MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2010, 10:13 AM   #1
Helios
Back again again...
 
Helios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 12,674

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
06 Silver Gixxer




Member Garage





Radar detector wiring help.

Would like some help wiring a radar detector and screamer.
Wanna wire it into my headlight power.
I'm in Katy, but I'll be on the road most of the day.
If anyone in Houston or Katy can give me a hand, let me know.
I'd like to do the work myself, just need some guidance and an extra set of hands (and if you got tools, can't fit them in my backpack).
Cash or 6 pack, whatever.

PM or text me.
713.4444.136

Thanks.
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12v and radar detector j0nathan How To's and Q & A's 8 11-20-2014 12:30 PM
Hardwiring Radar Detector DC_The_Boss How To's and Q & A's 19 09-10-2008 03:39 PM
Radar Detector wlgorman General Discussion (Moto Related) 7 06-02-2007 12:09 PM
radar detector zero4o3 General Discussion (Moto Related) 26 04-27-2006 07:10 AM
New Radar Detector for Motorcycles Zapata General Discussion (Moto Related) 11 07-20-2005 10:20 PM
Advertisement
Old 05-21-2010, 10:24 AM   #2
JUANTED
Senior Member
 
JUANTED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 624


Bike(s):
06 gsxr 770









when do you want to do this
JUANTED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 11:43 AM   #3
Helios
Back again again...
 
Helios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 12,674

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
06 Silver Gixxer




Member Garage





Anytime today,2-8pm is cool.
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 02:55 AM   #4
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,120

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








get an escort solo and you wont need wires
bluewave18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 10:29 PM   #5
GradyB
One arm one leg gimp
 
GradyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: The Woodlands
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 353

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
2008 GSX 650F RIP









What kind you putting on? iv got a K40 coming for my bike. I cant wait to get it wired in!
GradyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 12:01 AM   #6
Helios
Back again again...
 
Helios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 12,674

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
06 Silver Gixxer




Member Garage





Escort 8500 X50.

I can figure it out, just prefer to skip the educated guess/trial and error stage if anyone else that's done it had some time for quick pointers.
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 12:05 AM   #7
AiJay
AJ... that's the name.
 
AiJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sprang
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 5,299

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
Huffy 10sp









Send a message via AIM to AiJay Send a message via MSN to AiJay
Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
Escort 8500 X50.

I can figure it out, just prefer to skip the educated guess/trial and error stage if anyone else that's done it had some time for quick pointers.
just cut off the 12v socket adapter and strip back the wires. Guessing they are either red/black or white/black? either way red/white is your hot side and black is your ground. Ground the black to your frame or tap into another ground on your harness. Red/White can tap into just about any hot lead on the bike. I wired mine into the headlamps (just like you wanted) so it automatically turned on/off with the bike. You can always wire it directly to the battery and just turn it on/off every time you ride.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squoddybody View Post
I prefer the bukkakke facial.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squoddybody View Post
That and piitb.
AiJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 12:16 AM   #8
Radar
Senior Member
 
Radar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Near Corpus Christi
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,045


Bike(s):
CBR1000RR









I'm not sure the headlamps are a good choice for power.

If you hook it to the low beams - will only work when the low beams are on. High beams only when the high beams are on.

You could hook to both if you added diodes (electrical check valves) to keep the high/lows from feeding each other, but that is a more complex wiring job, requires parts you probably don't have (diodes) and creates a more complex system with more potential problems (diode failure).

You could hook to running lights - they are on all the time.
Radar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 12:44 AM   #9
Helios
Back again again...
 
Helios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 12,674

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
06 Silver Gixxer




Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by Aijay View Post
just cut off the 12v socket adapter and strip back the wires. Guessing they are either red/black or white/black? either way red/white is your hot side and black is your ground. Ground the black to your frame or tap into another ground on your harness. Red/White can tap into just about any hot lead on the bike. I wired mine into the headlamps (just like you wanted) so it automatically turned on/off with the bike. You can always wire it directly to the battery and just turn it on/off every time you ride.
Thanks Aijay. It all sounds pretty straight forward, just need to find some down time where I would rather wire and splice instead of ride.
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 12:48 AM   #10
Helios
Back again again...
 
Helios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 12,674

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
06 Silver Gixxer




Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by Radar View Post
I'm not sure the headlamps are a good choice for power.

If you hook it to the low beams - will only work when the low beams are on. High beams only when the high beams are on.

You could hook to both if you added diodes (electrical check valves) to keep the high/lows from feeding each other, but that is a more complex wiring job, requires parts you probably don't have (diodes) and creates a more complex system with more potential problems (diode failure).

You could hook to running lights - they are on all the time.
I do electromechanical at work and we have tons of diodes.
Just not sure I'd like to get that involved if I can just tap off the running lights and be done with it.

Just not sure how much physical dissassembly is required on the bike itself.
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy