MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2010, 04:49 PM   #1
Hammer72
Honor & Glory
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alief
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 25

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
'02 Yamaha R6









2002 Yamaha r6 ENGINE KILLS WHEN PUT IN 1ST

Idles fine but when you put it in 1st it kills the engine.....What's the deal? Guy says it has a new clutch. The guy made stripped it for the track and I want to put it back so I can get it inspected....Help!

Steven
Hammer72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2002 Honda Accord 4cyl check engine light jimrad Car Forum 12 04-08-2014 05:54 PM
R6 engine question Q8ypilot General Discussion (Moto Related) 4 10-25-2012 12:08 AM
2002 Yamaha r6 ENGINE KILLS WHEN PUT IN 1ST Hammer72 How To's and Q & A's 43 04-14-2010 10:38 PM
R6 engine lifespan TxBritt08R1 General Discussion (Moto Related) 36 04-10-2007 10:55 PM
Engine Room April 1st..... ratmzapa Events, Meets and Rides 191 04-02-2006 11:33 PM
Advertisement
Old 03-22-2010, 04:56 PM   #2
Ronnie H.
LSTD Mafioso
 
Ronnie H.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: DFW
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 290

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
02 CRF450, 03 YZ250F, 04 CRF50, 08 Duc 1098, 10 Aprilia RSV4 Factory









Probably the clutch safety switch or the neutral switch.
Ronnie H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 04:57 PM   #3
yamaR6281
i ride really slow
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: nw houston
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 630

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
600rr









kickstand sensor?
yamaR6281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 05:01 PM   #4
TheMagicMan
SBN Mechanic
 
TheMagicMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NW Houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 4,295

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'97-DR650 '01-RC51 '03-XR250R '83-XR80R '93-XR80R '03-XR50









I'll bet money it's the kickstand switch. The nuetral switch only prevents you from starting the bike in gear. If it were that he wouldn't even be able to start it. Just follow the kickstand switch and unplug it. Try it with it unpluged. If that doesn't work make a jumper wire. Can't remember if it needs to be an open or closed circuit.
TheMagicMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 05:26 PM   #5
agg2001
Agg Racing
 
agg2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tomball, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 807

Experience: 1-3 months
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2007 R6 (track)









Send a message via AIM to agg2001 Send a message via MSN to agg2001 Send a message via Yahoo to agg2001
Re: 2002 Yamaha r6 ENGINE KILLS WHEN PUT IN 1ST

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMagicMan
I'll bet money it's the kickstand switch. The nuetral switch only prevents you from starting the bike in gear. If it were that he wouldn't even be able to start it. Just follow the kickstand switch and unplug it. Try it with it unpluged. If that doesn't work make a jumper wire. Can't remember if it needs to be an open or closed circuit.
My moneys on the kickstand switch. They're notorious for going out. Good luck man
__________________
Ride Smart

"Losers always whine about their best. Winners go home and **** the prom queen."
agg2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 05:31 PM   #6
TheMagicMan
SBN Mechanic
 
TheMagicMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NW Houston
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 4,295

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'97-DR650 '01-RC51 '03-XR250R '83-XR80R '93-XR80R '03-XR50









Quote:
Originally Posted by agg2001 View Post
My moneys on the kickstand switch. They're notorious for going out. Good luck man
I think there's and echo in here. Haha. J/K. What's up agg. Haven't seen you in a while.
TheMagicMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 08:35 PM   #7
Hammer72
Honor & Glory
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alief
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 25

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
'02 Yamaha R6









The kickstand switch is unplugged and I can't find a male fitting to connect it to..There is a spliced wire connected together.....???? What is SPEEDOHEALER? It's a little 2"x2" box under the seat. I followed the wire up to the left handle bar grip and it's a little tiny red button that is like the size of a button on a cell phone or smaller. There are 2 more female connectors under the gas tank with nothing plugged into them. One is white and the other is black
Hammer72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 08:40 PM   #8
dontbap()ssy
Senior Member
 
dontbap()ssy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kingwood
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 591

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
04 R6 (sold)
04 R1 (donated to the track gods)
08 MV Agusta F4 312R (sold)
10 duc 1198






Jumper the two wires where the kick stand switch plugs in
dontbap()ssy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 05:55 AM   #9
Hammer72
Honor & Glory
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alief
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 25

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
'02 Yamaha R6









I cant find a connector for the kickstand switch anywhere! There are two wires tied together...One is black and the other is green w a black stripe...Other than that nothing seems odd or aftermarket under the gas tank coming or going from the ECM. The kickstand switch wires are not plugged into anything. they have a blue connector but nothing to plug into
Hammer72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy