MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2009, 11:16 PM   #1
2WheeledTiger
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5












Speed Gauge works, but the Rpm meter doesn't????

I have a 2001 R1. My speedometer tells me the speed that the bike is going, but the RPM needle doesn't work. Does this mean I need a new unit?
2WheeledTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why doesn't my bike reach top speed? theManofRussia General Discussion (Moto Related) 43 07-24-2013 08:13 AM
you are going to have you electric meter replaced to a "smart meter" urbanXJ Off Topic 31 08-02-2010 10:49 AM
How do you Ride High RPM OR Low RPM Bobbarker20 Gear Talk 3 10-02-2008 06:26 PM
Advertisement
Old 11-11-2009, 11:20 PM   #2
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,367

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






Not necessarily, it could be anything from some loose pins at the plug for the gauge to some corrosion at the meter panel.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 11:20 PM   #3
hotcknstrips
Bevo's royal guard.
 
hotcknstrips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 15,696

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 7

Bike(s):
09 Buell 1125CR









Quote:
Originally Posted by 2WheeledTiger View Post
I have a 2001 R1. My speedometer tells me the speed that the bike is going, but the RPM needle doesn't work. Does this mean I need a new unit?
It does meanyou need another bike.

j/k mang, signal to the tach comes from the crank sensor, but since the bike runs, it means the sensor is good. Get a manual with the wiring diagram and trace it, or take it to a reputable shop like Motorcycles Unlimited.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godsuki
I am going to kiss your my friend!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by NY Weird Lady
Mucus Membrane!
hotcknstrips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 11:30 PM   #4
2WheeledTiger
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5












Thanks for the responses. Yea my friend who owned it before me said when he had it it "worked when it wanted to", but now it has stopped working. I'll looking into the loose pins idea. I would be focusing on connection plug to the gauge right?
2WheeledTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 PM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy