MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2011, 09:09 PM   #21
v4lu3s
Senior Member
 
v4lu3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conroe
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,381

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
2003 CBR 600 F4i -- Sold




Member Garage


i have had a ddmtuning kit on my cbr for 4 years now without an issue.
v4lu3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats your Idle set at for stunting ? ANTISOCIAL Stunters Lounge 24 09-17-2009 08:41 PM
Whats a good pitbike????? moto187 Dirtbikes, Mini's, ATV's..... 17 05-06-2009 10:44 PM
whats a good camara lanzer913 Off Topic 26 03-25-2009 07:17 PM
Where to buy good HID setup rugbystar13 General Discussion (Moto Related) 4 10-26-2008 12:36 PM
Whats a good stunt bike????? CrAzE Stunters Lounge 30 01-12-2007 09:18 PM
Advertisement
Old 12-27-2011, 09:10 PM   #22
Mr F.
Throbbing Member
 
Mr F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,096


Bike(s):
- The bike I own
- All the bikes I used to own which I still list so everyone on the forums will know how cool I am








Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasCBR1000rr View Post
ok thx for the info i will def do that this week
No problem, you have to really be careful with running something as advanced as a xenon ballast off of wiring that is made to handle the load of a simple halogen bulb.

Halogen headlamps pull 5 to 10 amps depending on the wattage. a 35w hid kit will pull up to 20 amps on startup per ballast, then taper down to 3-5 amps. Think of what that would do to wiring that's made to run half of that over time.
Mr F. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 09:43 PM   #23
AiJay
AJ... that's the name.
 
AiJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sprang
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 5,299

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
Huffy 10sp









Send a message via AIM to AiJay Send a message via MSN to AiJay
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr F. View Post
No problem, you have to really be careful with running something as advanced as a xenon ballast off of wiring that is made to handle the load of a simple halogen bulb.

Halogen headlamps pull 5 to 10 amps depending on the wattage. a 35w hid kit will pull up to 20 amps on startup per ballast, then taper down to 3-5 amps. Think of what that would do to wiring that's made to run half of that over time.
+1. I guess that's one thing I failed to mention on my car set (same for bikes) is that I have a dedicated 10ga fused lead to power the ballasts from the battery and the stock wiring is strictly just used for my steering wheel arm controls. I'm sure I would have fried the stock wiring a long time ago trying to pull that much juice though some 20ga wiring.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squoddybody View Post
I prefer the bukkakke facial.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squoddybody View Post
That and piitb.
AiJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 10:05 PM   #24
dow jones
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: D F Dub
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 74

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
05 R6 Raven









I bought my set two years ago from Kryptonbulbs.com as they recieved pretty good reviews from the R6 forums. So far I have put about 12,000 miles on them without failure or replacement. I have the 5000K kit.
dow jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 10:16 PM   #25
TexasCBR1000rr
Honda Rules
 
TexasCBR1000rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 555

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2006 HONDA CBR 1000RR




Member Garage


how can i use a relay when my battery is under my seat most relays dont reach that far
__________________
TexasCBR1000rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 10:20 PM   #26
v4lu3s
Senior Member
 
v4lu3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conroe
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,381

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
2003 CBR 600 F4i -- Sold




Member Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasCBR1000rr View Post
how can i use a relay when my battery is under my seat most relays dont reach that far
perhaps you could use a wire to go from the battery to the relay?
v4lu3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 10:26 PM   #27
AiJay
AJ... that's the name.
 
AiJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sprang
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 5,299

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
Huffy 10sp









Send a message via AIM to AiJay Send a message via MSN to AiJay
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasCBR1000rr View Post
how can i use a relay when my battery is under my seat most relays dont reach that far
Relay's are just a module, you can extend the wires are far as you need with some female clips.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squoddybody View Post
I prefer the bukkakke facial.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squoddybody View Post
That and piitb.
AiJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 10:31 PM   #28
TexasCBR1000rr
Honda Rules
 
TexasCBR1000rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 555

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2006 HONDA CBR 1000RR




Member Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Aijay View Post
Relay's are just a module, you can extend the wires are far as you need with some female clips.
thats what i was thinking
__________________
TexasCBR1000rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 10:37 PM   #29
AiJay
AJ... that's the name.
 
AiJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sprang
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 5,299

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
Huffy 10sp









Send a message via AIM to AiJay Send a message via MSN to AiJay
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasCBR1000rr View Post
thats what i was thinking
Yep. Basically your relay is going tell your wiring to draw power from your battery when you start up (or click over to high beams if you run a dual beam HID) instead of sending the power through the stock wiring.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squoddybody View Post
I prefer the bukkakke facial.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squoddybody View Post
That and piitb.
AiJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 10:39 PM   #30
TexasCBR1000rr
Honda Rules
 
TexasCBR1000rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 555

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2006 HONDA CBR 1000RR




Member Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Aijay View Post
Yep. Basically your relay is going tell your wiring to draw power from your battery when you start up (or click over to high beams if you run a dual beam HID) instead of sending the power through the stock wiring.
i have single beams, one low one high dont know why honda did that but ok, i just splice the neg and pos and extend them and be good with it
__________________
TexasCBR1000rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 01:09 AM   #31
Hung
Yes that's my name.
 
Hung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 865

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2010 Yamaha R6
2012 Kawasaki Ninja 250R
2002 Suzuki SV650N
2005 Honda CBR 600RR (Stolen, Recovered)
2009 Kawasaki Ninja 250R (Sold)






Everyone I know that has HID's on their bikes uses DDM kits. I don't own one myself yet but so far no complaints from them.
Hung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 01:25 AM   #32
mkgsxr
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atascosita
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 6,081

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
07 GSXR 600 "TRACK "
03 XR70 PIT








User is banned

.
mkgsxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 01:46 AM   #33
jptshadow
slow down~ fellas
 
jptshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: 288 & 610
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 804

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
FZ1 & TMax (current)
TL1000R (stolen)
GSX400R (stolen)
RGV250 (stolen)
Fuzzy 150 (impounded by dad)

Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasCBR1000rr View Post
i have single beams, one low one high dont know why honda did that but ok, i just splice the neg and pos and extend them and be good with it
The high beam side is prolly H4, which u can split wire from low beam side and make it light on at low beam as well. So basically at low beam, both side on ; at high beam, the high beam side will still do its job.

All my vehicles use DDM for almost one year, and haven't had problems.
__________________
Contacts don't cause problems; you do

Last edited by jptshadow; 12-28-2011 at 01:49 AM.
jptshadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 01:48 AM   #34
mkgsxr
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atascosita
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 6,081

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
07 GSXR 600 "TRACK "
03 XR70 PIT








User is banned

.
mkgsxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 02:30 AM   #35
TexasCBR1000rr
Honda Rules
 
TexasCBR1000rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 555

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2006 HONDA CBR 1000RR




Member Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by jptshadow View Post
The high beam side is prolly H4, which u can split wire from low beam side and make it light on at low beam as well. So basically at low beam, both side on ; at high beam, the high beam side will still do its job.

All my vehicles use DDM for almost one year, and haven't had problems.
both are h7
__________________
TexasCBR1000rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 05:06 AM   #36
theonepr83
king of 600 zx6r 636
 
theonepr83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 529

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2013 soft tail slim
2007 gsxr 600 my ex
2006 636




Have to put the ballast in a cool spot if not the heat of the bike will cook the ballast they can't stand so much heat
__________________
theonepr83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 10:58 AM   #37
TexasCBR1000rr
Honda Rules
 
TexasCBR1000rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: texas
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 555

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2006 HONDA CBR 1000RR




Member Garage


i dont have many places to put them i just zip tie them to my stay bracket
__________________
TexasCBR1000rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 11:08 AM   #38
The -_-Asian
Axios!
 
The -_-Asian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Roe Roe, La
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 840

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 5

Bike(s):
2011 CBR 250R
04 CBR 600RR








Send a message via AIM to The -_-Asian Send a message via Skype™ to The -_-Asian
Idiot... hehe I just got a set for my girl's car and installed last night. Came with the relay kit but haven't installed it yet. Just wanted to see them work. Spending time to rr run wires this weekend... 2010 accord v6 sucks under the hood as far as trying to find a good place to mount the ballasts...
__________________
^_^I Love Rice!^_^
The -_-Asian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 11:17 AM   #39
Joshua42007
Senior Member
 
Joshua42007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 3,627

Experience: 1-3 months

Bike(s):
06' GSX-R 1000









ddmtuning.com FTW! /thread.


Recent orders that I have made. (1of 2 accounts)

Order Number Order Date Shipping Status Order Total
89407-1 05/27/2010 SHIPPED $54.29
107696-1 08/21/2010 SHIPPED $97.32
120912-1 10/10/2010 SHIPPED $72.67
123588-1 10/20/2010 SHIPPED $65.07
135280-1 11/29/2010 SHIPPED $82.99
137817-1 12/06/2010 SHIPPED $98.62
149933-1 01/06/2011 SHIPPED $156.25
162357-1 02/21/2011 SHIPPED $130.11
175286-1 04/05/2011 SHIPPED $64.56
180906-1 04/25/2011 SHIPPED $99.94
189581-1 05/31/2011 SHIPPED $100.93
233331-1 12/13/2011 SHIPPED $97.46
Joshua42007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 11:28 AM   #40
floyd600
Grip it and Rip it!!
 
floyd600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Missouri city
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 7,235

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
07 R6 Track/Race (sold)
08 R6 Track/Race-RIP








http://ddmtuning.com/Product-Categor...hting/HID-Kits

this are the best one I've ever used.. the ballas are so small that its so easy to use on the bike.. not that big box that the $40 bucks HID comes with.. fk that!
floyd600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy