Welcome back to us :/ Our hosts data center was down for the entire day.
MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 01-27-2010, 04:50 PM   #1
Helios
Back again again...
 
Helios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 12,674

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
06 Silver Gixxer




Member Garage





Help installing alarm on my bike

Looking to buy one of thems Gorilla alarms for my bike in the next month. Anyone wanna help me with install?
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing some sliders Marty_Mcfly How To's and Q & A's 2 06-12-2009 04:26 PM
Help Installing Tire Moc05 Dirtbikes, Mini's, ATV's..... 1 03-23-2009 08:24 PM
Installing Help on Scorpio Alarm for Shadow 2wlzbtrthn4 Performance and Modifications 2 01-09-2009 02:08 AM
Advertisement
Old 01-27-2010, 04:56 PM   #2
VenaSera
I pwn!
 
VenaSera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: College Station, TX
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 620

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 6

Bike(s):
2007 Kawasaki ZX-6R
1976



Member Garage





Which one are you getting?


I have this one:
http://www.motorcycle-superstore.com...th-Remote.aspx

I like it. It offers good piece of mind. The hardest part for my bike was finding a place to put it. Its pretty much stand alone and the only thing you really have to do is wire it to the battery. The other sensors are either built into the box or wire/mount somewhere else. But that one did not require any wiring into the harness or anything like that.

It works well. I have it set on the lowest or second to lowest sensitivity, but Harleys and a really really strong wind will still set it off (when under a cover that tatters).
__________________
--The more you ride within your limit, the greater your limit becomes.-- Me
VenaSera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 05:34 PM   #3
Helios
Back again again...
 
Helios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 12,674

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
06 Silver Gixxer




Member Garage





Cant see cause i'm on my phone but its the only Gorilla alarm that Motorcycle Superstore and Cycle Gear have. Its about $100. So no drilling or major disassembly required? I work in electro-mechanical and electronics so sounds like its pretty basic install? How and where do the sensors install. My guess is alarm goes in trunk right?
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 05:36 PM   #4
hotcknstrips
Bevo's royal guard.
 
hotcknstrips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 15,696

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 7

Bike(s):
09 Buell 1125CR









If you want to bring it to my place I can help ya.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godsuki
I am going to kiss your my friend!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by NY Weird Lady
Mucus Membrane!
hotcknstrips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 05:41 PM   #5
VenaSera
I pwn!
 
VenaSera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: College Station, TX
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 620

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 6

Bike(s):
2007 Kawasaki ZX-6R
1976



Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
Cant see cause i'm on my phone but its the only Gorilla alarm that Motorcycle Superstore and Cycle Gear have. Its about $100. So no drilling or major disassembly required? I work in electro-mechanical and electronics so sounds like its pretty basic install? How and where do the sensors install. My guess is alarm goes in trunk right?
Yeah. I have the ~$100 one (got it cheaper from my local shop). It doesn't have the two way remote, only the regular clicker. It has a lot of customizable options that can all be done from the remote. Its really neat, but yes, a very basic install. I had to hide mine inside the front fairing. If you have room in the trunk or under the seat, that would work great. Then it would just wire to the battery, the tilt sensor to a fixed place on the frame, and the antennae could just stay looped around the inside of the tail somewhere. The shock sensor is built into the box itself. Keep in mind, the box is a little bigger than two decks of cards. So I couldn't fit it under the seats.
__________________
--The more you ride within your limit, the greater your limit becomes.-- Me
VenaSera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 05:42 PM   #6
Helios
Back again again...
 
Helios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 12,674

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
06 Silver Gixxer




Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by hotcknstrips View Post
If you want to bring it to my place I can help ya.
Cool, thanks. Prob get it next week but wont have time to install for at least 2 weeks.
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 05:45 PM   #7
hotcknstrips
Bevo's royal guard.
 
hotcknstrips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 15,696

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 7

Bike(s):
09 Buell 1125CR









Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
Cool, thanks. Prob get it next week but wont have time to install for at least 2 weeks.
NP, lemme know.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godsuki
I am going to kiss your my friend!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by NY Weird Lady
Mucus Membrane!
hotcknstrips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 05:49 PM   #8
Helios
Back again again...
 
Helios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 12,674

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
06 Silver Gixxer




Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by KawiRider600 View Post
Yeah. I have the ~$100 one (got it cheaper from my local shop). It doesn't have the two way remote, only the regular clicker. It has a lot of customizable options that can all be done from the remote. Its really neat, but yes, a very basic install. I had to hide mine inside the front fairing. If you have room in the trunk or under the seat, that would work great. Then it would just wire to the battery, the tilt sensor to a fixed place on the frame, and the antennae could just stay looped around the inside of the tail somewhere. The shock sensor is built into the box itself. Keep in mind, the box is a little bigger than two decks of cards. So I couldn't fit it under the seats.
So putting under the fairing vs the trunk wasn't like a security thing? Could it get easily removed or disabled if in the trunk? I got lotsa room and it should fit. I hope. Lol... Any idea how much the two way remote is extra?
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 05:53 PM   #9
VenaSera
I pwn!
 
VenaSera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: College Station, TX
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 620

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 6

Bike(s):
2007 Kawasaki ZX-6R
1976



Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by Helios View Post
So putting under the fairing vs the trunk wasn't like a security thing? Could it get easily removed or disabled if in the trunk? I got lotsa room and it should fit. I hope. Lol... Any idea how much the two way remote is extra?
No.. Its not accessible under the fairing though (actually probably more difficult to get to than under the seat). It was strictly a space problem I have with the undertail pipe. Locking under your seat would be just as good unless the lock is broken and you will still hear it.


The two way system is twice as much.
__________________
--The more you ride within your limit, the greater your limit becomes.-- Me
VenaSera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 05:55 PM   #10
VenaSera
I pwn!
 
VenaSera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: College Station, TX
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 620

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 6

Bike(s):
2007 Kawasaki ZX-6R
1976



Member Garage





The main thing about having it is not being able to find where it is to disable it. Even if you were to get to it and cut it from the battery, it will go off because of a drop in voltage (another sensor). Its a really neat design.

I also just remembered it has a flashing LED that you would have to wire in somewhere also, but again its integrated into the box itself.
__________________
--The more you ride within your limit, the greater your limit becomes.-- Me
VenaSera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 06:00 PM   #11
Helios
Back again again...
 
Helios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 12,674

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
06 Silver Gixxer




Member Garage





Thanks for all the input Kawi, appreciate it. Prob swing by the local Cycle Gear in a few see if they have one in stock.
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 06:30 PM   #12
craigntx
team ftp
 
craigntx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: ravenite social club
Feedback Rating: (21)
Posts: 4,845

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
all sold, wrecked, or stolen






get one that does more than just make noise- the scorpio
__________________
you may hate jerry sandusky but at least he drove slow through school zones
craigntx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 06:32 PM   #13
RedAggie03
Gig 'Em Aggies!
 
RedAggie03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 669

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
None









Send a message via AIM to RedAggie03
Hey Helios, My SV1000S came with the 2-Way pager version of the alarm...My bike is always under cover, so I uninstalled it. I was considering putting it back on and wiring it all nice (I'm ), but I think I'm just going to sell it.

PM me if you are interested.
RedAggie03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 06:35 PM   #14
RedAggie03
Gig 'Em Aggies!
 
RedAggie03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 669

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 3

Bike(s):
None









Send a message via AIM to RedAggie03
Mine has both remotes and looks like this:

GOR 7017MOD
RedAggie03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 06:39 PM   #15
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
My recommendations for any alarm:

Hide the control box well. If you are installing it around objects w heat, make a metal bracket for some heat absorbion/propelling and wrap the module in aluminium foil on that side.

Dont let anyone know you have an alarm/where it is; especially if its not a two way remote.

Do not wire directly to the battery. Any seat can be removed within seconds and wires cut.

Look into radioshack/walmart/bestbuy for an additional battery for the alarm; runs inline w the power wire and will power the alarm when battery is low or battery is cut.


two way alarms can be found on ebay for approx 100, w autostart etc, etc
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 06:42 PM   #16
Helios
Back again again...
 
Helios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 12,674

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
06 Silver Gixxer




Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by RedAggie03 View Post
Mine has both remotes and looks like this:

GOR 7017MOD
I really dont need the 2 way remote, but how much you looking to get for it? Was on my way to Cycle Gear they got them in stock. How old is it?
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 06:48 PM   #17
Helios
Back again again...
 
Helios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 12,674

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
06 Silver Gixxer




Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by craigntx View Post
get one that does more than just make noise- the scorpio
Specs and price? I rarely leave my bike out of site except for when i'm at work nights. But we have a dedicated parking lot. I also have a disk and grip lock (FWIW).
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 06:54 PM   #18
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
The one in the honda build thread costed me 110 shipped to my door. Two 2 way remotes w a 2 mile range maximum, silent mode, light flash mode, auto start, programmable number of 7-100 for turning alarm off from the remote button, remove antenna/led/siren and a 7 wire set up. Alarm vibrates and makes noise when the bike is bumped/tipped/sat on; even so much as a light brush on lowest sensitivity setting.

I specifically chose it so the whole alarm could be placed around the bike and no one part taken apart would affect the function of the rest of it.

See link below in sig
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 06:57 PM   #19
Helios
Back again again...
 
Helios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 12,674

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
06 Silver Gixxer




Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by CaligoneTx View Post
My recommendations for any alarm:

Hide the control box well. If you are installing it around objects w heat, make a metal bracket for some heat absorbion/propelling and wrap the module in aluminium foil on that side.

Dont let anyone know you have an alarm/where it is; especially if its not a two way remote.

Do not wire directly to the battery. Any seat can be removed within seconds and wires cut.

Look into radioshack/walmart/bestbuy for an additional battery for the alarm; runs inline w the power wire and will power the alarm when battery is low or battery is cut.


two way alarms can be found on ebay for approx 100, w autostart etc, etc
Thanks, good info. Any particular brand? Looking to stay around 100 bucks. What voltage would the back up battery have to be? And when you say inline my guess is parallel, not series, right?
Helios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 07:04 PM   #20
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
Correct; I dont remember the name of the one I got but its been on that thing that looks like a skeleton of a bike I have at the shop for the last few months
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy