MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > Performance and Modifications
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2011, 01:25 AM   #1
afitz30
Beastmode
 
afitz30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Humble
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 9

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
GSXR 1000









ECU Flash vs Power Commander

I know I'm beating a dead horse by asking this question but thinking about having my ECU flashed instead of getting a power commander and would like some feedback before I do it. I have heard the positive and negatives of both but would like the opinion of some riders in my back yard that are for and against either. I'm riding on a 07 GSXR 1000 pretty much stock besides the slip on exhaust.

Thanks,
afitz30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ecu flash evogambino Performance and Modifications 8 10-21-2015 07:10 PM
Anyone know where I can get an ECU flash in houston? Adamhijazi1 Performance and Modifications 7 07-31-2015 12:09 PM
ECU Flash jimrad Performance and Modifications 13 03-23-2014 04:01 PM
flash my ecu plz KZEEY General Discussion (Moto Related) 9 06-02-2013 07:57 PM
ECU Flash pinball Performance and Modifications 2 02-24-2013 03:57 PM
Advertisement
Old 05-30-2011, 08:28 AM   #2
Chris24
Thread Savior
 
Chris24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 4,635

Experience: 8 years

Bike(s):
1979 Yamaha XS1100 Special









Send a message via AIM to Chris24 Send a message via MSN to Chris24 Send a message via Yahoo to Chris24
i doubt you would see much gain from either since your bike is pretty much stock.

upgrade the rider. buy the twist of the wrist books and dvd. do a couple of trackdays. no joke it would do more for you than a few hundred bucks worth of electronics.
__________________
Brought to you by Carls Jr.!
Chris24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 08:56 AM   #3
plummer
dude
 
plummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: dickinson
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,509


Bike(s):
k8 600
k13 600








Im curious how u flash Ur ecu? Anyone know how much something like that cost? Sry didn't mean to thread jack.
plummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 09:11 AM   #4
VicTOEmizer
GUEST
 
VicTOEmizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: seabrook tx
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 14,655

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
rc51 (sold)
TTR 125 :)
Buell xb12r (sold)
2013 z1000 (sold)
Ducati multistrada :)






To answer your first question in general what I tell people is that if there is a theoretical perfect tune for your bike then a good dynojet tuner can get it to 95% in hour. On the other hand someone experienced in ECU flashing will get your ECU to 99% but it will take them the better part of a day or longer.

So ECU flashing results will be 'better' but the cost in effort, time and/or money will be more in the long run. Yes you can do it yourself for 'free' providing you know what your doing.

The biggest downside to ecu flashing is that it is not "real-time". That is unlike the PC you can not adjust the ECU maps while the engine is running which requires a lot more trial and error to dial the maps in.

At this point the hybrid solution seems to be the best. Use ECU flashing to do the things a PC can't but still use the PC for fuel tuning.
VicTOEmizer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 10:14 AM   #5
Chuckster
Senior Member
 
Chuckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 2,428


Bike(s):
2006 Yamaha R1









I asked the same question on another forum for my R1. I was told that unless it's a track bike, the cost of a flash won't justify the gains for street use.
Chuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 10:26 AM   #6
Japawhat02
02 Tona
 
Japawhat02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: P-land
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 6,939

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
2002 Daytona









Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckster View Post
I asked the same question on another forum for my R1. I was told that unless it's a track bike, the cost of a flash won't justify the gains for street use.
This. The most bang for your buck is a re gear, and a basic tune.
__________________
2002 Brittish Rocket
Japawhat02 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 11:02 AM   #7
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,098

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








ECU editing can be used to operate quick shifters, nitrous controller, top speed limiter removal, rev limiter increase, and all the tuning functions of the PC or Bazzaz.
I wouldn't bother with it just for basic PC functions. I would not do either for a slip on.
bluewave18 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 02:38 AM   #8
afitz30
Beastmode
 
afitz30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Humble
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 9

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
GSXR 1000









Quote:
Originally Posted by rc51rider View Post
To answer your first question in general what I tell people is that if there is a theoretical perfect tune for your bike then a good dynojet tuner can get it to 95% in hour. On the other hand someone experienced in ECU flashing will get your ECU to 99% but it will take them the better part of a day or longer.

So ECU flashing results will be 'better' but the cost in effort, time and/or money will be more in the long run. Yes you can do it yourself for 'free' providing you know what your doing.

The biggest downside to ecu flashing is that it is not "real-time". That is unlike the PC you can not adjust the ECU maps while the engine is running which requires a lot more trial and error to dial the maps in.

At this point the hybrid solution seems to be the best. Use ECU flashing to do the things a PC can't but still use the PC for fuel tuning.
I found a spot online called GSXRtune that does it for $150.00, I want to see the potential it has, I'm not really sure about the PC. I have heard more good things about the ECU flash than the PC. While I agree it is the rider but it's also the performance of the machine as well.
afitz30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 07:21 AM   #9
v4lu3s
Senior Member
 
v4lu3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conroe
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 4,381

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
2003 CBR 600 F4i -- Sold




Member Garage


so for $150 they are going to put your bike on a dyno? or they ear going to reprogram something that may or may not work well on your bike and tell you it is worth 7 more hp because they made the tune for a bike that was similar to yours?
v4lu3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 07:23 AM   #10
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,098

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








Quote:
Originally Posted by v4lu3s View Post
so for $150 they are going to put your bike on a dyno? or they ear going to reprogram something that may or may not work well on your bike and tell you it is worth 7 more hp because they made the tune for a bike that was similar to yours?
Bingo
bluewave18 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 01:51 AM   #11
afitz30
Beastmode
 
afitz30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Humble
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 9

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
GSXR 1000









Yep
afitz30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 02:50 AM   #12
PYROBUG51
GMFS Racing
 
PYROBUG51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SPRING
Feedback Rating: (6)
Posts: 6,158


Bike(s):
06 GSXR 750 Track
06 R6 Track

04 ZX6RR NINJA (STOLEN)






Gimme 150 bucks and Ill tell you your bike has 7 more horses in it....and Ill throw in a sticker
PYROBUG51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 08:03 AM   #13
Chuckster
Senior Member
 
Chuckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 2,428


Bike(s):
2006 Yamaha R1









Just get a PC, have it tuned and call it a day. Changing maps on a PC is far easier and cheaper than ECU. Unless you plan on doing the stuff bluewave mentioned.
Chuckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 01:31 AM   #14
afitz30
Beastmode
 
afitz30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Humble
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 9

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
GSXR 1000









Talking

Well I had it done and in my opinion it has a little more torque than I expected. Took for a spin on the track and wow...it really goes harder than before, maybe I'm biased but I can feel the difference. The only part I don't like is it idles just a tad below 1k and have to learn the throttle again after a dead stop but I am pleased with the results of the ECU flash.
afitz30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 09:33 AM   #15
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,098

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








Why was the idle adjusted?
bluewave18 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 10:27 AM   #16
afitz30
Beastmode
 
afitz30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Humble
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 9

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
GSXR 1000









Not sure but it run great though!
afitz30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 10:45 AM   #17
camaroz2866
Senior Member
 
camaroz2866's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 4,142

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
2008 cbr1000rr









U realize it needs to idle at atleast 1100 to maintain battery charged..... And prefer 1200-1350
__________________
2008 cbr1000rr , 95 camaro z28, 2007gsxr750, 2003 busa le,99 r1,
97 gsxr 600(shrad)sold2005 r6 (sold)2001 camaro ss(sold),98 r1(sold), 00 f4(sold), ninja 250(sold),01 r6(sold)
camaroz2866 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 11:20 AM   #18
BigComfy
Senior Member
 
BigComfy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: under a rock
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 24,322

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
SV1k (sold)
CRB6 Track Bike (sold)
Daytona 1200 (parted)
1st Gen FZ1 (sold)
1st Gen SV650 (sold)

Member Garage


He got himself a $150 placebo!
BigComfy is online now   Reply With Quote
Liked this post:
Old 06-06-2011, 11:26 AM   #19
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






You can adjust the idle up.
Lift the tank and it's on the side of the tb.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 12:41 PM   #20
afitz30
Beastmode
 
afitz30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Humble
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 9

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
GSXR 1000









Quote:
Originally Posted by BigComfy View Post
He got himself a $150 placebo!
And it is MY $150 placebo!
afitz30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy