Welcome back to us :/ Our hosts data center was down for the entire day.
MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2012, 01:16 AM   #1
CraigRR
CMRA # 147
 
CraigRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Crosby
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 8,871

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2009 Honda CBR 1000RR ABS
2011 EX250NinjaR
2001 Yamaha TTR-L (sold to Jimrad)
2015 KTM RC 390 CUP






GSXR 750 or 1000 engine in a 600 chasis?

Can it be done? How much??
CraigRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gsxr 600/750/1000 owners, flash ecu? RACER X General Discussion (Moto Related) 7 04-08-2010 02:08 PM
Engine switch 600 to 750 questions? 02hondacivic Performance and Modifications 0 02-06-2008 04:48 PM
Engine switch 600 to 750 questions? HoustonGixxer Performance and Modifications 16 01-31-2008 02:39 PM
k6 gsxr 600 engine swap ??? 02hondacivic Performance and Modifications 5 10-17-2007 11:36 AM
600, vs 750, vs 1000 BykeBoyWannabe General Discussion (Moto Related) 22 02-06-2006 08:47 PM
Advertisement
Old 01-18-2012, 01:22 AM   #2
tino
Senior Member
 
tino's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: North Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 1,099

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
'05 ZX-10R
'03 HONDA 50








assuming on an 04-05? yes, it can and has been done numerous times. 750 swap is the easiest with a direct fit. the 1000 will require special brackets depending on what yr 1000 motor you use. i don't remember what site i saw the brackets on, but i'm sure another member can point you in the right direction.
tino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 01:57 AM   #3
tino
Senior Member
 
tino's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: North Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 1,099

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
'05 ZX-10R
'03 HONDA 50








found the site for the 1000 mounts
http://www.hybridracing.ca/Home.asp
tino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 07:30 AM   #4
CraigRR
CMRA # 147
 
CraigRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Crosby
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 8,871

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2009 Honda CBR 1000RR ABS
2011 EX250NinjaR
2001 Yamaha TTR-L (sold to Jimrad)
2015 KTM RC 390 CUP






Quote:
Originally Posted by tinodc5 View Post
found the site for the 1000 mounts
http://www.hybridracing.ca/Home.asp
Thank you!
CraigRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 10:19 AM   #5
GsxrRcr369
Senior Member
 
GsxrRcr369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Baytown, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,778

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2014 CRF 50 (#1)
2014 CRF 50 (#2)
Schwinn XS Pro Modified 2







I put an '06 1k in my '04 750 a couple months ago. The motor swap itself is pretty easy with the mounts. I didnt post a lot of pictures since I was doing it all by myself and it was tough to manhandle motors and hold a camera at the same time. Biggest pain for me was the wiring and the air box but with a little time and effort I got it all worked out.

http://www.motohouston.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=173931
GsxrRcr369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 11:32 PM   #6
Infinite
night prowler
 
Infinite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Hobby
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,549

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
08 CBR 600RR (sold)
06 GSXR 600 (sold)
07 Ninja 250 (sold)
93 CBR 900 (sold)
06 RC51 (sold)






how much work would it be to drop a 750 in, electrical wise. can you keep the same ecu and harness? i saw a wrecked 600 i thought about picking up for dirt cheap as a project
Infinite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 11:45 PM   #7
Solracer
MotoHouston.com Owner.
 
Solracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kemah Area
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 28,903

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2006 YZF600R (Street)
2009 Iron 883



Member Garage


pretty much all gens will swap out with each other.

If you have an 86 you can put a 2000 era 1200 in em! :eek:
__________________
Chris
Solracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 11:51 PM   #8
CraigRR
CMRA # 147
 
CraigRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Crosby
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 8,871

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2009 Honda CBR 1000RR ABS
2011 EX250NinjaR
2001 Yamaha TTR-L (sold to Jimrad)
2015 KTM RC 390 CUP






Interesting.. But I am probobally better off buying a 1000 because the bike is designed for it. Don't want to over load a frame to failure....
CraigRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy