MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2007, 01:23 PM   #1
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
headlight help

Well, my F3 runs like a champ. and i got tired of hot-wiring it to start so's i installed a hidden push button starter.

but my headlight quit working shortly after i got it back from the shop. I dont know how to fix it other than replace the wiring harness. I have tried different bulbs, and all the wires i can see look fine. It did work when i first got the bike, then one day just quit.

can i hard wire a head light with a toggle switch on the bars? i am tired of having to cut rides short when it gets dark. how can i rig up a headlight?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
headlight out pester Off Topic 16 12-01-2013 06:06 PM
MY HEADLIGHT! CUZ Off Topic 7 02-16-2013 07:01 PM
What About This Headlight Infinite General Discussion (Moto Related) 2 05-25-2012 10:58 PM
sv650: removed round headlight trying to add-in "s" headlight harness. Not plug&play SideVinder650 How To's and Q & A's 1 04-07-2012 03:58 PM
headlight out need help bluewave18 How To's and Q & A's 15 12-14-2007 10:24 AM
Advertisement
Old 01-10-2007, 01:46 PM   #2
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











headlight with two wires: one wire to (-) terminal on battery the other wire to (+) terminal on battery. place a toggle switch in between the headlight and the (+) terminal. VIOLA.
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 01:48 PM   #3
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
thats kinda what i figured, but would i need to put a fuse in there somewhere?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 01:49 PM   #4
del240z
MH's #1 HOBO
 
del240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Houston, tejas!!!
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 7,740

Experience: 7 years

Bike(s):
None at the moment..... :-(









Nope...that's what the toggle switch is for. It will shut-off the light on and off.....simple.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by honorsdaddy View Post
So is refusing to give it up.

If you keep looking in the pantry and finding out its empty, eventually you go to a restaurant.
del240z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 02:07 PM   #5
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 28,863

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 YZF600R (Street)
2009 Iron 883



Member Garage


yeh, use a fuse....same one thats on your bike... they sell inline fuse ktis...on the cheap....


another alternative.....find a wire thats hot only when ignition is on....and make THAT your positive wire...then you wont need a toggle...
__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 02:25 PM   #6
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











honestly, i don't know why you don't just solve the problem and wire the thing correctly...in line fuses are very cheap and effective too...but then again, your headlight bulb will act like a fuse if you do not use one and you short circuit
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 02:27 PM   #7
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
i think it may be the right side controls, cause my starter button quit working the same time my headlight cut out. but untill i get a new control, i want to be able to ride regardless of day / night.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 02:28 PM   #8
Romeo36
Mother****ersi'llkillyou
 
Romeo36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: stinkadena
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,326

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
sv650,rc51,gsxr750,6oo,sdg107









Send a message via AIM to Romeo36
dude fix the bike correctly and you wont have these problems
Romeo36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 02:30 PM   #9
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











you should always go into battle with :
tylertool 1930 122982305

i know it's always my weapon of choice when dealing with wiring

Last edited by hotnanas; 01-10-2007 at 02:34 PM.
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 02:32 PM   #10
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romeo36
dude fix the bike correctly and you wont have these problems

i plan on fixing it correctly, but dont want to interrupt my riding while waiting on parts
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 02:39 PM   #11
dbuck
Stayin' Young
 
dbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NW Houston BW8/290
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 19,624

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
02 Honda Superhawk









Send a message via AIM to dbuck
Quote:
Originally Posted by bentgixxer
i am tired of having to cut rides short when it gets dark.
I believe you are suppose to have a visible headlight from a certain distance (300-500 ft I think) during the daytime as well.
dbuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 02:53 PM   #12
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











Quote:
Originally Posted by dbuckzx7
I believe you are suppose to have a visible headlight from a certain distance (300-500 ft I think) during the daytime as well.
i don't think i'd get on the houston streets without one....
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 03:12 PM   #13
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
ive been riding it around like it is for a while, just kinda chancing it. thats why i want to rig one up for now till i get it figured out and fixed the proper way.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 04:38 PM   #14
Mr. Unassailable
1-20-2013-Change we need
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 19,792

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





rig it.. order a #plate with lights and I will install it for free

download1deleted

JUST DONT GET THAT ONE.. IT IS MINE... Use that one and you will wake up to a whole load of shoes.. without the Soles!
__________________
Retired
tracksig
Mr. Unassailable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 05:59 PM   #15
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clayton9698
rig it.. order a #plate with lights and I will install it for free

download1deleted

JUST DONT GET THAT ONE.. IT IS MINE... Use that one and you will wake up to a whole load of shoes.. without the Soles!


i was thinking about doing something like that, im ordering a cage for it this weekend. :icon_bigg then it's time for some fun.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy