Welcome back to us :/ Our hosts data center was down for the entire day.
MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 09-28-2006, 12:34 AM   #1
ivtecnician
^tig welder^
 
ivtecnician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: humble area
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 258

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
05 gixxer 1000




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to ivtecnician Send a message via Yahoo to ivtecnician
starting problem

ok so my sprocket and chain set comes in and i install them. i go to take the bike for a test drive and i dont get but 20 feet and it cuts off and doesnt want to start back up!
i didnt disconnect anything the motor turns but just wont start but my temperature gauge reads ------,104,105,106 but its cold hasnt ran all day
:BangHead: :BangHead:
ivtecnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R6 starting problem JP15 General Discussion (Moto Related) 3 04-23-2013 09:04 PM
Need Help: Starting Problem EverLucky1 How To's and Q & A's 5 12-04-2009 01:36 PM
cranking/starting problem ON1WHEEL How To's and Q & A's 12 01-01-2009 05:38 AM
problem starting my 50 ddtk3 Dirtbikes, Mini's, ATV's..... 32 10-09-2007 11:18 PM
Starting Problem ZeroG How To's and Q & A's 30 05-14-2006 04:48 AM
Advertisement
Old 09-28-2006, 12:47 AM   #2
josh302
Senior Member
 
josh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: fiddy house
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 1,727


Bike(s):
shotgun
rifle
4wd







turn the gas on
__________________
SCREW PAYPAL.COM
josh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 01:24 AM   #3
ivtecnician
^tig welder^
 
ivtecnician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: humble area
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 258

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
05 gixxer 1000




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to ivtecnician Send a message via Yahoo to ivtecnician
it has an electric pump i here it whine when i turn the key dang and i got to be at work in the morning
ivtecnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 02:29 AM   #4
zero4o3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 6,848












Send a message via AIM to zero4o3 Send a message via Yahoo to zero4o3
does it have gass in it though?
__________________
happyrider
zero4o3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 06:19 AM   #5
ivtecnician
^tig welder^
 
ivtecnician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: humble area
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 258

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
05 gixxer 1000




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to ivtecnician Send a message via Yahoo to ivtecnician
full tank
ivtecnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 06:19 AM   #6
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,368

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






When you installed the c/s sprocket, did you cut either the kick stand wires or gear position wires that run under there?
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 12:08 PM   #7
ivtecnician
^tig welder^
 
ivtecnician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: humble area
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 258

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
05 gixxer 1000




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to ivtecnician Send a message via Yahoo to ivtecnician
the gear position is the one on the sprocket cover? thats plugged in and working
is there a tip over sensor on these bikes
ivtecnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 01:59 AM   #8
ivtecnician
^tig welder^
 
ivtecnician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: humble area
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 258

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
05 gixxer 1000




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to ivtecnician Send a message via Yahoo to ivtecnician
ok i got it to run some how i drained the tank and put new fuel but now i wont rev past idle :BangHead: :BangHead: :BangHead: :BangHead:
ivtecnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 06:07 AM   #9
ivtecnician
^tig welder^
 
ivtecnician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: humble area
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 258

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
05 gixxer 1000




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to ivtecnician Send a message via Yahoo to ivtecnician
is it possible for the timing chain to jump timing when putting on a sprocket?
ivtecnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 06:10 AM   #10
paniro187
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 13,478












Quote:
Originally Posted by ivtecnician
is it possible for the timing chain to jump timing when putting on a sprocket?
no
paniro187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 06:14 AM   #11
FastLine
Motorcycle School
 
FastLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MSRH GSS TWS (Texas World Speedway)
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 13,881

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Instructing
Trackdays
Like
A
Boss






Gotta be the flux capacitor!!!!
FastLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 07:23 AM   #12
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,368

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






No,
Under the countershaft cover, there are three wires coming up from the gear position sensor. What you're talking about is the speedo pick up.
One question, how tight is your chain?
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 11:52 AM   #13
ivtecnician
^tig welder^
 
ivtecnician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: humble area
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 258

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
05 gixxer 1000




Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to ivtecnician Send a message via Yahoo to ivtecnician
oh i thought that was a type of speed sensor or pick-up of some type
could that sensor be bad
not too tight new chain
could the thickness of the front sprocket make a difference
how much would it be for you to go through the whole bike and let me know what needs to be serviced
ivtecnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy