MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2006, 10:59 PM   #1
Slingblade92
Azzhole
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Deer Park, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 224

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
94 CBR 600









Anyone know how to bypass an ignition?

On my 93 F2 project, I'm trying to test out the wiring harness to determine whether I need to re-wire the whole thing. Problem is that I don't have a key for the time being. I've disconnected the ignition switch from it's harness and have power supplied. I've tried to jump the powered wire to the other wires w/ no success. Anyone else have any experience in doing this?
Slingblade92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
V.A.T.S System bypass wolverine1 Car Forum 15 10-10-2014 10:30 AM
Rider down on alvin bypass. I Need $$$ General Discussion (Moto Related) 19 09-19-2012 09:12 PM
kickstand killswitch BYPASS... HOW? Pre-K Taking it to the Track 16 06-09-2008 11:45 PM
How to Bypass Internet Security? DvlRacer Off Topic 13 06-06-2008 04:19 PM
Bouncer Bypass Ramius Off Topic 1 09-04-2006 05:05 AM
Advertisement
Old 12-28-2006, 11:05 PM   #2
arturo3rd
OG Sheriff/ Boss
 
arturo3rd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Meadows Place, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 14,068

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2015 HD Forty Eight









i would think all you need is a jumber cabe or some kind of connection between the terminals. have you tried taking the ignition assemble apart?
__________________
motobanner new
arturo3rd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 11:07 PM   #3
josh302
Senior Member
 
josh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: fiddy house
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 1,727


Bike(s):
shotgun
rifle
4wd







I think on the old-schools like that one there is only three wires. pm me and I will tell you how to start it.
__________________
SCREW PAYPAL.COM
josh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 11:15 PM   #4
Slingblade92
Azzhole
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Deer Park, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 224

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
94 CBR 600









Sorry for not fully explaining. There is no motor currently on the bike. It's just a rolling frame. While I'm hunting down a motor and stuff, I'm making sure the wiring is all intact as the frame sat outside in the weather for a while. I'm just trying to get power from the battery to the lights atm. I'm going to be testing the whole harness before I drop a motor in it.
Slingblade92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 12:11 AM   #5
buddha429
Reformed Track Addict
 
buddha429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 2,884

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
at the junkyard









make sure the harness is grounded where its supposed to be and jump the three wires at the ignition
buddha429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 12:57 AM   #6
Romeo36
Mother****ersi'llkillyou
 
Romeo36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: stinkadena
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,326

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
sv650,rc51,gsxr750,6oo,sdg107









Send a message via AIM to Romeo36
i ive got a motor carbs wiring coils all that stuff
Romeo36 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 02:51 AM   #7
dbuck
Stayin' Young
 
dbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NW Houston BW8/290
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 19,626

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
02 Honda Superhawk









Send a message via AIM to dbuck
Quote:
Originally Posted by vfracer-r
If you're not in a hurry (obviously you aren't if you don't have an engine...) just take the ignition tumbler assembly to have a key made at a locksmith. Only costs about $30 and you get a key that fits the bike.
I concur!!!!
dbuck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 11:55 AM   #8
MadseasoN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: 77002
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 5,603

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











At the ignition switch:
The red wire comes from the starter relay/bus and is basically the 'hot' wire.
The black and orange goes to the fan motor (via the fuse box)
The red and black supplies power to the rest of the bike.

This is for the F3 which I'm sure it's the same as the F2.

Last edited by MadseasoN; 12-29-2006 at 11:59 AM.
MadseasoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 11:56 AM   #9
BigComfy
Senior Member
 
BigComfy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: under a rock
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 24,323

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
SV1k (sold)
CRB6 Track Bike (sold)
Daytona 1200 (parted)
1st Gen FZ1 (sold)
1st Gen SV650 (sold)

Member Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by denhou1974
At the ignition switch:
The red wire comes from the starter relay and is basically the 'hot' wire.
The black and orange goes to the fan motor (via the fuse box)
The red and black supplies power to the rest of the bike.
Sticky please:laughing6
__________________
"I haven't seen the crash, but I think Marc needs to be penalized for two or three seasons! Until I stop racing!"-VR46
BigComfy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 12:04 PM   #10
Mr. Unassailable
1-20-2013-Change we need
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 19,792

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





I am going to put a kill switch and a button start on my project bike.. its gona be PIMP, all hidden on the bottom of the swing arm so no one knows where it is... DOH!!!! i gotta find a new spot now :laughing6,
ok seriously, i am going to have the switch and kill button like a CR50 without a key. it will be dope, Havent figured out how i am going to get gas into my gas tank though, thats the problem with stealing bikes, you can hot wire them but you cant get gas in the tank.., DOH!!! (joking, i bought the bike from stunter dude and it was ignitionless and keyless. so i am trying to find a way into the gas tank.. any thoughts?)
__________________
Retired
tracksig
Mr. Unassailable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 12:06 PM   #11
MadseasoN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: 77002
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 5,603

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











Quote:
Originally Posted by Clayton9698
I am going to put a kill switch and a button start on my project bike.. its gona be PIMP, all hidden on the bottom of the swing arm so no one knows where it is... DOH!!!! i gotta find a new spot now :laughing6,
ok seriously, i am going to have the switch and kill button like a CR50 without a key. it will be dope, Havent figured out how i am going to get gas into my gas tank though, thats the problem with stealing bikes, you can hot wire them but you cant get gas in the tank.., DOH!!! (joking, i bought the bike from stunter dude and it was ignitionless and keyless. so i am trying to find a way into the gas tank.. any thoughts?)
You can always get a keyless gas cap. They use 'em on race bikes.
MadseasoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 09:30 PM   #12
Slingblade92
Azzhole
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Deer Park, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 224

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
94 CBR 600









Well, went down and had a key made today. put it all back, connected back up, turn the key and still got no lights. I'm getting power to the headlight w/ the switch in the on position, and no power in the off position. So I'm not thinking the ignition switch is bad anymore. All the fuses are still good and I've even taken some brand new ones to use just to be sure. About the only thing that I can think of now is that the kill switch is stuck in the kill position, but I didn't think that the motor in kill position affected the lights?
I traced back the headlight wires and all are in good shape, getting power when ignition switched on and no power when off.

I'm at a loss for the time being...anyone have any other suggestions?

:BangHead: :BangHead: :BangHead: :BangHead: :BangHead:


btw, thanks for the replies thus far
Slingblade92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 10:17 PM   #13
buddha429
Reformed Track Addict
 
buddha429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 2,884

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
at the junkyard









so explain what you're trying to do. is there even an engine in there?
buddha429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 10:28 PM   #14
Slingblade92
Azzhole
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Deer Park, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 224

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
94 CBR 600









No, there is no motor attached. Basically what I'm trying to do while looking for the motor and stuff is see if the wiring harness is good or do I need to re-wire it. The frame sat outside in the weather for at least 1 year. I've taken the headlight, turn signals, and rear lights off the bike and put power straight to them and they all work. I'm trying to figure out why it won't work when they're attached to the bike and the switch is turned to 'on'. I'm new to this, but electrical should still work whether there is a motor present or not.
Slingblade92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 10:41 PM   #15
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Let me look tomorrow, I may still have a schematic for your bike.
Give me a shout at the shop mid-morning and I'll check.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 11:42 PM   #16
buddha429
Reformed Track Addict
 
buddha429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 2,884

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
at the junkyard









Quote:
Originally Posted by buddha429
make sure the harness is grounded where its supposed to be and jump the three wires at the ignition
the harness is supposed to be grounded to the frame either under the gas tank or on the subframe somewhere. check with patrick tomorrow ^^^^^
buddha429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 12:21 AM   #17
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
i have got mine hotwired at the moment. the keyed ignition still works, but not the starter button. i think i am going to do something similar to what clayton was talking about. a hidden starter switch somewhere on the bike.

now i just have to find out what kind of wiring, and what kind of switch would be strong enough to support that.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 01:09 AM   #18
buddha429
Reformed Track Addict
 
buddha429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 2,884

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
at the junkyard









what kinda bike? i have one off a f4i with a broken kill switch, but the starter switch still works.
buddha429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 01:19 AM   #19
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
95 f3
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 01:24 AM   #20
buddha429
Reformed Track Addict
 
buddha429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 2,884

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
at the junkyard









i'll go look for it on tues when my friend opens shop again. dont know if itll fit, but u can have it if i find it, unless u can take pics of the plug coming off ur ignition.
buddha429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy