MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 05-26-2011, 11:18 PM   #1
Grimeybob
Senior Member
 
Grimeybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 221

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
'06 636 (SOLD)
'06 Triumph Daytona 675








Triumph Daytona 675 fuel problem

I have a 2006 Triumph Daytona 675 that I bought used not too long ago. Over the past 800 miles or so, I have noticed its been getting horrid gas mileage, ranging from 22-29mpg. My gas light usually comes on after having gone about 70-80 miles and i'll refill 2.6-3 gallons. It's never a consistent amount, and i'd say that i've been riding the bike pretty easy aswell.

At first, I thought maybe the power commander had something to do with it, the previous owner said he just had the basic map on it, and I really don't know anything about power commanders lol. I took it to Motorcycles Unlimited the other day and got that tuned. But today after having gone 104.7 miles, my bike ran out of gas. The miles were all highway miles, average speed about 70-80. When I got it to a gas station, I filled up and it only filled 3.5 gallons. (I had a friend bring me a little gas to get me to a station, I put in very little, maybe .1 or .2 gallons.) My manual says the bike has a 4.6 gallon tank too.

So basically, can anyone help me find out why it's getting such horrid gas mileage, and why the manual says I have a 4.6 gallon tank, but on an empty tank I can only fill about 3.5? Thanks!
Grimeybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Triumph Daytona 675 Review Dread6 General Discussion (Moto Related) 13 09-11-2011 06:22 PM
New Triumph 675 Daytona SE morvegil General Discussion (Moto Related) 31 10-25-2010 08:04 PM
triumph daytona 675 klassik General Discussion (Moto Related) 18 10-15-2009 12:37 AM
Triumph daytona 675 Tangy General Discussion (Moto Related) 31 10-30-2007 03:32 PM
Triumph Daytona 675 DaveJHotch General Discussion (Moto Related) 26 03-18-2006 08:25 PM
Advertisement
Old 05-27-2011, 12:11 AM   #2
thewingo
Senior Member
 
thewingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cypress
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 174

Experience: 9-12 months

Bike(s):
2011 H-D Iron...1200!






I have a Harley but the gas light comes on when I have 1 gallon left...just cuz the light is on doesn't mean you are completely empty, just like your car...as for mileage problems, can't help you there
thewingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 12:12 AM   #3
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,108

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








There is always some in the sump. Mine always takes about 3.5-4 when the light comes on .
You need to check your plugs, air filter and tune
bluewave18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 01:34 PM   #4
Grimeybob
Senior Member
 
Grimeybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 221

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
'06 636 (SOLD)
'06 Triumph Daytona 675








Alright, I'll try to check the plugs on my next day off. So basically I really only have about 3.5 usuable gallons for my tank?
Grimeybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 01:36 PM   #5
witchdoctor575
certified shutterbug
 
witchdoctor575's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Alvin
Feedback Rating: (11)
Posts: 23,547

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
07 triumph D675(sold)
05 busa LE (sold)
03 rc51 (sold)
99 superhawk (wrecked)
01 shadow 1100 (sold)

Member Garage





take the power commander off. that is an easy thing to check. you should be getting 40 out of that thing
witchdoctor575 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 01:42 PM   #6
zerobounds
Captain Concussion
 
zerobounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Katy
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,279

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
70









its the PC, disable or re-map.

also the comments above are notable with the gas capacity, i always fill up when my light comes on and I only put in 3.2ish at most. dont really care about my mileage though.
__________________
zerobounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 01:44 PM   #7
triumphant675r
Senior Member
 
triumphant675r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pasadena
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,683

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
'09 Triumph Daytona 675 Triple




Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimeybob View Post
Alright, I'll try to check the plugs on my next day off. So basically I really only have about 3.5 usuable gallons for my tank?
Check your manual, but the 09 model has .9 Gallons for reserve, which should get you 40-50 miles to the next gas station.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave C View Post
Anyone wear chaps with fishnet shirts? My friends give me for it, but I feel most comfortable this way. Just seeing if anyone else out there feels the same. Also looking for other men interested in riding.
triumphant675r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 01:46 PM   #8
BRYAN
Big and Cranky...
 
BRYAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: halfway to nowhere
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 3,256

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
A Trackbike
Another Trackbike
A Motard







Quote:
Originally Posted by witchdoctor575 View Post
take the power commander off. that is an easy thing to check. you should be getting 40 out of that thing

+1
__________________
BRYAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 03:02 PM   #9
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






First off, do you know if the bike has stock gearing or not?
Second, check your air filter.
Third, are you riding this in town or freeway?
If it's on the freeway what gear / rpm are you running at?
Last but not, least, what's your tire pressure at?
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 05:49 PM   #10
Grimeybob
Senior Member
 
Grimeybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 221

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
'06 636 (SOLD)
'06 Triumph Daytona 675








Don't know if it has stock gearing, previous owner didn't mention it when I asked about mods. Haven't checked air filter yet. All freeway miles to and from work. 6th gear on freeway... 7k rpms about iirc. And tire pressure is at 36-37 all around.
Grimeybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 05:58 PM   #11
scoutguy
pack leeder
 
scoutguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: west houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,391

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
08 Triumph Rocket III
95 Triumph Thunderbird
96 Triumph Daytona 1200-now Tojo92's toy
95 Triumph Speed Triple
KTM 990 ADV






Try Triumphrat.net and post your question to the guys over there. They should be able to help you out.
scoutguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 06:08 PM   #12
Grimeybob
Senior Member
 
Grimeybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 221

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
'06 636 (SOLD)
'06 Triumph Daytona 675








Quote:
Originally Posted by scoutguy View Post
Try Triumphrat.net and post your question to the guys over there. They should be able to help you out.
Alright, thanks.
Grimeybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 06:25 PM   #13
triumphant675r
Senior Member
 
triumphant675r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pasadena
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,683

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
'09 Triumph Daytona 675 Triple




Member Garage





also Triumph675.net
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave C View Post
Anyone wear chaps with fishnet shirts? My friends give me for it, but I feel most comfortable this way. Just seeing if anyone else out there feels the same. Also looking for other men interested in riding.
triumphant675r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 07:56 PM   #14
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






IF the pc had been flashed with the tuneboy than the PC could have an incompatble map.
If you'd like swing by and I can load a zero map in the PC and see if it improves, no charge.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 09:57 PM   #15
Grimeybob
Senior Member
 
Grimeybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 221

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
'06 636 (SOLD)
'06 Triumph Daytona 675








Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick View Post
IF the pc had been flashed with the tuneboy than the PC could have an incompatble map.
If you'd like swing by and I can load a zero map in the PC and see if it improves, no charge.
Is the zero map the same as just unplugging the PC?
Grimeybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 10:18 PM   #16
Tri
Senior Member
 
Tri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Arctic North
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 700

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2009 R6
2005 R6 - Sold :*[








are you pumping gas properly? gas pumps have an auto-cutoff when the fuel reaches the tip. you have to lift the tip of the pump to the tip of the tank and fill it completely for the 4.5 gal the manual mentioned.

if you completely ran out of gas and pumped only 3.5, it sounds like you might not be doing this.
__________________
YuT uGhhh

Tri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 11:58 PM   #17
Grimeybob
Senior Member
 
Grimeybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 221

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
'06 636 (SOLD)
'06 Triumph Daytona 675








Quote:
Originally Posted by Tri View Post
are you pumping gas properly? gas pumps have an auto-cutoff when the fuel reaches the tip. you have to lift the tip of the pump to the tip of the tank and fill it completely for the 4.5 gal the manual mentioned.

if you completely ran out of gas and pumped only 3.5, it sounds like you might not be doing this.
That might be it... I always put the nozzle all the way in and pump till it shuts off automatically... No one ever told me about that...
Grimeybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 08:31 AM   #18
zerobounds
Captain Concussion
 
zerobounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Katy
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,279

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
70









Don't rely on the auto cutoff, just watch it and stop when it gets to the top.
__________________
zerobounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy