MotoHouston.com MotoHouston.com
Register Members List Member Map Media Calendar Garage Forum Home Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MotoHouston.com > Technical > How To's and Q & A's
Forgot info?

Welcome to MotoHouston.com! You are currently viewing our forums as a guest which gives you limited access to the community. By joining our free community you will have access to great discounts from our sponsors, the ability to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content, free email, classifieds, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, join our community!

Register Today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.


Like us on Facebook! Regular shirt GIVEAWAYS and more

Advertisement

Reply
Share This Thread: 
Subscribe to this Thread Thread Tools
Old 07-27-2009, 12:47 PM   #1
zombiejesus
braaaaiiiiinssss
 
zombiejesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: sw
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,721

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
┌∩┐(◕_◕)┌∩┐









Choke Cable Help

..
zombiejesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to choke? NightShadow General Discussion (Moto Related) 27 01-03-2013 11:27 PM
FI bikes with a choke? bioGuru General Discussion (Moto Related) 14 03-27-2009 02:34 PM
f4i choke problem epofhouston How To's and Q & A's 6 03-12-2009 01:13 PM
choke on? blends How To's and Q & A's 12 12-13-2008 01:21 PM
Homemade Wheel Choke?!?! dbuck How To's and Q & A's 35 05-20-2007 03:12 PM
Advertisement
Old 07-27-2009, 12:51 PM   #2
Patrick
Motorcycles Unlimited
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston
Feedback Rating: (2)
Posts: 16,368

Experience: 10+ years
Trackdays: 10+

Bike(s):
'14 Speed Triple R, '82 CB900F, '13 Streetglide






It's probably the routing of the cable.
If all of the associated stuff is still there; lever etc. why not just install a stock one?

If the lever is not there, try finding a used l/h switch housing from a Katana, it shoudl interchange.
__________________
Call or PM for the BEST PRICES in Houston for PARTS and ACCESSORIES.
MAKE SURE TO MENTION YOU'RE ON MH TO GET THE BEST PRICE!

NEED GEAR? We have a great selection in stock but if we need to order it we GUARANTEE FIT!
Where Houston riders go to have their bikes worked on, done right the first time!


muad

1964 FM 1960 West
Houston, TX 77090
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 9:30-6:00 Sat. 9-5:30
www.motorcycles-unlimited.com
http://www.facebook.com/motorcyclesunlimited
e-mail: patrick@motorcycles-unlimited.com
Patrick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 12:54 PM   #3
zombiejesus
braaaaiiiiinssss
 
zombiejesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: sw
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,721

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
┌∩┐(◕_◕)┌∩┐









Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick View Post
It's probably the routing of the cable.
If all of the associated stuff is still there; lever etc. why not just install a stock one?

If the lever is not there, try finding a used l/h switch housing from a Katana, it shoudl interchange.
I was thinking of messing around with the routing too. I'll look into buying a complete switch housing too, thanks
zombiejesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 02:00 PM   #4
zombiejesus
braaaaiiiiinssss
 
zombiejesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: sw
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,721

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
┌∩┐(◕_◕)┌∩┐









Well i got it routed and adjusted so that I can use a pair of pliers to pull the out fully. Still won't start. Pulled the plugs, 1 and 3 were wet, 2 and 4 were hard to tell but it was about 30 mins after I tried starting it before I pulled them. 1,2 and 4 were finger tight. I have the battery on a trickle charger right now, I'll give it another 30 min.
zombiejesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 02:31 PM   #5
jetcycles
DRIVEN BY ANGER
 
jetcycles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ShoreAcres
Feedback Rating: (14)
Posts: 12,027

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
1950 Chevy Deluxe
1980 Honda CT70
1987 Kawasaki 650SX
1996 Honda Z50



3 of your 4 plugs were only finger tight? You're probably losing some compression from that alone. Didn't see it mentioned but. . .did the bike run when you bought it yesterday? If not, I'd be checking out more than just the choke lever if i were you. How long did it sit? What do your fluids look like? etc.
__________________
I understand the consequences of my actions prior to engaging in those actions. . .there are certain situations in life where the risk is totally worth the reward.
jetcycles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 02:44 PM   #6
zombiejesus
braaaaiiiiinssss
 
zombiejesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: sw
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,721

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
┌∩┐(◕_◕)┌∩┐









Quote:
Originally Posted by jetcycles View Post
3 of your 4 plugs were only finger tight? You're probably losing some compression from that alone. Didn't see it mentioned but. . .did the bike run when you bought it yesterday? If not, I'd be checking out more than just the choke lever if i were you. How long did it sit? What do your fluids look like? etc.
I had a friend test drive it for about 10 miles on the freeway yesterday, then he rode it the 15 miles home. It ran fine. Idles like , but after doing some research it seems normal for these bikes.
zombiejesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 02:47 PM   #7
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,121

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








clean the carbs. Did it sit for a while?
bluewave18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 02:51 PM   #8
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,121

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








That first screw may be crimping the line
bluewave18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 03:56 PM   #9
zombiejesus
braaaaiiiiinssss
 
zombiejesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: sw
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,721

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
┌∩┐(◕_◕)┌∩┐









K it's running. Just went around the block a few times. Had it idling in the driveway at 4k, both neighbors came out and checked it out, they said the same thing. "Well the wife is gonna love this". I can't get it to idle below 2.5k. Jet kit in the near future.
zombiejesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 04:01 PM   #10
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,121

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








Did you adjust the idle screw?
bluewave18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 04:04 PM   #11
zombiejesus
braaaaiiiiinssss
 
zombiejesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: sw
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,721

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
┌∩┐(◕_◕)┌∩┐









Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewave18 View Post
Did you adjust the idle screw?
Yeah. 2k and below it wants to die. While I was riding around the block, the idle went up to 5k. What would cause that? Bad spring on the screw?
Also, when I go to start it up, as soon as it starts the engine surges up to 5-6k then drops down a little bit. I guess for the time being I'll just crank it a good 5-10 seconds before pulling the choke, to get the oil pressure up.
zombiejesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 04:07 PM   #12
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,121

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








It wont start without the choke? I wouldnt worry about the oil pressure.
bluewave18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 04:09 PM   #13
zombiejesus
braaaaiiiiinssss
 
zombiejesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: sw
Feedback Rating: (1)
Posts: 1,721

Experience: 2 years

Bike(s):
┌∩┐(◕_◕)┌∩┐









Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewave18 View Post
It wont start without the choke? I wouldnt worry about the oil pressure.
Even though it shoots up to 5-6k the second it starts?
zombiejesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 04:16 PM   #14
bluewave18
Safety Third
 
bluewave18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: S.E.
Feedback Rating: (0)
Posts: 34,121

Experience: 10+ years

Bike(s):
08 Busa
03 XR 50








The first thing I would do is clean the carbs. I had a Katana that did the same thing. I drained the bowls and filled them with Barryman Chem tool several times. It cleard it up without having to take the carbs apart.
bluewave18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Advertisement


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.


MotoHouston.com is not responsible for the content posted by users.
Privacy Policy