__________________
My wheelchair doesn't have chicken strips
sigpic
bdmpastx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 07:21 PM   #25
CDN Gixer Guy
Back to the Land of Snow!
 
CDN Gixer Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 157


Bike(s):
2006 GSX-R 750









Found this sight and came across this guys setup. http://www.radardetector.net/viewtopic.php?t=4649
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming ... WOW! What a Ride!
CDN Gixer Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 07:27 PM   #26
andre3k
I see dead people...
 
andre3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,798












Quote:
Originally Posted by CDN Gixer Guy
Found this sight and came across this guys setup. http://www.radardetector.net/viewtopic.php?t=4649
Those are the jammers that I was referring to earlier.
andre3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 09:28 PM   #27
FastLine
Motorcycle School
 
FastLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MSRH GSS TWS (Texas World Speedway)
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 13,881

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Instructing
Trackdays
Like
A
Boss






I use a Passport 8500 X50 on a stemstand mount wired through a Chatterbox. Couldn't ask for a better rig. The sound is in stereo, and it has never failed me. Take a look at the mount here. You can see it just in front of the tank bag....

Copyof100 011deleted
FastLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 09:34 PM   #28
handozizle
Senior Member
 
handozizle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Marcos/Kingwood
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 871


Bike(s):
2008 Ducati 848
2004 GSXR 600-Sold








Send a message via AIM to handozizle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godsuki
I use a Passport 8500 X50 on a stemstand mount wired through a Chatterbox. Couldn't ask for a better rig. The sound is in stereo, and it has never failed me. Take a look at the mount here. You can see it just in front of the tank bag....

Copyof100 011deleted
got the same thing, but i recomended getting the little light thing that goes in your helmet because you could barely hear it
handozizle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 09:41 PM   #29
FastLine
Motorcycle School
 
FastLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MSRH GSS TWS (Texas World Speedway)
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 13,881

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Instructing
Trackdays
Like
A
Boss






Quote:
Originally Posted by handozizle
got the same thing, but i recomended getting the little light thing that goes in your helmet because you could barely hear it
I have never had a problem hearing it. Just turn up the volume on the radar, and with the chatterbox, I can hear it just as well at ANY speed as I can in my car
FastLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 09:51 PM   #30
handozizle
Senior Member
 
handozizle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Marcos/Kingwood
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 871


Bike(s):
2008 Ducati 848
2004 GSXR 600-Sold








Send a message via AIM to handozizle
nice, i think i've seen your bike somewhere before, does it have exhaust now? B.T.W i would spent good money and get a pasport and not those crappy cheap ones
handozizle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 11:26 PM   #31
jrock
straight shooter
 
jrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: back n H-Twn
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 11,684

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2003 Kawi ZX9r Green Machine-sold
1995 Honda CB 1000 Big One








Send a message via Yahoo to jrock
nice
__________________
"I get a total charge out of inspiring others to follow their dreams and not to fear change. Embrace it. Realize that money isn't the end-all, be-all. What is important, what really has value, is Time. As motorcyclists, we all face increased risks on the road, and on the track. Do something with your time; don't have a bag full of regrets when the train comes to a stop. "
jrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 11:31 PM   #32
issanni
assfault
 
issanni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Spring
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 3,006

Experience: 10+ years











Send a message via MSN to issanni Send a message via Yahoo to issanni
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDN Gixer Guy
I was also wondering about how tinted windshields would affect them. I have a Puig Carbon Fiber windshield and I would assume it wouldn't work if it was mounted behind that. Any one know the answer to this?
Radar will go through plastics. So having an opaque or whatever windsheild shouldn't affect the detectors ability to pick up radar, however it will hamper laser detection.

I've got an Escort Solo2 (battery powered) but haven't tried it on the bike yet. Haven't thought much about it other than I don't have a way to mount it right now.
__________________
- Whip
assfault = my , my fault

Last edited by issanni; 01-18-2007 at 11:33 PM.
issanni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 12:05 AM   #33
FastLine
Motorcycle School
 
FastLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MSRH GSS TWS (Texas World Speedway)
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 13,881

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Instructing
Trackdays
Like
A
Boss






Quote:
Originally Posted by handozizle
nice, i think i've seen your bike somewhere before, does it have exhaust now? B.T.W i would spent good money and get a pasport and not those crappy cheap ones
yes it does
FastLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 10:01 AM   #34
magzx12r
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 1,500












I have an escort 8500 mounted on the windscreen of my bike. I also have a speaker setup called the radar screamer. I can hear while riding with my helmet and ear plugs. http://www.motorcycleradar.com/produ...dar%20Screamer
__________________
Mark
magzx12r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 11:04 AM   #35
jus10
Loading...
 
jus10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,160

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
KX TooNifty









awesome....

I really appreciate your input guys... seems I may have to take a lil' ride over to Motorcycles Unlimited. Thanks again guys.
jus10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 11:16 AM   #36
houseofpaint
PM for BESTPRICE on parts
 
houseofpaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Spring, TX
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 9,486

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2010 Yamaha R1 racebike
2012 GSXR750 Racebike
2003 DRZ125 semiflattracker


Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to houseofpaint
i have my radar mounted to the windscreen (my windscreen is painted as well)....I have the Escort x50 and Beltronics rx65pro radars.....IMO the beltronics works better for me...it filters out most of the junk signals, and picks up within 1 second of the x50. it is about $40 cheaper than the x50 as well.

I used industrial strength velcro to hold it onto the windscreen, and i have a hardwire kit with signal alert/mute button pointed directly towards my helmet. you can't miss it when you get a signal. i'll post up pics later.
__________________
www.facebook.com/HouseOfPaintDesigns
Follow us on Instagram @hopdesigns

Custom Paint, Powdercoating, and Collision repair (Cars and bikes)[/b]
houseofpaint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 11:44 AM   #37
GLD
track junkie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: clear lake
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 361


Bike(s):
F2 w/ F3 engine 2001 RC51









Quote:
Originally Posted by Clayton9698
take it apart and put the sensors on the front and rear and run new wires and put it on your gauges... : requires some time but i would say it would work well :dontknow:
I'm not so sure how well that would work. You would have to check where you made the cuts separating the sensors from the rest of the unit as well as check how the sensors actually send their output. By introducing the extra length of wire into the circuit (plus 2 new solders that aren't as good as in a factory) you are adding more resistance and might depending on the design of the detector ruin it.

It all depends on the electrical/signal interfaces between the two.
GLD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 11:50 AM   #38
andre3k
I see dead people...
 
andre3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,798












Quote:
Originally Posted by GLD
I'm not so sure how well that would work. You would have to check where you made the cuts separating the sensors from the rest of the unit as well as check how the sensors actually send their output. By introducing the extra length of wire into the circuit (plus 2 new solders that aren't as good as in a factory) you are adding more resistance and might depending on the design of the detector ruin it.

It all depends on the electrical/signal interfaces between the two.
Not to mention voiding any warranty you may have.
andre3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy