MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > General Discussion > General Discussion (Moto Related)
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2010, 04:05 PM   #1
Satan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





Speed Limiters

I am currectly trying to decide whether to get the SPEEDOHEALER or the SPEED DE-LIMITER BONNEVILLE PRO-currectly sold by Schnitz Racing.

Does anyone have any experience with any of these. Also I already have a PCIII, TRE would that affect my decision? if so how?

Opinions. Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I see your high speed cornering and raise you a low speed corner... Hi-Side General Discussion (Moto Related) 22 07-22-2011 07:56 PM
Why don't cars/motorcycles come with top speed limiters from factory? BaylorNinja500 General Discussion (Moto Related) 90 06-29-2010 02:42 PM
top speed run and high speed wheelies. CBR 1000 CarbonJames General Discussion (Moto Related) 4 08-19-2005 10:29 AM
Advertisement
Old 01-06-2010, 04:09 PM   #2
H2447INTX
H2447INTX-he is legendary
 
H2447INTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: angleton tx
Feedback Rating: (12)
Posts: 5,071

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
2011 kingquad 750axi
08 H.D.Softail Deluxe



Member Garage





what bike do you have

speedo healer only fixes the diff in speedo and real speed
it will not remove the top speed limiter !

speedo delimiter pro sounds the best , it will derestrict and will alow for speed corections and its only like 20 bucks more than the speedo healer !
__________________

Last edited by H2447INTX; 01-06-2010 at 04:14 PM.
H2447INTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:21 PM   #3
H2447INTX
H2447INTX-he is legendary
 
H2447INTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: angleton tx
Feedback Rating: (12)
Posts: 5,071

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
2011 kingquad 750axi
08 H.D.Softail Deluxe



Member Garage





ok reading up on the speedo healer it will up the speed limiter by changeing the speed fed to hte computer !

so basicly they do the same thing!

dep on how much you want to spend !

i got mine to corect the speedo so !
__________________
H2447INTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:32 PM   #4
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





goodbye odometer if your doing that with the speedohealer.
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:35 PM   #5
MudBug
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Most northern tip of the southside
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 20,878

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 6

Bike(s):
1994 kawi zx7
1991 DR250



Member Garage





User is banned

.
MudBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:44 PM   #6
nactx86
Senior Member
 
nactx86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 833

Experience: 9 years
Trackdays: 4

Bike(s):
2013 CRF 450R FOR SALE
06 GSXR 600 Sold
07 DRZ 400 SM Sold




I had a speedohealer on my k6 gsxr 600. simple install, easy to use, worked great, well worth the $. no experience with the other one.
__________________
"You have to be a man before you can be a gentleman." -The Duke
Quote:
Originally Posted by MudBug View Post
...Just think how good all women could of been if would have taken a few days to make them.
nactx86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:47 PM   #7
Gryphin
09 r1!
 
Gryphin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (9)
Posts: 4,214

Experience: 4 years
Trackdays: 2

Bike(s):
09 Yamaha R1
06 Ninja ZX-6R (RIP)



Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to Gryphin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyrofallout View Post
goodbye odometer if your doing that with the speedohealer.
what do you mean, the speedohealer, fixes your speed to read correctly when you change your gears up... thus your ODO would be correct, if you didnt put it on and drop one in the rear, then your ODO would be off...

i had the speedohealer on my 06 636..
__________________
Quote:
We as riders know the risks we take everytime we put that kickstand up and twist the throttle.
Gryphin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:57 PM   #8
nactx86
Senior Member
 
nactx86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 833

Experience: 9 years
Trackdays: 4

Bike(s):
2013 CRF 450R FOR SALE
06 GSXR 600 Sold
07 DRZ 400 SM Sold




Quote:
Originally Posted by Gryphin View Post
what do you mean, the speedohealer, fixes your speed to read correctly when you change your gears up... thus your ODO would be correct, if you didnt put it on and drop one in the rear, then your ODO would be off...

i had the speedohealer on my 06 636..
i believe he's talking about tricking your speedo into thinking you're doing slower than actual in order to go faster than a limiter allows; in this case your speedo and odometer will not be accurate.

big waste of money imo if this is the reason for buying.
__________________
"You have to be a man before you can be a gentleman." -The Duke
Quote:
Originally Posted by MudBug View Post
...Just think how good all women could of been if would have taken a few days to make them.
nactx86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 05:17 PM   #9
ZeddXavier
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Clear Lake
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 306

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2008 ZX-6R (sold)









Quote:
Originally Posted by H2447INTX View Post
ok reading up on the speedo healer it will up the speed limiter by changeing the speed fed to hte computer !

so basicly they do the same thing!

dep on how much you want to spend !

i got mine to corect the speedo so !
MOAR ! PLZ ! ! !
ZeddXavier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 06:45 PM   #10
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





read the speedohealer faq or manual. it will tell you that the speedohealer can be used to trick a bike into thinking its going a different speed then it is to bypass a speed limit, although i have not delved into that at all.

even with a corrected exact speedo from a speedohealer, your odo is still going to be off, it says so in the manual for the speedohealer. you can optimize for speedo, or you can optimize for odo. but you cant have both exact.

when lying to the computer severely about your speed, pretty sure that would cause way more than the small difference actually correcting your speedo would make.
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 06:52 PM   #11
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
I used a yellowbox on my bike for speedometer correction. I had a 16% correction to make due to factory differences and going to a 220 guage from the factory 180 guage. It manipulates the signal from the speed sensor into the control module.

As for the TRE; I went w GiPro. The lower eng low gears feel a slight more peppy but that's about it.
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 09:39 PM   #12
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,565

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








What bike is it? That kinda matters.
bluewave18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 09:54 PM   #13
Got-Busa?
Senior Member
 
Got-Busa?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,067

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+











Quote:
Originally Posted by H2447INTX View Post
ok reading up on the speedo healer it will up the speed limiter by changeing the speed fed to hte computer !

so basicly they do the same thing!

dep on how much you want to spend !

i got mine to corect the speedo so !
Depends on the bike.

The ZX12/14 is limited based on the speedo feed (so speedo healer would work) but bikes like the BUSA are RPM based on gear position (so a speedo healer will do nothing for increasing top speed)....
__________________
"WILMINGTON MILE" license pass - 204.542 MPH!
"HOUSTON HALF MILE" - 196.8 MPH!
"TEXAS MILE" -182.265 MPH stock --204.468 MPH "Brock's Performance" basic mods -- 227.2 MPH "RCC TURBO" low boost/half naked!
Got-Busa? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 10:11 PM   #14
H2447INTX
H2447INTX-he is legendary
 
H2447INTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: angleton tx
Feedback Rating: (12)
Posts: 5,071

Experience: 6 years

Bike(s):
2011 kingquad 750axi
08 H.D.Softail Deluxe



Member Garage





yea that was the first thing i asked !
__________________
H2447INTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:27 AM   #15
Satan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





I have a 14. From what I have researched, the speedohealer only does one of 2 things.

You can either set it to correct speed or to trick the limiter. It can only do one at a time. If you want it to by pass the limiter and correct speed then you need two speedohealers. At least thats what it seems like.

Thats Why I thought of getting the speed de-limiter from Schitz because it does both and cost about the same I just want to know if anyone has experience withthe Speed de-limiter
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:49 AM   #16
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





How would two speedohealers correct the speed and trick the computer?!

You would just be modifying the already modified pulse signal from the speed sensor.

As far as I understand, when the signal goes through the second healer, it would make the first one pointless.
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 09:51 AM   #17
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





The real question though is you are driving this thing on the track right?

Cause I know if anyone was going over 190 on the streets being a ****tard and killed any of my family members, I would gladly kill them in return.
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 10:00 AM   #18
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
You would need one mile of open stretch road to get up to 187(regulated speed) when you're already doing 80mph.


Unless your on the 1774 spur and willing to dodge the occasional farmer there isnt a need for it. GL getting up to that speed at TWS (Texas World Speedway) too... not enough room w bikes that heavy, my top was 170.
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 10:21 AM   #19
Pyrofallout
<<<< S.B.N. >>>>
 
Pyrofallout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Feedback Rating: (31)
Posts: 25,364

Experience: 5 years
Trackdays: 10+






Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by CaligoneTx View Post
You would need one mile of open stretch road to get up to 187(regulated speed) when you're already doing 80mph.


Unless your on the 1774 spur and willing to dodge the occasional farmer there isnt a need for it. GL getting up to that speed at TWS (Texas World Speedway) too... not enough room w bikes that heavy, my top was 170.
Don't forget the time/distance required to stop too, safely

The only situation I can think that justifies going over that limited speed would be the Texas Mile or something similiar, in which case, and this is just a guess, there is probably a right way of doing this rather than just modifying the speed signal, at least I would assume so. But we know what assuming is good for.
__________________
A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have.
"The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases."
-Thomas Jefferson
Pyrofallout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 10:32 AM   #20
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,565

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








I read something about grinding a spot off of the speed pickup point. I think it was a nut on the out put shaft. I will look into it.
bluewave18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy