MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


FREE MH Decals by MAIL!

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 12-18-2009, 11:24 PM   #1
Dreamer!?
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 206

Experience: 3 years











Cam Sensor Wire?

was told that an engine may have a broken cam sensor wire, this is the reason it wont spark. anyone know what they're talking about?
Dreamer!? is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me find a wire diagram or the tach signal wire skelator General Discussion (Moto Related) 5 07-11-2014 01:43 PM
WIRING DIAGRAM FOR LED BLINKERS 3 WIRE TO 2 WIRE B.T.R. How To's and Q & A's 8 08-08-2012 06:31 PM
mechanic help needed, cant find cam sensor txmedic1 Car Forum 4 05-08-2012 08:58 AM
The Wire Pyrofallout Off Topic 1 06-17-2008 09:53 PM
Safety Wire... Pre-K Taking it to the Track 6 06-15-2007 11:05 PM
Advertisement
Old 12-18-2009, 11:33 PM   #2
mammothmc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 721












Had that one happen.

sensor on either on the side or top of your valve cover. Tells ecu when to spark based on cam positions.......definately kills spark if you cut one.
mammothmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 11:47 PM   #3
Dreamer!?
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 206

Experience: 3 years











well since its in the Q&A forum now, what all would you need to replace it?
Dreamer!? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 04:08 PM   #4
DrAwkwArD
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,231

Trackdays: 9











User is banned

.
DrAwkwArD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 09:45 AM   #5
jisatsuguy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 211

Experience: 7 years











things to check- continuity of the wire/wires... is there a break(open) in the wire between the connector and the ecu? are wires shorted to each other or ground?
get a digital volt ohm meter (dvom)... helps if you have a wiring diagram...

also check the pins on the sensor connectors

check the voltage and signal output of the sensor... this is faster for me so id do this first. i use a powerprobe3, but you can use any self powered test light.. ignition on, one wire to the sensor should get battery voltage... engine cranking, other wire should have a pulsing(flashing) ground signal that goes to the ecu...

kinda technical, but hope it helps
jisatsuguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 12:38 PM   #6
The Trav
slowpoke
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 2,552

Experience: 6 years
Trackdays: 1











i have a Cam and CrankPS for that bike if u need it. Pm me
__________________
I will not allow myself the weakness to lay aside responsibility of my actions to a higher power and write that weakness off as destiny. Vigilance, intelligence and discipline keep us alive out there.
-kib
Rest In Peace Chris Owens aka faster321, you will be missed...
The Trav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy