MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 08-19-2011, 05:24 AM   #1
TheCyclist
TheCyclist
 
TheCyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conroe/Woodlands
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 120

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2007 R6 (Pearl White)









Trying to figure out a CBR600 07 harness to fit on a 08 600rr? Need help, please help

Okay, I am not sure how many people can assist with this but I am unsure of why a 07 harness would be different from an 08 harness. I have a 08 and my diode got fried by accident due to ground issues. So now I have my new 07 harness installed but I have this one open plug that is preventing me from starting the bike or having it crank.

Any ideas? I have already asked 600rr.net

Picture:
IMG 20110819 035003

Please help me out because I am getting driven crazy not being able to ride.
TheCyclist is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will 08-09 r6 fairings fit 06-07 r6 fairings? AYEELE General Discussion (Moto Related) 6 02-19-2011 03:03 PM
Would 08/09 R6 fairings fit on 06/07? Both Non S. viper3ez Performance and Modifications 7 02-15-2010 06:10 AM
07-08 600RR owners 1slocbr How To's and Q & A's 1 01-23-2009 04:22 PM
Will 03 600rr fit 05-06 600rr parts?? flip326 General Discussion (Moto Related) 10 01-22-2009 03:18 AM
07 or 08 600RR OTD RojerLockless General Discussion (Moto Related) 5 05-06-2008 03:56 PM
Advertisement
Old 08-19-2011, 05:51 AM   #2
Bevo
Hook 'em!
 
Bevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston-The South Loop
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 24,304

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
'12 CBR1000RR Red/Black
'14 CB1000R Matte Gray
'10 CBR1000RR (destroyed)
'09 CBR1000RR C-ABS (sold)
'09 CBR600RR C-ABS (sold)

Member Garage





You might just have to break down and buy a '08 harness
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bumblebee View Post
"I lack skillz"
Bevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 07:24 AM   #3
camaroz2866
Senior Member
 
camaroz2866's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 4,142

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
2008 cbr1000rr









How many wires is it, were is it located, look at your 08 harness n see if it's on their as well or what is at that location. Check wire color comparison. Check the ecu pins to see if they match up to your ecu/ 08 harness bs 07.

I bet they are diff though but u have to check all those things first
__________________
2008 cbr1000rr , 95 camaro z28, 2007gsxr750, 2003 busa le,99 r1,
97 gsxr 600(shrad)sold2005 r6 (sold)2001 camaro ss(sold),98 r1(sold), 00 f4(sold), ninja 250(sold),01 r6(sold)
camaroz2866 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 12:56 PM   #4
Rachy Rach
Nut up or Shut up!
 
Rachy Rach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Conroe
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 552

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
07 Yamaha r6 - Sold :(






If the 600s are like the liter bikes then the 07 and 08 are two different model types.

If they changed the 08s then you have to manipulate the wires to fit.

It's prolly a better idea to go ahead and get an 08 harness.
Rachy Rach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 01:55 PM   #5
floyd600
Grip it and Rip it!!
 
floyd600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Missouri city
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 7,235

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
07 R6 Track/Race (sold)
08 R6 Track/Race-RIP








I had the same problem with my bike... I try to swap the wire harness and it didnt work for some reason.. how ever.. all the plugs did fit but it just didnt fired up!

I had to take the same wire harness that I had damaged and just repair it! then after installing the whole wire harness again... it fired right up!

see if you could repair the old wire harness.
floyd600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 02:10 PM   #6
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






They are 2 different harnesses. I don't believe that they interchange.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 06:24 AM   #7
TheCyclist
TheCyclist
 
TheCyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conroe/Woodlands
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 120

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2007 R6 (Pearl White)









Quote:
Originally Posted by floyd600 View Post
I had the same problem with my bike... I try to swap the wire harness and it didnt work for some reason.. how ever.. all the plugs did fit but it just didnt fired up!

I had to take the same wire harness that I had damaged and just repair it! then after installing the whole wire harness again... it fired right up!

see if you could repair the old wire harness.
There is no way, it fried my entire fuse box and melted it to a hunk of plastic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick View Post
They are 2 different harnesses. I don't believe that they interchange.
Ya I found that out but the plug that is pictured is actually just a purge valve. So what I need to figure out where the neutral switch wire is and make sure it is connected properly, do you happen to know where it would be located Patrick? I would honestly bring it in if I could but I don't have a truck or way to move it.
TheCyclist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 06:55 AM   #8
camaroz2866
Senior Member
 
camaroz2866's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 4,142

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
2008 cbr1000rr









Where are you located and I might be able to help u get it to us at Motorcycles Unlimited
__________________
2008 cbr1000rr , 95 camaro z28, 2007gsxr750, 2003 busa le,99 r1,
97 gsxr 600(shrad)sold2005 r6 (sold)2001 camaro ss(sold),98 r1(sold), 00 f4(sold), ninja 250(sold),01 r6(sold)
camaroz2866 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 11:27 AM   #9
TheCyclist
TheCyclist
 
TheCyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conroe/Woodlands
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 120

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2007 R6 (Pearl White)









Lake Conroe/Montgomery area
TheCyclist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 11:34 AM   #10
TheCyclist
TheCyclist
 
TheCyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conroe/Woodlands
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 120

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2007 R6 (Pearl White)









Also, I did locate the neutral switch wire and oil pressure wire that are connected and that is where my last ground wire was fried so I am not sure of how I could bypass the neutral switch to just make sure it turns over. Any idea of how to bypass it properly so it will start in any gear with clutch in?
Thanks
TheCyclist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy