Welcome back to us :/ Our hosts data center was down for the entire day.
MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > Performance and Modifications
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2010, 09:25 PM   #1
mrwiki91
Member
 
mrwiki91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: houston,tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 57


Bike(s):
04 daytona 600









gsxr rectifier on daytona 600?

every one knows that daytonas are kno for bad stators and rectifier problems but i was recently told that i could replace the stock rectifier with a gsxrs' how true is this?and what exactly would i have to do to make it work?
mrwiki91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2006 GSXR 750 Stator/Rectifier woes! yak How To's and Q & A's 4 10-03-2011 09:01 AM
Aftermarket Rectifier for GSXR 600 K-9 GSXRCoastie Performance and Modifications 5 07-26-2010 07:33 AM
Daytona 600 Questions Infinite General Discussion (Moto Related) 8 06-28-2010 05:09 PM
Daytona 600's Reemdog General Discussion (Moto Related) 17 01-26-2010 05:48 PM
Triumph Daytona 600 I picked up Corrosive General Discussion (Moto Related) 36 04-25-2008 04:37 PM
Advertisement
Old 10-11-2010, 12:55 AM   #2
The Trav
slowpoke
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,552

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 1











i literally JUST did this for a customer. its extremely simple. PM me and ill give you wiring diagrams/instructions
__________________
I will not allow myself the weakness to lay aside responsibility of my actions to a higher power and write that weakness off as destiny. Vigilance, intelligence and discipline keep us alive out there.
-kib
Rest In Peace Chris Owens aka faster321, you will be missed...
The Trav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 12:57 AM   #3
tino
Senior Member
 
tino's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: North Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 1,099

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
'05 ZX-10R
'03 HONDA 50








told ya!!
tino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 02:00 AM   #4
mrwiki91
Member
 
mrwiki91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: houston,tx
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 57


Bike(s):
04 daytona 600









lmao yea you were right lmao

im biddin on a stator and after i get the rectifier thing figured out im gonna be on the road lol ill be hittin you up soon
mrwiki91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 02:53 PM   #5
Infinite
night prowler
 
Infinite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Hobby
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,549

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
08 CBR 600RR (sold)
06 GSXR 600 (sold)
07 Ninja 250 (sold)
93 CBR 900 (sold)
06 RC51 (sold)






will a gsxr stator fit? or any other model bike?

what year gsxr r/r fits in the Daytona

might as well try replacing that too if its cheap enough
Infinite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 02:32 PM   #6
The Trav
slowpoke
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,552

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 1











sorry for the delayed response guys, im trying to make a 100% user friendly pdf file with step by step instructions
__________________
I will not allow myself the weakness to lay aside responsibility of my actions to a higher power and write that weakness off as destiny. Vigilance, intelligence and discipline keep us alive out there.
-kib
Rest In Peace Chris Owens aka faster321, you will be missed...
The Trav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 02:58 PM   #7
triumphant675r
Senior Member
 
triumphant675r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pasadena
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,683

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
'09 Triumph Daytona 675 Triple




Member Garage





will this kill my warranty? maybe i'll just save the info till mine has an issue
triumphant675r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 06:22 PM   #8
The Trav
slowpoke
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,552

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 1











Quote:
Originally Posted by triumphant675r View Post
will this kill my warranty? maybe i'll just save the info till mine has an issue
chances are, yes it will void the warranty. (as far as electrics go)
__________________
I will not allow myself the weakness to lay aside responsibility of my actions to a higher power and write that weakness off as destiny. Vigilance, intelligence and discipline keep us alive out there.
-kib
Rest In Peace Chris Owens aka faster321, you will be missed...
The Trav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 05:01 PM   #9
Jerzey
The Trickster
 
Jerzey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,381

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
06 gsxr 600
300zx twinturbo
BMW 545i M sport







gsxr rec and stators suck also just replaced mine last night
__________________
The one and only .
Jerzey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 05:10 PM   #10
burnboy
upliftmofopartyplan
 
burnboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,609

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2011 kawi z 1000









The idea would be to replace a silicon unit with a mosfet unit. On triumphs usually its a diode shorting in the unit itself. To actually solve the issue would be like I said to replace with a mosfet. The cbr 1000 unit works for the 675 triumph also the kawasaki zx10 is what I replaced my 675 r/r with and now I have 14.75 volts at idle
__________________
f,f&f 4 ever R.I.P. coach dave
burnboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 05:34 PM   #11
Vividkid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 887












18,000 miles on my stock stator and rectifier...guess the gixxer rec/stators are junk.

, Ive had the same autozone battery in there for going on 5 years....
__________________
sig
Vividkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 12:53 AM   #12
Jerzey
The Trickster
 
Jerzey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,381

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
06 gsxr 600
300zx twinturbo
BMW 545i M sport







Quote:
Originally Posted by Vividkid View Post
18,000 miles on my stock stator and rectifier...guess the gixxer rec/stators are junk.

, Ive had the same autozone battery in there for going on 5 years....
srry 06-07 gsxr rec/stators
__________________
The one and only .
Jerzey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 09:07 AM   #13
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,368

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Quote:
Originally Posted by burnboy View Post
The idea would be to replace a silicon unit with a mosfet unit. On triumphs usually its a diode shorting in the unit itself. To actually solve the issue would be like I said to replace with a mosfet. The cbr 1000 unit works for the 675 triumph also the kawasaki zx10 is what I replaced my 675 r/r with and now I have 14.75 volts at idle
This.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 03:23 PM   #14
Houston Terrell
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 473

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
DRZ 400SM









Triumphant.. If you bike is under warranty and the regulator fails it is a covered item, I would recommend not changing anything electrical on your triumph while under warranty. Unless it is a Triumph approved accessory
Houston Terrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 04:46 PM   #15
burnboy
upliftmofopartyplan
 
burnboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,609

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2011 kawi z 1000









For the 675 triumph has issued somewhat of a replacement program. They are replacing failed units with the new upgraded mosfet unit similair to the honda or kawi unit. Some people have gotten their dealer to replace the unit even if not failed. Gulf coast I doubt would even try for you and I believe there is only ex import in houston. Good luck yall
__________________
f,f&f 4 ever R.I.P. coach dave
burnboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 08:14 PM   #16
Vividkid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 887












I just looked up Mosfet...What a mouth-full. Ive seen the term on amps and power supplies but never had a clue what it meant. I'm guessing the mosfet 'switches' work better then an arrangement of physical diodes in a 3 phase setup. Less to burn up.
__________________
sig
Vividkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 11:39 PM   #17
burnboy
upliftmofopartyplan
 
burnboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,609

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2011 kawi z 1000









The operating temp is much much cooler.
__________________
f,f&f 4 ever R.I.P. coach dave
burnboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 11:20 AM   #18
Higham
Shh! Ur Boring Everyone!
 
Higham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 1960
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 447

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
Triumph Daytona 600









Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick View Post
This.
Do you know if the Daytona 600 has a MOSFET Rectifier available and can Motorcycles Unlimited do this for me? I have 18000 miles right now and was concidering some preventative maintenance since I ride 30 miles to UH and back.
Higham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 11:37 AM   #19
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,368

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






It does not, however if you are not having an issue I wouldn't worry about it since you have 18k.
I can check your charging system output to see where it's at within the spec range and make a better recommendation at that time.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 04:52 AM   #20
jstevens5674
f2 in progress
 
Join Date: May 2011
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 73

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
1992 cbr 600 f2









i have one off a 00 gsxr 600 it had 11,000 miles on it 70 bucks obo
jstevens5674 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy