MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Off Topic (everything else) > Off Topic
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 04-06-2006, 06:57 PM   #1
hotcknstrips
Bevo's royal guard.
 
hotcknstrips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 15,696

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 7

Bike(s):
09 Buell 1125CR









Question for the PC hardware wizards here.

I want to build me another PC, I already have in mind what I want, and this is the wuestion.

Can i use two small SATA drives, say, less than 100 gigs, in a RAID 0 array, only the OS and a few of my games, and programs, pretty much what I already own on DVD/CD/s, and then have another SATA drive, this with more capacity, to store my pics, vids, songs and everything that's pretty much irreplaceable.

Is it feasible? pro? cons?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godsuki
I am going to kiss your my friend!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by NY Weird Lady
Mucus Membrane!
hotcknstrips is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer hardware wizards help Texas94fs Off Topic 15 10-07-2009 09:27 PM
pc question pester Off Topic 9 09-02-2009 08:27 AM
PHOTOSHOP WIZARDS I NEED YOUR HELP! Mrs. ~T~ Off Topic 29 11-26-2007 03:45 PM
2 pc. suit question AznGoneNuts Taking it to the Track 17 01-30-2007 03:29 PM
1-pc Suits Question? spastic Taking it to the Track 15 07-16-2005 03:06 PM
Advertisement
Old 04-06-2006, 07:12 PM   #2
UrMyStlkAl
Senior Member
 
UrMyStlkAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,086


Bike(s):
93 CBR F2 600









Send a message via AIM to UrMyStlkAl Send a message via MSN to UrMyStlkAl Send a message via Yahoo to UrMyStlkAl
It is but why not just put it all on the array? In my last setup I had 2 60 gigs in raid 0 and loved it because it appears as just one 120 gig hard drive. That motherboard died though and this new one only supports SATA raid and I have ATA drives so no more raid for me till I get new HDD's.

If you're going to get an extra drive just for storing I recommending getting an external drive and just keep everything backed up on it. I bought a drive (Maxtor 250 gb) and added an external enclosure instead of paying twice the price for one that Maxtor or Seagate makes. Suits me fine.

If you want stuff that's not on the same drive as your OS and stuff just keep it on the external, you access it just like any other drive.
UrMyStlkAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 07:12 PM   #3
ownage
Banned
 
ownage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 7,547












User is banned

.
ownage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 07:17 PM   #4
UrMyStlkAl
Senior Member
 
UrMyStlkAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,086


Bike(s):
93 CBR F2 600









Send a message via AIM to UrMyStlkAl Send a message via MSN to UrMyStlkAl Send a message via Yahoo to UrMyStlkAl
Quote:
Originally Posted by ownage
why dont you go get a removible drive/stick ...seems more effective...so if they are really of value you can put them in fire proof safe

Agreed, that's why I suggested the external drive. Also if you go w/ an external I suggest getting one with firewire and USB 2.0 so you have options.
UrMyStlkAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 07:19 PM   #5
ownage
Banned
 
ownage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 7,547












User is banned

.
ownage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 07:21 PM   #6
ownage
Banned
 
ownage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 7,547












User is banned

.
ownage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 07:25 PM   #7
hotcknstrips
Bevo's royal guard.
 
hotcknstrips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 15,696

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 7

Bike(s):
09 Buell 1125CR









Thanks guys..anyway...sticks??lol

I won't even think on putting everything on the RAID 0 array, cause it double the chances of drive failure and loosing everything.

An external drive with firewire seems very tempting, like that I could take it to my job and watch my vids when i have nothing better to do.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godsuki
I am going to kiss your my friend!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by NY Weird Lady
Mucus Membrane!
hotcknstrips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 07:27 PM   #8
ownage
Banned
 
ownage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 7,547












User is banned

.

Last edited by ownage; 05-06-2007 at 06:41 AM.
ownage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 07:28 PM   #9
ownage
Banned
 
ownage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 7,547












User is banned

.
ownage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 07:35 PM   #10
BrutusTx
Guest
 
Posts: n/a







Member Garage





Quote:
Originally Posted by UrMyStlkAl
It is but why not just put it all on the array? In my last setup I had 2 60 gigs in raid 0 and loved it because it appears as just one 120 gig hard drive. That motherboard died though and this new one only supports SATA raid and I have ATA drives so no more raid for me till I get new HDD's.

If you're going to get an extra drive just for storing I recommending getting an external drive and just keep everything backed up on it. I bought a drive (Maxtor 250 gb) and added an external enclosure instead of paying twice the price for one that Maxtor or Seagate makes. Suits me fine.

If you want stuff that's not on the same drive as your OS and stuff just keep it on the external, you access it just like any other drive.
+1, that's what I would do.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 07:37 PM   #11
ninjaxx
rebmeM
 
ninjaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 525

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 4

Bike(s):
2005 GSX-R 600









Send a message via AIM to ninjaxx
I just got the Seagate 500 GB external hardrive for all mystuff. I love it. also got some maxtor 250 gig as backup backups for my DJ business.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A0445532.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	24.0 KB
ID:	767  
__________________
2005 Suzuki 600 GSX-R
ninjaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 07:39 PM   #12
Los
Gang Member
 
Los's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Katy\NW
Feedback Rating: (7)
Posts: 17,174

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
'04 Yamaha R6 Edition
'14 Yamaha R6








Send a message via AIM to Los
Quote:
Originally Posted by ownage
thats an ugly one...they sell them like in a HUGE variety of looks...like fountain pens,lipsticks,etc
i doubt thats gonna meet his needs.
__________________
4v82zk8
Koskesh....RIP Brotha.... 4/22/07
Los is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 07:42 PM   #13
Moody
Holy Smokes!
 
Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 14,685


Bike(s):
281









... ... ...
__________________

Open your eyes and reclaim the freedom you were born with. - Moody

Last edited by Moody; 04-06-2006 at 07:48 PM.
Moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 07:46 PM   #14
ownage
Banned
 
ownage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 7,547












User is banned

.
ownage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 08:04 PM   #15
hotcknstrips
Bevo's royal guard.
 
hotcknstrips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 15,696

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 7

Bike(s):
09 Buell 1125CR









Thanks Los, at least one person here understands my needs...........ok, let me rephrase that........Thanks Los.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godsuki
I am going to kiss your my friend!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by NY Weird Lady
Mucus Membrane!
hotcknstrips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 08:07 PM   #16
hotcknstrips
Bevo's royal guard.
 
hotcknstrips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 15,696

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 7

Bike(s):
09 Buell 1125CR









I found this at Newegg, it looks promising...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822145082
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godsuki
I am going to kiss your my friend!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by NY Weird Lady
Mucus Membrane!
hotcknstrips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 08:07 PM   #17
Moody
Holy Smokes!
 
Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 14,685


Bike(s):
281









I am planning on doubling up two external drives USB2.0 or Firewire (What ever the deal is on.) and mirror them.
__________________

Open your eyes and reclaim the freedom you were born with. - Moody
Moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 09:28 PM   #18
linjy2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: sugar land
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 1,178


Bike(s):
02 SV650S
08 WR250X
08 CBR600RR







Send a message via AIM to linjy2
what is your reasoning for raid 0 two small sata drives? if you already own them, then i understand. y not just get 2 drives. one for OS/apps, one for your pics/vids. as you already stated, raid 0 isnt safe. you could always get the 74GB or 150GB raptor if you want the increase in speed for your main drive. Then get the 500GB WD cavier se16 drive.
linjy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 09:30 PM   #19
hotcknstrips
Bevo's royal guard.
 
hotcknstrips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tomball
Feedback Rating: (8)
Posts: 15,696

Experience: 7 years
Trackdays: 7

Bike(s):
09 Buell 1125CR









Let's say that I want to try something new...exciting and dangerous.

Not to mention, chicks dig geeks.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godsuki
I am going to kiss your my friend!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by NY Weird Lady
Mucus Membrane!
hotcknstrips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 09:40 PM   #20
linjy2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: sugar land
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 1,178


Bike(s):
02 SV650S
08 WR250X
08 CBR600RR







Send a message via AIM to linjy2
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotChickenStrips
Let's say that I want to try something new...exciting and dangerous.

Not to mention, chicks dig geeks.
haha werd.
linjy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy