MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2007, 02:00 PM   #1
R6_htown
Need4speed
 
R6_htown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Galleria
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 98


Bike(s):
R6









Bike only starts after opening the choke

Hi,

When i hit the starter switch on, my R6 doesn't start right away. I've to open the choke for few seconds, let it run & then only it starts. The battery is good. Do you think its the carbs problem. Do I need to clean up the carbs? Any suggestions ???


thanks
__________________
BikeLover
R6_htown is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to choke? NightShadow General Discussion (Moto Related) 27 01-03-2013 11:27 PM
Bike Starts and dies quickly CBRBuron General Discussion (Moto Related) 15 10-15-2011 09:26 AM
Bike Starts with Choke, but Dies with Gas makushr1 General Discussion (Moto Related) 14 10-20-2010 06:45 AM
choke on? blends How To's and Q & A's 12 12-13-2008 01:21 PM
***NEW BIKE SHOP GRAND OPENING*** dotcom Events, Meets and Rides 31 10-14-2006 04:11 AM
Advertisement
Old 01-08-2007, 02:01 PM   #2
witchdoctor575
certified shutterbug
 
witchdoctor575's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 23,547

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
07 triumph D675(sold)
05 busa LE (sold)
03 rc51 (sold)
99 superhawk (wrecked)
01 shadow 1100 (sold)

Member Garage





Let me get this straight. You have to pull the choke lever to get it to start o n a cold engine? If this is the case it is totally normal. That is what the choke is for.
witchdoctor575 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:02 PM   #3
CarbonJames
LSTD/TTBC Instructor
 
CarbonJames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ELLIS TD
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 13,770

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
13 250sx
13 350sxf
12 150sx
07 CRF 230
04 CRF 50/70

Member Garage





Chokes are on carbs for a reason. so they will start. it's not abnormal for this to happen.
CarbonJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:02 PM   #4
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,368

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Is the bike cold when you try to start it?

Does the bike run well after it starts?

What's it idled at off the choke?
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:06 PM   #5
R6_htown
Need4speed
 
R6_htown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Galleria
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 98


Bike(s):
R6









Yes the bike is cold when i try to start it. It runs fine after its cranked up. It idles at 1200-1400 rpm which i think is normal.

Does everybody pull the choke every single time when they are trying to start the cold bike?
__________________
BikeLover
R6_htown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:07 PM   #6
witchdoctor575
certified shutterbug
 
witchdoctor575's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 23,547

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
07 triumph D675(sold)
05 busa LE (sold)
03 rc51 (sold)
99 superhawk (wrecked)
01 shadow 1100 (sold)

Member Garage





I do.. Cold natured beast won't run if I don't.
witchdoctor575 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:07 PM   #7
Robert95z
Ro-Beer-To
 
Robert95z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Dickinson, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 812

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 4

Bike(s):
02 F4i SOLD, 07 CBR600RR SOLD









Yup, they sure do
Robert95z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:08 PM   #8
2XTURBO
that's a space peanut
 
2XTURBO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alief
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,042

Experience: 7 years











Quote:
Originally Posted by R6_htown
Does everybody pull the choke every single time when they are trying to start the cold bike?
I used the choke everytime I started my R6, cold or not
2XTURBO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:12 PM   #9
R6_htown
Need4speed
 
R6_htown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Galleria
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 98


Bike(s):
R6









Thanks guys.

Now that is news to me. (Well I'm new to riding, so I guess it ain't that bad).
__________________
BikeLover
R6_htown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:14 PM   #10
Moody
Holy Smokes!
 
Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 14,685


Bike(s):
281









:newbie:
__________________

Open your eyes and reclaim the freedom you were born with. - Moody
Moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:34 PM   #11
MadseasoN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: 77002
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 5,603

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











Quote:
Originally Posted by R6_htown
Thanks guys.

Now that is news to me. (Well I'm new to riding, so I guess it ain't that bad).
Don't worry ... I did the same thing. :icon_bigg Sometimes you might need to crack the throttle while you're starting too.

After your bikes sits for a while water condensates in the carb and leans out the fuel mixture. The choke will richen the mixture so that it'll start.
MadseasoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:36 PM   #12
Moody
Holy Smokes!
 
Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 14,685


Bike(s):
281









Get a fuel injected bike. No worries!
__________________

Open your eyes and reclaim the freedom you were born with. - Moody
Moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:43 PM   #13
witchdoctor575
certified shutterbug
 
witchdoctor575's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 23,547

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
07 triumph D675(sold)
05 busa LE (sold)
03 rc51 (sold)
99 superhawk (wrecked)
01 shadow 1100 (sold)

Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by Moody
Get a fuel injected bike. No worries!
Mine is fuel injected and I still have to hit the choke.
witchdoctor575 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:45 PM   #14
Moody
Holy Smokes!
 
Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 14,685


Bike(s):
281









Quote:
Originally Posted by witchdoctor575
Mine is fuel injected and I still have to hit the choke.
Wow, the RC51 has FI and a choke still?
__________________

Open your eyes and reclaim the freedom you were born with. - Moody
Moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:47 PM   #15
witchdoctor575
certified shutterbug
 
witchdoctor575's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 23,547

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
07 triumph D675(sold)
05 busa LE (sold)
03 rc51 (sold)
99 superhawk (wrecked)
01 shadow 1100 (sold)

Member Garage





yep. wish it was auto choke.
witchdoctor575 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:49 PM   #16
Chris24
Thread Savior
 
Chris24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,635

Experience: 8 years

Bike(s):
1979 Yamaha XS1100 Special









Send a message via AIM to Chris24 Send a message via MSN to Chris24 Send a message via Yahoo to Chris24
just make sure to lower the choke back off when the engine warms up. ive seen some people try to leave it on.
__________________
Brought to you by Carls Jr.!
Chris24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:50 PM   #17
Moody
Holy Smokes!
 
Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 14,685


Bike(s):
281









Quote:
Originally Posted by witchdoctor575
yep. wish it was auto choke.
Learn something new every day.
__________________

Open your eyes and reclaim the freedom you were born with. - Moody
Moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 02:52 PM   #18
alrova
- LSTD - From 0 to Snail
 
alrova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NW-Houston
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 3,861

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
09 ZX-6R









Send a message via MSN to alrova Send a message via Yahoo to alrova
SOmeone needs to attend patrick's classes LOL
__________________
--Alberto--
New weapon - "Green Hornet Kato Style powered by Stoner's blood drop stolen by Melandri injected by Lascorz"
alrova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 03:06 PM   #19
MadseasoN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: 77002
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 5,603

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











The RC51 doesn't use an electronic "choke" system like most other FI bikes. It has a manual plunger like carb bikes. I'm guessing this is to ensure the bike can be started and warmed up regardless of the extent of the engine mods performed.
MadseasoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 03:06 PM   #20
R6_htown
Need4speed
 
R6_htown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Galleria
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 98


Bike(s):
R6









Yup, I do close the choke after 20 seconds or so. I'm sure Patrick's class would be highly useful. Did anyone tape the last class that was held in december?
R6_htown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy