MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2010, 02:22 PM   #1
zombiejesus
braaaaiiiiinssss
 
zombiejesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: sw
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,721

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
┌∩┐(◕_◕)┌∩┐









New chain keeps on loosening

Installed a -1 +2 sprocket set and a new chain on my 96 RF600, I've had trouble with the chain loosening up after riding. Probably re-tightened everything 4 times now. Spoke to Patrick a while back, he recommended making some marks on the swingarm to see if it was the axle moving. The marks are still lined up but the chain loosened from 1.5" of freeplay to 2.25". Any ideas?
__________________
zombiejesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tire alignment/chain adjustment (short-ish chain?) SideVinder650 General Discussion (Moto Related) 6 07-14-2014 03:55 PM
chain jcsalazar How To's and Q & A's 2 09-04-2013 10:19 PM
chain JBIRD5363 Motorcycles Unlimited 0 11-12-2008 06:31 PM
Chain 1fastchevy How To's and Q & A's 6 08-29-2008 04:34 PM
Best chain sixshooter1125 General Discussion (Moto Related) 13 11-13-2007 03:14 PM
Advertisement
Old 09-03-2010, 02:41 PM   #2
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,098

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








Its new and its gonna stretch some. Its probably all the Tq.
bluewave18 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 02:47 PM   #3
thenewguy
yaymayhay
 
thenewguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: n houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 110

Experience: 9-12 months

Bike(s):
2002 R6




Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewave18 View Post
Its new and its gonna stretch some. Its probably all the Tq.

+1 Exactly what he said!
__________________



Just blame it on the economy.......
thenewguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 02:58 PM   #4
zombiejesus
braaaaiiiiinssss
 
zombiejesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: sw
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,721

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
┌∩┐(◕_◕)┌∩┐









Next time I will loosen the axle just enough to tighten the chain, before I've been loosening it all the way.
__________________
zombiejesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 03:04 PM   #5
kdog22
Wheelie it son..
 
kdog22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: spring
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 14,533

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2004 Honda xr50
1991 Honda z50
2004 WR450 Supermoto
1988 Honda ZB50 - For Sale

Member Garage





Your new chain will stretch.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave C View Post
fkn kdogg just started staring at me like i'm bout to jump off this bike and murder some dave c. i was thinkin ok lets see what i did to this man to make him hate me and how fast can i run
Quote:
Originally Posted by Senator View Post
Muhammad.........Nostradamus..........Kdog
The cycle continues.
kdog22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 03:07 PM   #6
zombiejesus
braaaaiiiiinssss
 
zombiejesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: sw
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,721

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
┌∩┐(◕_◕)┌∩┐









I knew it would stretch, just wasn't expecting to have to re-tighten it 5 or so times.
__________________
zombiejesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 04:17 PM   #7
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,098

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








It probably didnt need to be done 5 times. It was new and you were watching the out of it.
bluewave18 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 07:11 PM   #8
The Trav
slowpoke
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,552

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 1











watch it and make sure it doesnt keep loosening until its actually out of spec. i had a chain a while back that stretched past the service limits within about 6 months. it was just a faulty chain.

bluewave, i doubt its the torque. (96 rf600)
__________________
I will not allow myself the weakness to lay aside responsibility of my actions to a higher power and write that weakness off as destiny. Vigilance, intelligence and discipline keep us alive out there.
-kib
Rest In Peace Chris Owens aka faster321, you will be missed...
The Trav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 07:24 PM   #9
Jason_Canuck
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 3,829

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
A black one
and a red one








O-ring or standard chain?

Is suspension set for your weight? Setting slack off of bike and then getting on it without having a dialed in suspension could be putting tension on chain causing premeature wear and elongation.
__________________
Vegans are eating the solution to global warming!
Jason_Canuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 07:46 PM   #10
MiniG0D
Teknulogicuhly Challunged
 
MiniG0D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CyFair
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 813

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2008 600RR Graffiti Edition






you sure you are checking slack correctly? if your chain is over stretched (too tight) from the get go you may be putting excess pressure on it and stretching it... but most chains stretch 1-2" before its all over with.... many "" people have a tendency to overtighten a chain thinking that they are doing the right thing but in reality you DO NEED a certain amount of slack for proper operation...
__________________
600RRsig
MiniG0D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 08:34 PM   #11
camaroz2866
Senior Member
 
camaroz2866's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 4,142

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
2008 cbr1000rr









R u sure you are not tightning it too tight? Sure sounds like it
__________________
2008 cbr1000rr , 95 camaro z28, 2007gsxr750, 2003 busa le,99 r1,
97 gsxr 600(shrad)sold2005 r6 (sold)2001 camaro ss(sold),98 r1(sold), 00 f4(sold), ninja 250(sold),01 r6(sold)
camaroz2866 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 09:56 PM   #12
zombiejesus
braaaaiiiiinssss
 
zombiejesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: sw
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,721

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
┌∩┐(◕_◕)┌∩┐









I set the tension within the spec, which is 1.2-1.5". But I have a 13 tooth front sprocket, so I don't know if that would change how much tension I should set it at. I check it while I'm sitting on it too, to make sure it doesn't get too tight.
__________________
zombiejesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 10:47 PM   #13
wiayeman
TOONTOON BLACKNWHITEARMY
 
wiayeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Med Ctr
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,122

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
99 SV650 (race)x2
79 XS650
08 EX250R (race)
14 MSX125
88 YSR (race)






Quote:
Originally Posted by murderface View Post
I set the tension within the spec, which is 1.2-1.5". But I have a 13 tooth front sprocket, so I don't know if that would change how much tension I should set it at. I check it while I'm sitting on it too, to make sure it doesn't get too tight.

Ride and forget..........
__________________
OOT
CMRA#645
Purple Helmets Endurance Team
wiayeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 11:13 PM   #14
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,098

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








Quote:
Originally Posted by The Trav View Post
watch it and make sure it doesnt keep loosening until its actually out of spec. i had a chain a while back that stretched past the service limits within about 6 months. it was just a faulty chain.

bluewave, i doubt its the torque. (96 rf600)
It was a joke
bluewave18 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 11:15 PM   #15
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,098

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








And the 13t has to be a on the chain. You may want to go up a few in the front and rear.
bluewave18 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 11:15 PM   #16
zombiejesus
braaaaiiiiinssss
 
zombiejesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: sw
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,721

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
┌∩┐(◕_◕)┌∩┐









but I beat a civic earlier! and it was lowered with an exhaust! and he had a nos sticker!
__________________
zombiejesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 11:16 PM   #17
zombiejesus
braaaaiiiiinssss
 
zombiejesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: sw
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,721

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
┌∩┐(◕_◕)┌∩┐









Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewave18 View Post
And the 13t has to be a on the chain. You may want to go up a few in the front and rear.
if I'm still having problems I'm gonna go back to a 14t.
__________________
zombiejesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 11:22 PM   #18
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,098

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








Thats a real small gear. Its gonna eat that chain up. Better off if ya go up 1 or 2 (from 13)in front and add 2-4 to the rear.
bluewave18 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 10:24 AM   #19
MiniG0D
Teknulogicuhly Challunged
 
MiniG0D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CyFair
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 813

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
2008 600RR Graffiti Edition






Ya what bluewave said. I know it's cheaper to just change a front sprocket but there's a reason people only drop one tooth on it. I'm assuming your bike has 15 tooth stock like most although I know some have had 14s. I still wouldn't go that low on the front. I also suspect the increased torque from fearing so low combined with the smaller physical sprocket radius aka turning around a smaller diameter sprocket is probably chewing up your chain to all .

Also you never mentioned the make and model chain. If you insist on. 13 tooth front you may want to consider a wider aka stronger chain or at least a high quality did or rk chain.

Also you do not check slack while on it. While on a side or rear stand apply 10lbs of pressure to the chain halfway between the 2 sprockets is the proper way to measure. There are diagrams that show how to do it but I'm posting from my phone so you will have to live with text.

Do this: find the point halfway between your front and rear sprockets. Push the chain up towards your swingarm with about 10 lbs of force and measure the distance from the swingarm at that point to the top or bottom of the chain and record that distance. Now push down away from the swingarm with 10 lbs of pressure in the same spot and record the distance to the top or bottom (the same as you did last step. Don't measure to the top one time and bottom the next). Subtract your first measurement from the second and you have properly measured slack.

Another tip is to make sure you adjust slack using the chain side adjuster on the swingarm and then adjust the opposite side to match.
__________________
600RRsig
MiniG0D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 10:55 AM   #20
htownballa
Senior Member
 
htownballa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 141












you are probably over tightening it and that is what is making it stretch faster. You would be suprised how loose a chain should actually be. 1.5 inches is not enough. At least 2 inches slack if you want your shock to be able to do its job. Otherwise you are just bottoming out on your chain and stretching the out of it.

No need to measure it, just get about 3 fingers slack (full travel from top to bottom).

it should be touching the rubber chain guide on your swingarm, but not the aluminum part of the swing arm.
htownballa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy