MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2009, 06:43 PM   #1
Moc05
Safety Third
 
Moc05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Houston
Feedback Rating: (10)
Posts: 1,340

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2007 ZZR600(Sold)
2008 ZX-10R(Stolen)
2014 Honda Grom


Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to Moc05 Send a message via Yahoo to Moc05
LEDs

What gauge wiring are you guys running to your LED lights? I've been having some trouble with mine blowing fuses constantly and thought that may be it. I've checked all my solder points and have rewired everything twice with the same problem. I am using a 1amp fuse right now and have the Ground going to the negative terminal on the battery. Power is to the positive on the battery, then to an On/Off switch, to the fuse, then to the LEDs. Any help is appreciated.
Moc05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for the of it! - LEDs WildCard355 General Discussion (Moto Related) 12 03-02-2013 01:03 AM
leds in bikes pester Off Topic 21 08-04-2011 11:08 PM
neons / leds myfz1 General Discussion (Moto Related) 14 04-22-2010 09:51 PM
leds Itzel86 Performance and Modifications 21 04-19-2009 12:11 AM
re-did my LEDs Azylum General Discussion (Moto Related) 45 10-31-2007 08:50 PM
Advertisement
Old 09-01-2009, 07:01 PM   #2
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
If a fuse is blowing the circuit is running a higher amperage then the fuse. The fuse is your safety; weakest part of the system.

Your resistance is too high or your amperage draw is too great. W the switch open, the power and ground disconnected(open circuit) what is the resistance reading from a DVOM?

Poor power/ground or any terminal(you mentioned solder) could cause more resistance.

An overly large wire can cause greater resistance but you should be able to use an 18-16 w no problems.

How many LEDs/pods etc are you running from this? Or would you have a short to ground?

W the system open(disconnected) check for a ground; put on continuity and one side of the DVOM terminals to on of the(either power or ground) wire an the other one to the battery(make sure the whole circuit is open.)

Another idea would be to put the control switch on the ground side of the circuit so the load is already past the switch; when you switch on the LEDs there isnt any extra spark during contact across the switch.
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 08:13 PM   #3
C.Hern5972
Street Ninja Four Father
 
C.Hern5972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pearland Tx
Feedback Rating: (5)
Posts: 14,729

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
96 ZX7R 37k miles and still strong
2007 HD Softail
2002 Springer Classic
2007 GSXR600

Member Garage


ask Sean AKA m109runner

hes the man when it comes to LED and lighting on bikes
__________________
chern

Chris H
"I dont follow rules to well"
C.Hern5972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 08:57 PM   #4
m109runner
lighting guru
 
m109runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: pearland
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 581


Bike(s):
2007 suzuki m109r ltd









Send a message via Yahoo to m109runner
the standard guage that comes with all my lights is like 20 guage or so...

a 1 amp fuse would probably only be good if you are using a few lights....although LEDs dont pull amy amprage.

....sounds like you have a short somewhere...


hit me up and I can help troubleshoot sometime
__________________
keeping the shiny side up........

lighting the world one bike at a time!!!
m109runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 10:39 PM   #5
Moc05
Safety Third
 
Moc05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Houston
Feedback Rating: (10)
Posts: 1,340

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2007 ZZR600(Sold)
2008 ZX-10R(Stolen)
2014 Honda Grom


Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to Moc05 Send a message via Yahoo to Moc05
Quote:
Originally Posted by m109runner View Post
the standard guage that comes with all my lights is like 20 guage or so...

a 1 amp fuse would probably only be good if you are using a few lights....although LEDs dont pull amy amprage.

....sounds like you have a short somewhere...


hit me up and I can help troubleshoot sometime
I got some 2 amp fuses that i'm going to try. I have 6 pods and 2 strips of leds so i don't know if that may have to do with the 1 amp fuse like you said. I'm running 16 gauge right now since thats looked to be the right size when I was looking at the wiring. I would hate to have to redo everything a 3rd time since I get impatient after a while of measuring, stripping, soldering, etc.
Moc05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 10:08 PM   #6
Moc05
Safety Third
 
Moc05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Houston
Feedback Rating: (10)
Posts: 1,340

Experience: 8 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
2007 ZZR600(Sold)
2008 ZX-10R(Stolen)
2014 Honda Grom


Member Garage





Send a message via AIM to Moc05 Send a message via Yahoo to Moc05
I've been using the 2amp fuse and they havent gone out yet! I guess that was the problem, thanks
Moc05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy