MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 08-05-2009, 10:43 AM   #1
JVAUGHN
''CROTCHCHOPPER''
 
JVAUGHN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: DICKINSON,TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 76

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2001 YZF R1
2005 ZX 750
2009 YZF R6







headlights

got an 09 r6 only one light comes on in low beam. i want two, is there a way to wire it differently and use double fillament bulbs for double low beam???
JVAUGHN is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
headlights tunaluna General Discussion (Moto Related) 7 10-19-2012 12:32 PM
no headlights? gtdrivr General Discussion (Moto Related) 12 07-22-2011 08:44 AM
Need help with headlights!!!! chriscole Performance and Modifications 3 03-09-2011 05:00 PM
new headlights Mr.D General Discussion (Moto Related) 11 05-16-2010 08:57 PM
which headlights? graigcat General Discussion (Moto Related) 5 06-27-2008 04:01 PM
Advertisement
Old 08-05-2009, 10:53 AM   #2
hotnanas
i rock knobbies
 
hotnanas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Feedback Rating: (4)
Posts: 8,881

Experience: 10+ years











that doesn't seem like that would be difficult at all to achieve.
hotnanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 11:07 AM   #3
gunshotwound
You have been warned!
 
gunshotwound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bullard, TX
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 5,540

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
YAMAHA R6
YAMAHA FZ6



Member Garage





On my FZ6 I just run with the brights on.
__________________


CMRA #106
gunshotwound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 11:38 PM   #4
ALEXD
HOUSTUNNAS
 
ALEXD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: KATY\ HOUSTON\CYPRESS
Feedback Rating: (3)
Posts: 1,661

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
05 R6
SOLD-00 GSXR 750 StreetFighter
SOLD- 99 GSXR 600
SOLD-01 YAMAHA R6
03 600 RR






splice the wire from the low beam, get about 8 inches of wire splice on both ends. Now splice the high beam and connect the 8 inch wire and there you go
__________________
THEORY OF EVOLUTION
ALEXD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 11:51 PM   #5
burnboy
upliftmofopartyplan
 
burnboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 3,609

Experience: 5 years

Bike(s):
2011 kawi z 1000









this is from the daytona forum. a guy is making a kit to use the single filament highbeam bulb. if you have to log in it may be worth signing up and checking this thread.

http://www.triumph675.net/forum/showthread.php?t=31374
__________________
f,f&f 4 ever R.I.P. coach dave
burnboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 08:00 AM   #6
Bomb0314
Senior Member
 
Bomb0314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NW Houston/Med Center
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 1,380

Experience: 1 year

Bike(s):
SOLD all of them :(









hmm seems kinda cool. i might try this out one day on the 636.
__________________
R.I.P Coach Dave 04/05/09
Bomb0314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 08:06 AM   #7
puertorico600r
Senior Member
 
puertorico600r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: houston
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 367

Experience: 3 years
Trackdays: 1

Bike(s):
R6









The beat thing to do is to leave your high beam switch on and adjust your headlight down to match the lowbeam. If I'm not mistaking I think the r6 has the same bulbs h7 on high and low beam.
puertorico600r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 08:12 AM   #8
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
U lose your highbeam function since it is only on/off.

You need to change out the bulbs and sockets to a three wire, dual filiment for low and high beam.
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 08:37 AM   #9
OJgsxr
Senior Member
 
OJgsxr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Heights
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 242

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2002 GSXR 750
2008 GSXR 600








Send a message via AIM to OJgsxr
Be careful about matching the resistance, you cant just parallel or series the 2 lights unless they are 2x or 1/2 the resistance respectively. It probably wont break anything if you do just over draw or under draw current to the lights.
OJgsxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 09:01 AM   #10
CaligoneTx
Forest Gnome Tour Guide
 
CaligoneTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Valhalla
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 21,558

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
Triumph 675r
Ducati 748
Hyosungs (250r + 650r)
Honda 900rr
Suzuki Busa1300r (+2 bikes)






Send a message via AIM to CaligoneTx Send a message via Yahoo to CaligoneTx
The fuse is the weakest part of the system. Unless u get build resistance from water ingress in the connector/poor connection
__________________
triumphsig
CaligoneTx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 09:04 AM   #11
OJgsxr
Senior Member
 
OJgsxr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Heights
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 242

Experience: 2 years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
2002 GSXR 750
2008 GSXR 600








Send a message via AIM to OJgsxr
Thats what I am getting at, if you parallel the 2 lights, you 1/2 the resistance and double the current, which could easily blow the fuse.
OJgsxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 09:33 AM   #12
gsxrjai
Sink or swim
 
gsxrjai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Houston
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 2,649

Experience: 3 years

Bike(s):
'03 GSXR 600 Sold
??? Not Sure ???








Quote:
Originally Posted by burnboy View Post
this is from the daytona forum. a guy is making a kit to use the single filament highbeam bulb. if you have to log in it may be worth signing up and checking this thread.

http://www.triumph675.net/forum/showthread.php?t=31374
http://www.ecliptech-us.com/index.ph...=75&Itemid=158

Quote:
Basically it provides partial power to the highbeam, so it doesn't dazzle oncoming traffic and cause them to blind you back. But importantly gives the traffic looking to turn infront something far more noticeable. Also gives back the dual headlight look, adjustable brightness (just a few frames below) etc...

Seems it work like DRL... that seems a lot better than, leaving your high beam switch on and adjust your headlight down to match the lowbeam.

Last edited by gsxrjai; 08-06-2009 at 09:35 AM.
gsxrjai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy