MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2006, 07:44 AM   #1
MadseasoN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: 77002
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 5,603

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











Honda XR70 - Jumps to first

Friday I went and bought a 2002 Honda XR70. The bike runs good but jumps forward when you shift it into first. You gotta really hold the brake tight to keep it still.

Is this normal for these bikes?
MadseasoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ANYONE KNOW WHERE TO BUY XR70 PLASTICS mkgsxr General Discussion (Moto Related) 12 04-11-2012 07:18 AM
Honda XR70 Bars Moc05 Dirtbikes, Mini's, ATV's..... 0 03-03-2011 12:04 AM
Xr50 vs Xr70 vs TTR125... JuKeBoX Stunters Lounge 8 12-08-2010 01:00 PM
anyone got a clean xr70 carb?? paniro187 Mini's, Motards & Flattrack Racing 16 10-26-2010 11:18 AM
XR70 Problem TxSandman Dirtbikes, Mini's, ATV's..... 9 06-01-2008 06:30 PM
Advertisement
Old 09-05-2006, 07:46 AM   #2
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
if its an auto clutch, its going to do that, but it shouldnt be so hard you need to grab a handfull of brakes.

is it idling high? my 50 would do that if i had the idle set high, if its not the ilde, you may have to adjust the clutch.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 07:51 AM   #3
MadseasoN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: 77002
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 5,603

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











Quote:
Originally Posted by bentgixxer
if its an auto clutch, its going to do that, but it shouldnt be so hard you need to grab a handfull of brakes.

is it idling high? my 50 would do that if i had the idle set high, if its not the ilde, you may have to adjust the clutch.
It's an auto clutch.

If I'm not sitting on the bike and holding the brake when shifting to first it would take off on it's own. I'll check the idle.
MadseasoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 08:14 AM   #4
chasee69
ballin' outta control!
 
chasee69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 6,892

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
CRF 50






when i first got my 50 i tohught i still had to give it gas when shifting into first. bad idEA! but yeah the idle is probably too high. its amazing these things idle pretty low
__________________

ducatisignature
chasee69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 08:16 AM   #5
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
Quote:
Originally Posted by chasee69
when i first got my 50 i tohught i still had to give it gas when shifting into first. bad idEA! but yeah the idle is probably too high. its amazing these things idle pretty low

i did that, rolling full throttle slammed it into second, and looped it. all within 5 minutes of my first ride :BangHead: :laughing6
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 08:23 AM   #6
chasee69
ballin' outta control!
 
chasee69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 6,892

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
CRF 50






Quote:
Originally Posted by bentgixxer
i did that, rolling full throttle slammed it into second, and looped it. all within 5 minutes of my first ride :BangHead: :laughing6
haha yeah. once i got it into first im riding and first gear is super short on my bike. so im like hitting the rev limiter, i shift into second and bust a wheelie. i have an 88 on my 50 so it wheelies every gear
__________________

ducatisignature
chasee69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 08:35 AM   #7
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
im getting an 88 installed. its out being worked on right now. do you still run stock sprockets?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 08:41 AM   #8
chasee69
ballin' outta control!
 
chasee69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 6,892

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
CRF 50






Quote:
Originally Posted by bentgixxer
im getting an 88 installed. its out being worked on right now. do you still run stock sprockets?
i rode it stock for a long time, but now i dropped 3 in the back to a 34. my first gear got a little longer but is still useless. there is a little higher top speed (nothing amazing but when i ride next to my friend its definately noticeable ) and and a little less torque. at first i missed the torque but now it feels the same to me
__________________

ducatisignature
chasee69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 08:43 AM   #9
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
cool, i had stock, then went up to a 43 tooth rear. with the 88 kit i bought a 34 from 50stunt. so i should be good to go.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 09:21 AM   #10
MadseasoN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: 77002
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 5,603

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











Thanks for the advice. If it's still too torquey in first I may have to change the gearing.

This bike's for the kids and I don't want them doing stand-up wheelies before their dad learns how! :icon_bigg
MadseasoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 09:26 AM   #11
bentgixxer
Senior Member
 
bentgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Seabrook
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 5,894

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
I has no bike :(
'14 Polaris 550 touring








Send a message via Yahoo to bentgixxer
Quote:
Originally Posted by denhou1974
Thanks for the advice. If it's still too torquey in first I may have to change the gearing.

This bike's for the kids and I don't want them doing stand-up wheelies before their dad learns how! :icon_bigg

haha, thats awesome. if they are on it, and you want to limit their speed, on the back of the throttle, there is a little screw, you can adjust that, and control how much throttle it can have.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
We need a subforum for bentgixxer's threads alone.
We'll call it Corpsefish and Horsenuts.
bentgixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2006, 11:33 AM   #12
MadseasoN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: 77002
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 5,603

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











Quote:
Originally Posted by bentgixxer
haha, thats awesome. if they are on it, and you want to limit their speed, on the back of the throttle, there is a little screw, you can adjust that, and control how much throttle it can have.
The 70 doesn't have the throttle limiter. I lowered the idle 1/8 of a turn and it's perfect now.

This little bike has some power! I can put one kid on the seat with me and it'll haul both of us through the trails with no problem.
MadseasoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2006, 11:45 AM   #13
chasee69
ballin' outta control!
 
chasee69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 6,892

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
CRF 50






Quote:
Originally Posted by denhou1974
The 70 doesn't have the throttle limiter. I lowered the idle 1/8 of a turn and it's perfect now.

This little bike has some power! I can put one kid on the seat with me and it'll haul both of us through the trails with no problem.
glad you got it fixed. yeah its suprising what the little things can do. you can beat on it day after day and it will still run like a champ
__________________

ducatisignature
chasee69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy