MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2006, 06:31 PM   #1
jkcole900rr
Senior Member
 
jkcole900rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: friendswood
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 231


Bike(s):
95 cbr900rr 97 cbr900rr (parts) 03 honda xr50









Send a message via Yahoo to jkcole900rr
add switch to fan

i drive a cbr 95 900rr and have a problem with it overheating found out its not a problem but i wanted to put a switch so i can it on and off when i please cause it dosent come on till the needle is almost pegged to hot i got everything i need and a wireing diagrame so dose anyone have any experence with this or any suggestions
i have switch wire electrical tape and clamps to connect wire
jkcole900rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Made the switch! Hotwheelscamaro Cruisers Lounge 12 10-26-2014 11:45 PM
Ignition switch suzukifein How To's and Q & A's 5 06-25-2011 10:09 AM
Deadman's switch - How to Solracer Motorcycle Articles 25 01-26-2008 06:30 PM
Kill switch? sixshooter1125 How To's and Q & A's 13 11-29-2007 09:34 AM
f4i mauel radiator fan switch help stunterdude How To's and Q & A's 4 05-02-2007 06:09 PM
Advertisement
Old 11-02-2006, 06:37 PM   #2
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











i did this to my 929, may have a wiring diagram around...i know i also wrote directions down in another forum a while back...i think on rrzone or cbrworld, i'll look it up
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 06:39 PM   #3
jkcole900rr
Senior Member
 
jkcole900rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: friendswood
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 231


Bike(s):
95 cbr900rr 97 cbr900rr (parts) 03 honda xr50









Send a message via Yahoo to jkcole900rr
thanks that would be very help full pm me when u figure it out
jkcole900rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 06:39 PM   #4
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











...later on tonight or tomorrow...whenever i get the chance...but can't at work
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 06:42 PM   #5
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











Quote:
Originally Posted by hotnanas


I POSTED THIS IN RRZONE.COM

I live in HOT Houston TX, with a lot of traffic. Yep. So this is what I did to my 929. I stuck a toggle switch into that hole by the tank. Then I ran one wire to a ground on the fan. The other wire from the toggle switch I spliced into the wire going from the thermostat to the fan. Voila, you can now manually control your fan. Also, it kicks on at 215 if I forget. But I haven't had it get that high since my toggle switch-fan wiring mod.

Do I get any approval?

I really don't need it, I know, and I approve. Plus my bike loves me for the temp."
there we are
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 06:42 PM   #6
therky42
Senior Member
 
therky42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,636


Bike(s):
2006 VTX 1300C, YZ 250









try www.cbrextreme.com, they have all kinds of helpful info for hondas on there,
__________________
:topsecret
therky42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 06:45 PM   #7
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











i used to have pics of this mod and many others, but my comp crashed and i lossed my web server...:BangHead:
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 06:57 PM   #8
jkcole900rr
Senior Member
 
jkcole900rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: friendswood
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 231


Bike(s):
95 cbr900rr 97 cbr900rr (parts) 03 honda xr50









Send a message via Yahoo to jkcole900rr
thanks for the link therky42 and hotnanas cool no need to rush i have all winter lol but yea when ever u get a chance just letme know ty for the help guys i will keep yall posted if i make ay progress myself
kyle
jkcole900rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 09:00 AM   #9
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











yea, its simple to do, a cheap toggle switch, one side to ground, the other side to the thermostat (pos) wire (do not cut that wire, just splice into it...if you do your fan will not automatically switch on)...and make sure you use a great multimeter, and have a few extra fuses on hand...
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 05:46 AM   #10
jkcole900rr
Senior Member
 
jkcole900rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: friendswood
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 231


Bike(s):
95 cbr900rr 97 cbr900rr (parts) 03 honda xr50









Send a message via Yahoo to jkcole900rr
ok so i should fuse it i thought so but didnt get the fuse link what amp fuse should i use
jkcole900rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 08:22 AM   #11
Gigolo Jason
 
Gigolo Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Magnolia, Texas (AKA: in the woods)
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,318

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
BMW R1200C






I have a 954. Do you track your bike? If not go Evens, you will never have a problem with your coolant again.
Gigolo Jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 12:15 PM   #12
jkcole900rr
Senior Member
 
jkcole900rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: friendswood
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 231


Bike(s):
95 cbr900rr 97 cbr900rr (parts) 03 honda xr50









Send a message via Yahoo to jkcole900rr
no dont track it yet would like to someday but there are more things i need to learn but evens is that a brand of coolant? hm if so interesting i will def have to try it ty
jkcole900rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2006, 08:54 PM   #13
04RSVR
Professional Jack @ss
 
04RSVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: League City
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,195

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
BMW K1200 R Sport
Honda 305 Superhawk project bike
working on a motoped







I did this on a gsxr once. I just ran the wires off the thermostat switch so when i flipped the switch it closed the circuit. Any fuse needed was part of the system already. I was just bypassing the thermostat switch.

I recommend solder and shrink-wrap!
__________________
I believe in luck. The harder I work the more luck I seem to have.

"It is better to ride a slow bike fast, than a fast bike slow." -- Mann
04RSVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2006, 08:56 PM   #14
bikerboyz
Senior Member
 
bikerboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,438












ya dude i got a 94 900rr allso and trust me that bike gets so hot fast if it sits in traffic along time but rather than that it drives fine
bikerboyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 07:05 PM   #15
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











any luck on this? like 04rsvr said, the fuse is already part of the system...it's easy to do...
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 07:06 PM   #16
A303
Senior Member
 
A303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Stafford, Texas
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,197

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
00 929rr(sold)/01 929rr









Send a message via AIM to A303
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotnanas
any luck on this? like 04rsvr said, the fuse is already part of the system...it's easy to do...
yeah shoulnt be too bad, we did all my lights on my 929
A303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy