MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2006, 04:46 PM   #1
jetchanic
I fix beer cans that fly!
 
jetchanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: humble
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 416

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
2004 Honda Cbr 600rr









cam chain tensioner.

hey guys i need help. I have a new adjustable cam chain tensioner on the way and heard that is wasn't hard to change it. Has anyone done this before and could you tell me how or maybe even show me if it is too difficult. its on a 2002 cbr f4i.
jetchanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cam chain tensioner problem HELP! wesleh General Discussion (Moto Related) 4 10-26-2011 11:56 PM
Manual Cam Chain Tensioner HELP! jakeg How To's and Q & A's 7 02-24-2011 10:22 PM
manual cam chain tensioner T.Jones Performance and Modifications 33 12-12-2008 03:00 PM
Gixxer Cam Chain Tensioner ? 1slocbr Taking it to the Track 5 12-12-2008 12:42 PM
cam chain tensioner witchdoctor575 General Discussion (Moto Related) 5 02-26-2006 09:09 PM
Advertisement
Old 05-25-2006, 05:05 PM   #2
mrbodydrop
Bad eXamples!
 
mrbodydrop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: everywhere
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 38


Bike(s):
'04 Triumph Daytona 955i SE, '94 Honda CBR F2









Send a message via AIM to mrbodydrop Send a message via Yahoo to mrbodydrop
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetchanic
hey guys i need help. I have a new adjustable cam chain tensioner on the way and heard that is wasn't hard to change it. Has anyone done this before and could you tell me how or maybe even show me if it is too difficult. its on a 2002 cbr f4i.
This place has it all!! I just got mine for my F2 and it works great! Runs about $55 if I remember right.


HTML Code:
http://www.aperaceparts.com/
__________________
I'm not totally useless, I can be used as a Bad eXample!
mrbodydrop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2006, 12:31 AM   #3
Capafool
QuePaso Racing
 
Capafool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SW Side (SugarLand/Houston Border)
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,706

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'01 Gixxer 1k (Track)
'10 Duc 848 (Street)
'05 Drz-110 (Tarded)







Send a message via AIM to Capafool Send a message via MSN to Capafool
I replaced it on my suzuki. I took that automatic tensioner and replaced it with a manual cam tensioner. Works great! I don't know how it's on your but on mine I simply lifted the tank, took 2 screws out of the old tensioner, took it out along with its hose, put the new one back in with it's gasket and plugged up the hole I no longer needed. ALL DONE! then I simply adjusted it since it was manual. Automatic ones adjust themselves I believe and use the hose for oil flow. Took me a bout half hour to figure out since I had never done it before.

When you work on your bike I strongly recommend getting your bike's service manual from the manufacturer. I can't tell you how many times mine has helped me out when working on my bike.
__________________
~Gianni~
CMRA Sprints #486
TMGP Endurance #46
"Scientists discover the world that exists; Engineers create the world that never was."

Last edited by Capafool; 05-26-2006 at 12:33 AM.
Capafool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2006, 06:17 AM   #4
FastLine
Motorcycle School
 
FastLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MSRH GSS TWS (Texas World Speedway)
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 13,881

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
Instructing
Trackdays
Like
A
Boss






You should go ahead and install the adjustable powerband while you're in there. They are right next to each other
FastLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2006, 06:44 AM   #5
ownage
Banned
 
ownage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 7,547












User is banned

.
ownage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2006, 08:02 AM   #6
MadseasoN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: 77002
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 5,603

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











Here's a full tutorial complete with pics. I did one on my F3 but I think it's a little more complicated on the F4(i).

http://cbrworld.net/forums/thread/85183.aspx

Make sure you don't overtighten it!!!!!
MadseasoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2006, 10:02 AM   #7
jetchanic
I fix beer cans that fly!
 
jetchanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: humble
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 416

Experience: 4 years

Bike(s):
2004 Honda Cbr 600rr









really appreciate it fellas. helped out a of a lot, now i wont have to listen to that annoying rattling noise.
jetchanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy