MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2006, 09:44 AM   #1
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
Exclamation F3 help ( again )

okay, so the f3 had been running great, put about 30-40 miles on her since i got her outta the shop.

well, i went to work sat night thru monday morning. mon. morning, she wont start. all the lights work, dim when i hit the starter switch, but nothing else happens. starter doesnt turn or click or anything.

i let the bike sit all of monday, got up this morning, and she fired right up no problems, let her run for about 5-10 minutes. shut her off.

another 10 minutes later, tried to start her up and again, lights dim when i hit the switch, but noting else happens.

could this be the starter relay? i read something about that on cbrforum, but im not sure.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re doing my 95 f3 smcoates03 General Discussion (Moto Related) 1 04-22-2014 06:21 PM
cbr f3 help ozCBRgod How To's and Q & A's 8 11-19-2009 12:23 PM
F3 Issue DvlRacer How To's and Q & A's 16 06-20-2009 07:41 AM
Nice F3!! Dreamer!! General Discussion (Moto Related) 17 07-10-2008 10:19 PM
My F3 CBR_Ryder General Discussion (Moto Related) 26 08-22-2006 04:03 PM
Advertisement
Old 10-03-2006, 11:17 AM   #2
ivtecnician
^tig welder^
 
ivtecnician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: humble area
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 258

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
05 gixxer 1000




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to ivtecnician Send a message via Yahoo to ivtecnician
clean your battery terminals
ivtecnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 11:51 AM   #3
del240z
MH's #1 HOBO
 
del240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Houston, tejas!!!
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 7,740

Experience: 7 years

Bike(s):
None at the moment..... :-(









=)

I'm Sorry brian I just had to do this....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	icanasodriveowned.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	33.7 KB
ID:	3075  
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by honorsdaddy View Post
So is refusing to give it up.

If you keep looking in the pantry and finding out its empty, eventually you go to a restaurant.
del240z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 12:31 PM   #4
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivtecnician
clean your battery terminals

terminals are clean, brand new battery too. :dontknow:
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 12:42 PM   #5
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Could either be the starter relay or the handlebar switch. As much as that bike had been outside, I'd also check for corrosion in all of the plugs between the two.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 12:46 PM   #6
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
im looking over the plugs now, there is a little bit of corrosion on some, but i dont think its enough to cause non start issues.

i pulled off the battery terminals, made sure they were clean, removed the relay, cleaned the contacts on it.

i just have no clue, its me off.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 12:49 PM   #7
MadseasoN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: 77002
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 5,603

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











You were having problems with the Neutral switch. Did you ever bypass it?

I'd try bypassing the Neutral switch and the clutch switch just to see if it'll start.
MadseasoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 12:52 PM   #8
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
whats the correct way to bypass the neutral switch?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 12:54 PM   #9
Silver Bullet
MISS U GWEN -R.I.P.
 
Silver Bullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Barker Cypress & FM529
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 575

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
99 CBR 600 F4
96 CBR 600 F3








I had a 96 F3 also. It did the same thing and I never could figure it out. I gave it to my Brother and it still does it but not as much as it did when I had it. He re-wired the whole bike and it didn't fix it. He put a new bat. in it and it worked fine for about a week and then started actin up again. Good luck on finding out what the problem is. If you do fix it let me know so I can help my bro out. Thanks man.
Silver Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 03:30 PM   #10
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
ok, i got it to start by push starting it. i let it warm up, and shut her off, and then the starter button worked to start it. let her run for a few minutes more and shut her off, yet again the start button didnt work. but i can bump start it and it runs.

could this still be the starter relay? or possibly the sidestand switch, because the switch is already messed up, i have to hold the stand with my foot, jerk the bike off the stand and kick the stand up or the bike will cut off.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 03:33 PM   #11
witchdoctor575
certified shutterbug
 
witchdoctor575's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 23,547

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
07 triumph D675(sold)
05 busa LE (sold)
03 rc51 (sold)
99 superhawk (wrecked)
01 shadow 1100 (sold)

Member Garage





+1 on the starter button. I had an old honda that every now and then that would happen to me. I added a push button to the relay and hid it under the seat. When the handlebar button acted up I just reached under and hit the added button.
witchdoctor575 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 03:44 PM   #12
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
i dont think its the button itself tho, i took the switches off, and all the connections are still soldered and clean, and the lights dim when i hit it, like its still drawing power. i dunno, at least i can pop start it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy